A Season of Change by Catherine Castle

hostas cropped

There’s one thing I learn the longer I garden—change is inevitable.

When I first created the garden at the home where I currently live, the lot was a bare builder’s lot. A giant hill, really a sand dune, dominates the back of the lot and, except for a short spot on the north of the house, the remainder of the ground also slopes. Ten years ago I thought we’d plant some trees and bushes on the top of the hill, and flowers on the bottom. Then we’ll build lots of raised beds around the house to create level places to garden. I’d garden standing in the beds and sitting on the walls. I envisioned flowerbeds full of daisies and coneflowers waving in the breeze as they self seeded and covered the bare ground. Care of these beautiful perennials would be easy peasy.

Not so much.

Five of the eight trees we planted have died. Five of thirty-five of the bushes are gone now, and six others are not doing well. We are facing a major overhaul on one side of the hill. The hundreds of perennial wildflowers in the beds and on the hill have been plagued for the past ten years with fungal diseases. For the first three or so years, I spent at least one day a week of my daily garden chores spraying organic fungicides on the flowers to keep them looking nice. More recently, I’ve been ripping them out, because I’m tired of deadheading, tired of the rampant untidy spread of the flowers, and tired of the ugly black and brown fungus that ALWAYS attacks the plants.

Even as I see the flowers I loved giving way to more foliage, low-maintenance plants, I have to keep reminding myself that change is not always bad. In fact, sometimes change is what we really need. Since the publication of my book, and the books I’ve been coauthoring with my husband, I don’t have the kind of time needed to maintain hundreds of blooming plants. Juggling two writing careers, marketing, multiple writing deadlines, and life in general are squeezing me to the point that too many important things are falling by the wayside. I need to reorder things in my life.

So the next time I pass by a tray of blooming flowers and my fingers itch to buy them, I must tell myself, “There is a time for everything. A time to hold on and a time to change. (Ecc. 3: 1) Now is the time to change and change is good.”

After all, I don’t do anything to my hostas, except clear out the dead leaves once a year, and look how well they do…as long as a passing deer doesn’t find them.

What in your life is holding you back or keeping you from accomplishing something important? Make a change and make life better.

Award winning author Catherine Castle has been writing all her life. Before beginning her career as a romance writer she worked part-time as a freelance writer. She has over 600 articles and photographs to her credit, under her real name, in the Christian and secular market. Besides writing, Catherine loves traveling with her husband, singing, and attending theatre. In the winter she loves to quilt and has a lot of UFOs (unfinished objects) in her sewing case. In the summer her favorite place to be is in her garden. She’s passionate about gardening and even won a “Best Hillside Garden” award from the local gardening club.

You can read more about her award-winning garden and her award-winning book The Nun and the Narc at her website http://catherinecastle1.wordpress.com

The Nun and the Narc

Captured by the local Mexican drug lord after she interrupts a drug deal, novice Sister Margaret Mary risks losing her life, her vocation, and her heart when she falls for undercover DEA agent Jed Bond who is imprisoned with her. Nuns shouldn’t look, talk, act, or kiss like Sister Margaret Mary. Jed knows she’s off limits, but his heart can’t help wanting this woman who’s been promised to God.

3 thoughts on “A Season of Change by Catherine Castle

  1. Emma Lane

    A busy life is always preferable. The two best things: gardening and writing. Love the post, Catherine, and understand your acceptance of time constraints.
    Emma Lane

    Reply
    1. Catherine Castle

      I agree. Gardening and writing are great! Thanks for stopping by. From: Weekly MusingsSent: Saturday, June 13, 2015 8:58 AMTo: c.castle@fuse.netReply To: Weekly MusingsSubject: [New comment] A Season of Change by Catherine Castle‎

      a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; }

      a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; }

      /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com

      Emma Lane commented: “A busy life is always preferable. The two best things: gardening and writing. Love the post, Catherine, and understand your acceptance of time constraints. Emma Lane”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

