Grace’s Ground War

hallee_bridgeman-682x1024 This week we welcome Hallee Bridgeman. Hi, Hallee, please tell us about Grace’s Ground War?Grace’s Ground War is part 5 in my 7-part serialized World War II story, Virtues and Valor. The series is about a special team of 7 women who are all part of a huge mission in Occupied France. All 7 women have code-names that are a heavenly virtue (Temperance, Hope, Charity, Prudence, Grace, Mercy, Faith). In book 1, Temperance’s Trial, the wireless operator is captured by the Nazi’s. The following 6 books are the stories of the planning and execution of her rescue. Every book is told from the perspective of a different member of the team.

Grace’s Ground War is about Ruth Aubertin, a soldier who has been trained alongside her two brothers since birth by their WWI veteran father who believed the Germans would be back. Their family is a Christian Jewish family and highly devout. Because of the Jewish persecution by the Nazis in Europe, Ruth’s cover as Lucienne Maitre, code-named Grace, is especially important.

The book is exciting, turn-the-page-as-fast-as-you-can kind of action. Here is the blurb:

The exciting Virtues and Valor series continues!

RUTH AUBERTIN’s father, a highly decorated veteran of the Great War, moves his family from British Palestine to the wild of Great Britain after the Hebron masacre in 1929. He has always known the Germans would return to France, and trained his children from the time they could walk, turning them into finely tuned weapons with multiple skills ranging in weapons training to hand-to-hand combat.

When the Germans roll into France, Ruth and her brothers volunteer with the British Special Services and Ruth joins the Virtues team under the code name of GRACE. Never knowing the bond of sisterhood before, Ruth grows close to the six other women on the team and learns to rely on them and their varied skills as she goes undercover in Occupied France. Working directly for the notorious Praetorian, she and her team plan the largest prisoner escape in the war to date.

The arrest of TEMPERANCE raises the stakes. Now they have to move their time table up, increasing the overall risk of the mission. Can Ruth and her team pull off the mission, or will too many variables crash together at the wrong time?

Grace's Ground War BridgemanGRACE’S GROUND WAR is part five of seven serialized novellas entitled the Virtues and Valor series.

Seven valorous women — different nationalities, ethnicities, and social backgrounds — come together as a team called the Virtues.

In 1941 Great Britain a special war department assembles an experimental and exclusively female cohort of combat operatives. Four willing spies, a wireless radio operator, an ingenious code breaker, and a fearless pilot are each hand-picked, recruited, and trained to initiate a daring mission in Occupied France. As plans are laid to engineer the largest prison break of Allied POWs in history, the Nazis capture the Virtues’ radio operator. It will take the cohesive teamwork of the rest of the women to save her life before Berlin breaks her and brings the force of the Third Reich to bear.

Some find love, some find vengeance, and some discover the kind of strength that lives in the human heart when all they can do is rely on each other and their shared belief. Courage, faith, and valor intersect but, in the end, one pays the ultimate price.

Continuing the Virtues and Valor series by Hallee Bridgeman. Seven serialized novellas, each inspired by real people and actual events, reveal the incredible story of amazing heroines facing the ultimate test of bravery.

What kind of research did you do for Grace’s Ground War??

Because I’m writing a very action-oriented story that takes place in Occupied France during World War II, I had to do a massive amount of research into the lifestyle of residents of France, the duties of the counterintelligence assigned to France, and many aspects of the war itself.

My character Ruth was also a survivor of the 1929 Hebron attacks in what was then British Palestine. Arabs attacked the Jewish population and slaughtered them. The survivors had to flee and live in Jerusalem or Tel Aviv. It was a brutal story.

 Did any real life instances inspire anything in this story?

While my setting, town, and event in the Virtues and Valor series are all fictitious, all of the heroines are based on true heroines of that war. Ruth Aubertin is based on the real life heroine named Nancy Grace Wake. I tell her true story at the end of Grace’s Ground War.

 How many books a year do you write?

I am a very prolific writer. I published 6 books in 2014 and plan to have 8 more published in 2015.

Yes, I’d call that prolific. 🙂 

Do you write in more than one genre? If so what other genre?

I write Christian contemporary romance, Christian romantic suspense, and Christian historical (WWII) suspense.

When you aren’t writing, what do you do for fun?

I LOVE to cook. I spend several hours a week in the kitchen. I make all of our bread homemade, cook using whole ingredients, and write cookbooks when I need to “cleanse” my brain’s palate after writing fiction works.

Please tell us something about you that would surprise us.

I’ve seen the movie Casablanca probably 30 times. I’ve always known I would write a book about World War II, but I never really knew what I would write. Then one day, my husband said, “It would be great if you could come up with a series about the heavenly virtues.” I IMMEDIATELY had the ENTIRE series of Virtues and Valor written in my head. I knew the characters, the setting, and the plot. It was crazy. I can barely type fast enough to get it out.

 Wow that is amazing, lol on both accounts! I’ve never watched Casablanca from start to finish and I’ve never been blessed with one book from start to finish, much less an entire series

How often do you write? Do you set writing goals?

I write every single work day that my children are in school. I am incapable of writing when they’re home, so my work schedule is centered around their school schedules.

I do not set goals, per say. I know how fast I write, I know when I’ll finish a book, so I let my fans and street team know about when a book is coming. That’s about as close to goal setting as I get.

Are you doing any book signings? 

As I write this, I’m coming off of a 7-month travel schedule that had me all over the United States. So, I haven’t planned anything for 2015 yet because I’m taking a break for the next few months. However, as you read this, that break is over. So, if you find me on my website, you can see my calendar. If you’d like me to do a book signing in your town, just contact me

What is your favorite sport?

I’m a HUGE track and field fan. I love running and watching runners.

Are you a cat or dog person, or both?

I have two dogs (a boxer puppy and a blue-tick-coon-hound/pit bull mutt) and a cat. I’m a dog person, my husband and a couple of my kids are cat people.

What is next for you?

Virtues and Valor has released every month since September, and will conclude in March with Flight of Faith. After Faith’s story, I will release the next book in my Song of Suspense Series, A Harmony for Steve. Before the end of the year, I also plan to write and release my Renkoff Brothers Series: three books about triplet brothers from a Russian immigrant family.

Wow, Hallee. You are one busy lady. Thanks for taking the time to answer all of these questions!

Hallee Bridgeman is a best-selling Christian author who writes action-packed romantic suspense focusing on realistic characters who face real world problems. Her work has been described as everything from refreshing to heart-stopping exciting and edgy.

An Army brat turned Floridian, Hallee finally settled in central Kentucky with her family so that she could enjoy the beautiful changing of the seasons. She enjoys the roller-coaster ride thrills that life with a National Guard husband, a teenaged daughter, and two elementary aged sons delivers.

Hallee is a member of the Published Author Network (PAN) of the Romance Writers of America (RWA) where she serves as a long time board member in the Faith, Hope, & Love chapter. She is a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) and the American Christian Writers (ACW) as well as being a member of Novelists, Inc. (NINC).

Hallee loves coffee, campy action movies, and regular date nights with her husband. Above all else, she loves God with all of her heart, soul, mind, and strength; has been redeemed by the blood of Christ; and relies on the presence of the Holy Spirit to guide her. She prays her work here on earth is a blessing to you and would love to hear from you. You can reach Hallee at hallee@bridgemanfamily.com

4 thoughts on “Grace’s Ground War

  1. faithdp24

    Thank you for that great interview with Hallee Bridgeman. Even though I have been following her for a while; I didn’t remember that she wrote all of those genres. Amazing feat to be so versatile. This World War II sounds awesome!

    Reply
  2. faithdp24

    Reblogged this on faithdp24 and commented:
    This series Hallee Bridgeman is currently writing sounds awesome! You can’t go wrong reading history. (Of course, history was my favorite subject in High School.)

    Reply
    1. Hallee

      Thank you, Faith! I’m actually editing Flight of Faith right now, the last book in that series. 🙂

      I love WWII. It is my favorite era in history to study.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

