Can’t Buy me Love with Beth Vogt

headshotThis week Beth Vogt shares with us. It’s great having you here, Beth. Please tell us about Can’t Buy Me Love. Can’t Buy Me Love is the eNovella that introduces readers to my destination wedding series – all for 99 cents! It’s Bellamy and Reid’s story, and it has a fun Pinterest angle to it and a Manhattan destination wedding. I have a Story Question for each of my books and in Can’t Buy Me Love, my characters are wrestling with the question: What is the true cost of love?

Do you have a favorite scene you’d be willing to share? I had a lot of fun writing Bellamy and Reid’s reconciliation – I just let my imagination run with “dreams coming true.” And I also was surprised with their wedding reception scene. It didn’t go as I planned. Sometimes writing is like that – you think you know how things are going to turn out and then you let go of the plans and write something altogether different.

Have you given any of your own personality quirks to your characters? If so, would you be willing to share about it/them? Oh, I do this all time. In my debut novel, Wish You Were Here, my heroine drank Jasmine tea – and I love Jasmine tea. Some of my friends say they can “hear me” in my novels. I weave my favorite snack foods into books, my friends’ names – and in one upcoming novel, I even put myself into a scene – but no one would ever know it unless I told them.

Oh how fun. I’ve never thought of inserting myself into a story. 🙂 How has publishing changed your life? Publishing has crystalized my faith. If you don’t know who you are –Whose you are – before you get published, you can get lost in the reviews, the awards (or the lack of awards), the competition, the comparison trap. I’ve had to anchor myself strongly to who I am in Christ – not to a particular review or moment of acclaim. I love what a pastor here in Colorado Springs said: “We have to trust what God declares about us more than what we think about ourselves.” And we can’t let what others say about us mean more than what God says about us, either.

That is great advice. What does a typical day look like in your life? I write in between – or despite – the interruptions of my life—however you want to say that. I set myself a schedule – and then I keep to that schedule as much as I can, despite the interruptions that life inevitably throws at me. I have people I love – family, friends – who I value. Sometimes they trump the deadlines and the imaginary people in my life. And sometimes they know the deadlines are looming and I’m going to be locked in my office. A lot.

What is next for you? Crazy Little Thing Called Love, the first full-length novel in my destination wedding series, releases on June 30th. This is Vanessa and Logan’s story and it features a, Florida destination wedding. This story asks the question: What if you discover that what you thought was your worst mistake was actually the right choice?

Interesting question. Thanks for sharing with us!

CantBuyMeLove_5bReaders, Beth is offering an Ebook giveaway of Cant’ Buy me Love. Please leave a comment to be entered.

Rules: Open to USA and Canada only. There must be at least five qualifying comments. Comments made by Kimberly and Beth do not count. The drawing ends May 3, 2015. The winner will be contacted the following day and must reply by May 10th, 2015 to receive the eBook. Void where prohibited by law.

Beth K. Vogt believes God’s best often waits behind the doors marked “Never.” A 2015 RITA® Finalist and a 2014 Carol Award finalist, Beth is a contemporary romance novelist with Howard Books. Her 2014 novel, Somebody Like You, was one of Publisher’s Weekly’s Best Books of 2014. In 2015 she introduced her destination wedding series with both an e-novella, Can’t Buy Me Love(May) and a novel, Crazy Little Thing Called Love (June). Connect with Beth at bethvogt.com.

5 thoughts on “Can’t Buy me Love with Beth Vogt

  1. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson

    Hi Kimberly. Thanks for the interview with Beth.I am to slow and as my girls would say, procrastinate too much. I would never have time for all you authors do. But, I love books even tho I’m slow reader. Weird for I don’t feel like I am reading slow. I would love to win tho.
    Maxie

    Reply
    1. Kimberly Rose Johnson Post author

      Thanks for stopping in, Maxie. I love reading too, and lol sometimes I feel like I don’t have enough time for all we authors do too. 🙂 I suppose it’s a matter of where we choose to spend the time we’ve been allotted. 🙂
      Blessing to you, Maxie and happy reading.

      Reply
  2. bethkvogt

    Maxie: I understand exactly how you feel! I have my favorite authors and never find the time I need to keep up with my reading. Between my Kindle and my “real” books, I have multiple TBR piles!

    Reply
  3. mo1202007

    I am glad to know that I am not the only one whose TBR pile keeps getting bigger and bigger. Thanks for the interview and giveaway!

    mo1202007ATyahooDOTcom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

