Not Ashamed with Teresa Pollard

Teresa Pollard FB Headshot for books-FBThis week we welcome Teresa Pollard.

Teresa Pollard is from Richmond, Virginia, and was saved at a young age.  She has a Masters degree in English and Creative Writing from Hollins College, and has served as a Sunday School teacher and children’s worker for most of the last forty years.  Married for forty years, she was devastated by divorce and the death of her youngest daughter, but God has blessed her with a new home and another grandson, and she now resides in Dacula, Georgia.  Her website is TeresaPollardWrites.com

 

Thanks for joining us, Teresa. Please tell us about Not Ashamed. Not Ashamed is the sequel to my first book Not Guilty which was written with my friend Candi Pullen in 1982 and published by HopeSprings Books in 2013. We also co-wrote Not Ashamed. Not Guilty was the story of Carrie Shepherd, who was raped by a masked assailant and became pregnant. Not Ashamed is the story of Charity Wright, the daughter of that rape when she turns eighteen, and comes home from Africa, determined to confront her biological father. Before she can do so, she is caught up in a murder mystery, and sets out to prove her father also guilty of that crime. Will her anger lead her to the truth, or will it put her into the hands of a killer?

Did any real life instances inspire anything in this story? Since writing Not Guilty, I’ve talked with quite a few victims of rape, and even a few children of rape. The main question seems to be “Why?” Why me? Why my Mom? Why would my dad do this? Why doesn’t he love me? Why do any of us do the things we do? Is there ever an answer? I felt it was a topic worth exploring. A macabre real life instance that probably inspired it at a subconscious level is that my children were coming home from school one day walking through our woods when they discovered a decomposed corpse that had apparently been there for a couple of years.

Ugh. How horrible. I hope your children weren’t too traumatized, but I know I would have been.

Pollard FB-Tokens coverDo you write in more than one genre? If so what other genre? My other genre is Biblical fiction. I have one Biblical novel out, Tokens of Promise, an imagining of the love story of Tamar and Judah from Genesis 38, and another coming out in October called Woman of Light, an imagining of the story of Deborah and Barak from Judges 4-5.

Please tell us something about you that would surprise us. I started writing in 1979, but my first published book didn’t come out until 2013. In 1979, that first novel came before the Moody Press review board and they said that it was a split decision but since I was an unknown author they couldn’t take a chance. I am so thankful that HopeSprings was willing to take that chance.

Are you doing any book signings? I don’t have any scheduled yet for Not Ashamed. It’s due out in July. I would so love to come and speak on a pro-life platform and sign anywhere in the Atlanta/North Georgia area. I can also do Greensboro, NC or Roanoke, VA areas since I have friends/family both places.

What is next for you? Not to give too much away, but I’d like to do a third book to this series called Not Alone. Candi and I have already discussed some plot basics, but her health is not good. Please pray for Candi. She is a dear friend, I would love the opportunity to finish this trilogy with her.

Thanks for sharing with us Teresa! Please leave a comment if you would like to be entered for a chance to win a copy of Not Guilty.

Rules: Open to USA mailing addresses only. Void where prohibited by law. Drawing ends 1/18/2015. The winner will be notified 1/19/2015 and have until 1/25/2015 to respond or forfeit the book. No new winner will be drawn.

 

Leave a Reply

