The Outlaw Takes a Bride by Susan Page Davis

Outlaw Takes a BrideThis week we have Susan Page Davis here to share with us about her book The Outlaw Takes a Bride. I’m so pleased to have you here, Susan. I’ve been a fan for a long time. 🙂

Widow Sally Golding becomes a mail order bride in hopes of finding a happier marriage than her first and finally having children of her own. Johnny Paynter is accused of murdering his ranch foreman. With his pal Cam, he flees from Colorado to his brother’s ranch in Texas. On arriving, he finds that his brother, Mark, has been killed by outlaws. Cam convinces Johnny to bury his brother and lie low on the ranch. Everyone in town thinks Johnny is Mark, as they looked a lot alike and Mark was a quiet man who kept to himself. Then they learn that Mark had proposed to a mail-order bride, and Sally will arrive soon. Setting the record straight now would make Johnny look guilty of several crimes, so he keeps quiet—and winds up married to Sally. She knows something is wrong, but Johnny won’t tell her what it is. When she threatens to leave, Johnny comes clean. Sally loves him, but she isn’t sure their marriage can survive the strain—and then the outlaws return.

 Is this book part of a series, or a single title.

This is a single title.

I love single titles. Glad to hear it. 🙂 Do you write in more than one genre?

Yes, in addition to historical romance, I also write mystery and suspense. My Frasier Island series is made up of three contemporary novels featuring naval officers. For a cozier read, try the Mainely Mysteries series I co-wrote with my daughter Megan.

 What does your writing space look like?

I have a converted bedroom for an office. It holds my desk, six bookshelves, four file cabinets and a printer table. It’s pretty full. The wall décor consists of sentimental items and photos. I love that I can see my bird feeder out one window. Right now there are a cardinal, a sparrow, and a cedar waxwing on it.

What  a nice view! When did you first start writing?

I’ve written stories since I was a child, but I seriously began trying to publish fiction in 1999. I sold quite a few short stories, and my first book came out in 2004.

What is next for you?

I’m working on a couple of projects—a new Christmas novella and a seafaring adventure, which I’m co-authoring with my son.

Thanks for taking the time to share with us, Susan.

Susan Page Davis croppedSusan Page Davis is the author of more than fifty published novels and novellas. Her historical novels have won numerous awards, including the Carol Award, the Will Rogers Medallion for Western Fiction, and the Inspirational Readers’ Choice Contest. She has also been a finalist in the More than Magic Contest and Willa Literary Awards. Susan lives in western Kentucky with her husband and two youngest children. She’s the mother of six and grandmother of nine. Visit her website at: www.susanpagedavis.com

2 thoughts on “The Outlaw Takes a Bride by Susan Page Davis

  1. faithdp24

    Reblogged this on faithdp24 and commented:
    I have have read a similar story but, of course, different too. It was excellent. I fully believe this one is also very good! It sounds awesome to me! (I like the unusual themes at times.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

