A Splash of Substance

SplashFrontWelcome back Elizabeth Maddrey.  I love your cover and can’t wait to learn about A Splash of Substance. 

Here’s the blurb:

She doesn’t vote. He works for a Senator. Is it a recipe for love or disaster?

Paige Jackson has always stayed out of politics, leaving it to God to govern the world. She has enough on her plate as the owner of a catering company founded on convictions to buy local, sustainable fare. Jackson Trent works on Capitol Hill for Senator Carson, putting his beliefs in action to help shape national policy.

Hoping to find high-end clients to keep her business afloat, Paige bids on a contract to cater the Senator’s next fundraiser. Shake-ups in the Senator’s staff leave Jackson grudgingly in charge of the event. After Paige is chosen as caterer, she and Jackson must work together despite opposing beliefs on how God calls Christians to participate in government. As Paige introduces Jackson to sustainable fare, it’s not just the food that piques his interest.

When Senator Carson becomes front-page news in Washington, Paige is sucked into the whirlwind of scandal. Can Jackson convince Paige he wasn’t complicit and win her back or has politics burned his chance at love?

This sounds like something I would enjoy. 🙂 What inspired A Splash of Substance? This story started with a, let’s go with vigorous, conversation with some Christian friends who don’t vote. As we were talking, the writer part of my brain started asking, “What if someone who doesn’t vote fell in love with someone who worked in politics? How would that pan out?” Here in the DC area, politics are just one of those things you can’t really avoid, so it’s definitely a plausible scenario. I tossed around the idea with my sister and she helped me flesh it out, along with the other two in the series.

 Do you write in more than one genre? I branched into women’s fiction last year, so I guess I have to say yes. But I’m happy to be back in contemporary romance-land. I plan to hang out here for a while. That said, I have several fantasy and speculative manuscripts sitting on my hard drive that I’ll probably dig out again at some point and see if they’re worth trying to polish.

What does your writing space look like? I have a really lovely desk, with a huge monitor and comfy chair down in the basement where my husband and I share an office. But most of the time? I’m sitting on the couch or at the dining room table with my laptop. Since I’m at home with my kids during the day (and we homeschool), I fit in writing when I can, so being mobile is a huge benefit. In the evenings, most often my husband wants to unwind with a little time on the Xbox, so I curl up next to him and write. It works. I just hope my desk doesn’t get too lonely.

How long did you write before you were published? I started seriously writing, with the intention of publication, in about 2004. So seven years? During that time, I worked on six different novels, finishing four of them and getting to about the 40,000 word mark on the other two before deciding they were trash. My fifth finished novel became my first published novel in 2012. What I love, though, is that with every novel I write, I learn so much about craft and story structure and what works and what doesn’t, so every successive book is better than the one that came before. I’m still so very proud of that debut novel, but I also love looking back over my work and seeing how much it’s progressed.

What is next for you? Next up are the final two in the Taste of Romance series (to finish out the trilogy). They’re tentatively titled A Pinch of Promise and A Dash of Daring. They’ll be out in June and November, respectively. I’m also hoping to get one or two novellas released this year – we’ll have to see if I can work those in. (I really, really want to, so I think at least one of them should, for sure, happen.)

I love your tentative titles. 🙂 Thanks for sharing with us, Elizabeth!

Readers, Elizabeth has graciously offered to give away a kindle copy, world wide, or a print copy USA only of if you would like to be entered for a chance to win a copy of Splash of Substance please leave Elizabeth a question.

Rules: There must be at least five qualifying comments for The drawing to take place. Comments made by Kimberly and Elizabeth don’t count. The drawing will end 3/22/2015. The winner will be noticed by email on 3/23/2015 and have until 3/29 to respond or forfeit the book. No new winner will be drawn. Void where prohibited by law.

ElizabethMaddreyHeadshotElizabeth Maddrey began writing stories as soon as she could form the letters properly and has never looked back. Though her practical nature and love of math and organization steered her into computer science for college and graduate school, she has always had one or more stories in progress to occupy her free time. When she isn’t writing, Elizabeth is a voracious consumer of books and has mastered the art of reading while undertaking just about any other activity. She loves to write about Christians who struggle through their lives, dealing with sin and receiving God’s grace.

Elizabeth lives in the suburbs of Washington D.C. with her husband and their two incredibly active little boys. She invites you to interact with her at her website www.ElizabethMaddrey.com or on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ElizabethMaddrey

 

 

 

Social Media:

Website: http://www.ElizabethMaddrey.com

Facebook: http://www.Facebook.com/ElizabethMaddrey

Twitter: @elizabethmaddre

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/emaddrey/

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/+ElizabethMaddrey/posts

4 thoughts on “A Splash of Substance

  1. katie07edgar

    Do you find it hard to homeschool and write from home? How do you stay organized to manage that? Thank you for this opportunity and thank you for the interview, it was fun to read! katie07edgar(at)gmail(dot)com

    Reply
    1. Elizabeth Maddrey

      Hi Katie! (and Kimberly 🙂 ) — There are days when yes, it’s REALLY hard to do anything other than homeschool. What I’m learning is to give myself room to have bad days. I’m also learning to take the snippets of time that I do have and use them wisely. So, for example, as I type, my eldest is (grudgingly) doing his math while I sit next to him and the youngest is napping. I’m trying to do things that don’t need my full attention for long periods of time (an email, a comment on a blog, facebook — things you can do quickly and then be done.) After he finishes up his school (and English is next, at which point I won’t be multi-tasking cause he needs more instruction during that time), if the little one is still napping, I’ll try to get in 30 minutes of writing (or something else that requires my attention.) Then it’s back to just being mom until after they’re in bed. Usually after bedtime, I take an hour or two to write – I can do that sitting by my husband while he does whatever (plays a game or watches a show or does his own work). Since we kind of multi-task most evenings, we do take one or two nights a week for “date time” after the kids are in bed where we play a game together or watch something together, no working/multi-tasking.) As for staying organized, I’m a big believer in a paper planner and I write lists all through it (a list for school, a list for writing goals, housework goals, I’m the Awana Commander at our church, so any Awana stuff, and so forth. Then I parcel them out through the week and tick them off.)

      Understand though – there are weeks I fail miserably! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Donna Robinson

    I was a homeschool mom/writer (years ago!), and it is a hard row to hoe! I usually burned my brain out trying to get a manuscript out before a deadline. Since I’m an indie writer now, I can set my own deadlines.

    Your story sounds very interesting, Elizabeth.

    derobin7@gmail.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

