A Valentine for Kayla with Kimberly Rose Johnson

It’s always a little awkward interviewing myself, so I simply answered the same questions I sent to the other authors that will be visiting Kimberly’s Musings this month. I hope you enjoy the post.

A Valentine for Kayla Cover 9780373487745Please tell us about A Valentine for Kayla?

KAYLA RUSSELL DOESN’T LIKE VALENTINE’S DAY

What should be Kayla’s favorite holiday is just another reminder that she hasn’t met someone special. The beautiful florist—and hopeless romantic—has nearly given up on love, when the man of her dreams walks into her shop…to buy flowers for another woman!

Former music superstar Derek Wood poses as a local deliveryman while he cares for his ailing mother. Derek is drawn to Kayla’s genuine spirit and natural beauty, but he can’t hide his identity forever. The man Kayla’s falling for doesn’t really exist, but the feelings they share are real. Will Derek finally give Kayla a reason to love Valentine’s Day?

What inspired this story?

Last year on Valentine’s Day I had an idea hit me for a story. I seriously don’t like Valentine’s and out of my dislike for that day, my character Kayla was born.

 Is this book part of a series, or a single title.

This is a single title and my final book with Heartsong Presents, since Harlequin in closing the line in June. I feel so fortunate to have sold this book when I did. It’s crazy to think that the idea for the book came to me on Valentine’s Day and by the following Valentine’s I could hold the book in my hand! I never imagined it would happen so quickly.

Will you share a teaser?

“I hate Valentine’s Day.” Kayla Russell secured a flower arrangement in the delivery box, then moved on to the next one in a long line of vases and baskets filled with colorful flowers and greenery. Everywhere she looked there were hearts or cupids to remind her of the dreaded day.

Her best friend and business partner, Jill, shot her the look—the one that said Spare me. “I’m sure if you had a boyfriend, you’d feel differently.”

“Unlikely. Think about it—no matter how you look at it, unless your man is Prince Charming, there’s no way he can live up to the hype. The day is one big disappointment.”

“I’m glad everyone doesn’t feel that way or you and I would be out of business. Have you looked at the orders? I’m going to be working all night just to get everything finished in time for Charlie to deliver tomorrow.”

Kayla bit her bottom lip. Flowers and More depended on successful holidays to keep their doors open. Sure, they stocked gifts and music, but the big money came from days like Valentine’s. She glanced at the clock. “I wish the UPS guy would get here. He’s late, and[…]”

 

Here is one more excerpt.

“The bell on the entrance jingled. “I hope that’s UPS.” Kayla rushed through the swinging door into the main part of their shop and stopped midstep. That was not their normal UPS guy. This one hummed a familiar worship song and walked with a bounce in his step.

He stopped humming when his eyes rested on hers. “Afternoon.” He handed her a small box. “Busy day.”

She tore her gaze from his twinkling azure eyes. “Yes, here, too.” She raised the box. “Thanks—I’ve been waiting for these.”

“Welcome. Have a good one.”

“Come again soon.” The last word died on her lips as she realized how ridiculous she sounded. He’d be back only if she had something shipped UPS. It wasn’t as if he were a customer.

He winked and strode his toned body out the door, then hopped into the large brown truck and rumbled down the road.

“Come again soon?” she muttered. He probably thought she was a nutcase, and today that wouldn’t be far from the truth. But, oh, he was something, and so polite, too. Kayla mentally ticked through her must-have list of qualities for a husband. Tall, handsome, kind eyes, sings, loves[…]”

Excerpt From: Kimberly Rose Johnson. “A Valentine for Kayla.” iBooks. https://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewBook?id=2C380862A53AB99DAB49FFFF93B9C7B1

Do you write in more than one genre?

No. I only write contemporary Christian romance.

What is next for you?

I recently signed a three book contract with a small publisher for my Wildflower B&B Romance Series. The first book, Island Refuge, Will release mid-April. I’m really excited about this book since I wrote it a couple of years ago, when inspiration struck. I was in the middle of writing my Leavenworth, WA series and when I was in Leavenworth we visited a B&B one of my husband’s relatives own. It got me to thinking and the next thing I new I had this story in my head begging to be written. So I put a hold on my Leavenworth series book to write this one.

Would you like a chance to win A Valentine for Kayla? Check out this site. http://trishperry.blogspot.com/2015/03/kimberly-rose-johnson-march-releases.html

I will be visiting several blogs this week. As I get the links, I will post them in the comments.

I would love to hear from you. If you haven’t already please sign up to receive my newsletter. You can sign up on my HOME page. Just click the button at the top of the page.

Just for fun, in the comments please tell me what you did this past Valentine’s Day. Perhaps you stayed home and watched Hallmark movies, like I did. 🙂

Amazon buy link: http://amzn.to/1ztgwYq

CBD buy link: http://bit.ly/1aIFZYr

KJ_063 vs 2Kimberly Rose Johnson soon to be empty-nester, lives in the Pacific Northwest with her husband and their yellow lab. Kimberly writes contemporary Christian romance and currently has five traditionally published books. Kimberly enjoys long walks, chocolate, and mochas, not necessarily in that order.

Leave a Reply

