Masterpiece Marriage

masterpieceThis week we welcome back Gina Welborn who is here to share with us about her latest release Masterpiece Marriage. The title is intriguing, GinaPlease tell us about Masterpiece Marriage. First let me say I’m blessed to be a part of Abingdon’s Quilts of Love Series. Masterpiece Marriage is about a Philadelphia textile mill owner who seeks his aunt’s help to create a quilt pattern to salvage his damage fabrics. When he arrives at her summer quilting bee, he discovers the only way to get what he wants is to partner with a vexing lady botanist, who isn’t any more welcome to his aunt’s matchmaking designs.

How long did it take you to write? I save a new file each day I write so I know how many actual days I spend on a manuscript. For Masterpiece, it was 53 days.

Do you have a favorite scene you’d like to share with us? Here’s a link to read the first three chapters. My favorite “scene,” though, actually covers two chapters. Zenus and Mary go to the strawberry auction, but buying strawberries is not either’s focus.

Did you do any special research for this book? I didn’t do any more or less research for this book than I do for any other story. Prior to writing, I do check to ensure my setting will work. With Masterpiece, I’d initially set it in the early 1880s. I needed Virginia’s Eastern Shore to have both electricity and train travel to Philadelphia, so I had to move the setting forward a decade.

Where do you write? Bedroom. Family room. Dining room. Sometimes I’ve hidden in one of my kids’ room. Clearly I don’t have an office.

Do any of your characters resemble you in any way? They do when they say what they think, or at least Zenus and Arel do. My heroine Mary is British so she’s more circumspect, unless being candid is needed.

Is this book a stand alone or part of a series? Masterpiece Marriage is a stand alone. Someday I may write Arel’s story, but at this time I don’t have a story planned. She’s a hand— well, a mind-full.

Do you have a special holiday tradition? We eat food. Play card and board games (recent years we’ve done tournaments). Go look at Christmas lights then stop at Starbucks or Braums afterward for hot chocolate and coffee. We also do a Lord of the Rings marathon on New Year’s Eve, Day, or Eve Eve depending when family has to return home. The “special” part of traditions for us isn’t the doing-the-same-thing-every-year but being together when we doing stuff.

How do you celebrate Christmas? With family, both immediate and extended. Before opening presents, we read the story of Jesus’s birth. A couple of years ago, the children and grandchildren acted it out. Our dog played sheep. He kept wanting to lick Mary’s face. The wisemen were more like three stooges.

What is next for you? My next Barbour novella release in May. “Baker’s Dozen” is part of the Most Eligible Bachelor Collection. It’s my take on The Bachelor tv show. In addition, I have a fifth Barbour novella releasing in spring of 2016. “All’s Fair” is part of the Lassoed by Marriage Collection.

Thank you for sharing with us, Gina. It was fun getting to hear about your book and your family traditions!

Gina has offered to give away one copy of her book. Please tell her about one tradition you did this year during the holiday season to be entered for a chance to win.

Rules: Open to USA mailing addresses only. Void where prohibited by law. Drawing ends 1/4/2015. The winner will be notified 1/5/2015 and have until 1/11/2015 to respond or forfeit the book. No new winner will be drawn.

GINA 2012 cropAfter Gina Welborn earned a Communications degee from an Oklahoma university, she thought the perfect career choice was working at a news radio station writing commercial copy, public service announcements, and news reports. A PSA writer, sadly, can only be so creative when describing ketchup and Geronimo’s grave. (No, she never combined those two elements in the same script, but now that she thinks about it, she wishes … ) Thus Gina “retired” to focus on goal, motivation, and conflict within her family before discovering her niche in writing romances. A member of RWA and ACFW, Gina has three published novellas, including one in the ECPA-bestselling Mistletoe Memories, and is contracted for two more. The year 2014 unshers in the release of her novels: The Heiress’s Courtship, The Marshal’s Pursuit, and Masterpiece Marriage. A moderately obsessive fan of Community, Once Upon a Time, and Chopped, Gina lives in Oklahoma with her pastor husband, their five Okie-Hokie children, a box-lab, two rabbits, four guinea pigs, and a fancy Russian dwarf hamster named Tom Bob Deucalion. Gina is represented by the Steve Laube Agency.

 

16 thoughts on “Masterpiece Marriage

  1. susanlulu2013

    Tradition – get together with my father-in-law on Christmas Eve. It was just us, since my husband and mother-in-law have now passed on to heaven. (My husband was an only child, and we had no kids in our 25 years of marriage.) It was sad, but our hearts were full of memories.
    susanlulu@yahoo.com

    Reply
  2. Gina Welborn

    Merry and Susan, thanks for stopping by! Traditions, no matter how big or little, bring us joy. May this new year bring you many reminders of God’s love for you.

    Reply
  3. Karen G

    Sister, Her Hubby, Mother, My Hubby and I all went to Red Robin. It’s our new tradition for the last few years since my sister’s children all go to their in-laws on Christmas Eve. Christmas Day is at my sister’s with the whole gang.

    Reply
  4. Jeanie Dannheim

    Each year we celebrate on Christmas Eve with my husband’s family, including his adult daughters and nieces, and his daighters’ brother and sister and their families. Since his mother went to be with the Lord several years ago, those who hring food are encouraged to use his mom’s recipes. It feels like she lives on here on earth through this. A couple years ago, we were blessed to see my husband’s ex-wife come to believe in Jesus, an answer to many prayers! She is now a cancer survivor, now and has a very loving husband. God is good!

    Reply
  5. Deanne Patterson

    Each year I look forward to decorating our Christmas tree. The day after Thanksgiving we get a fresh Christmas tree and decorate it. We make a Christmas tree decorating party out of it. We listen to Christmas carols and string freshly made popcorn on it. My husband and I have 12 children. Every year that I had a baby my mother in law would give us a wooden sleigh ornament. Each one has the childs name hand painted on it that was born that year. That company went out of business and she would then give me golden sleigh ornaments that were engraved with the chils name. Every year the children look forward to helping decorate the tree with their ornament. It makes for a great time of fellowship as we decorate the tree and reminisce.

    Reply
    1. Gina Welborn

      Deanne, you’re so right! My tradition has been to put up my tree on Nov 1. We were all exhausted from the night before because we’d done so much family activities (more than normal) that we spend the next day cleaning house. I put off the tree until a week later, but then something else came up. Then we week before TKSG activities. By that time I just decided to forgo the tree because we’d follow tradition and do Chrstmas Eve at my father-in-law’s and Christmas Day at my parents. Only a week before Christmas, my mom asked if we could have it at my house because mine is larger than hers. I said yes. An hour later remembered I wasn’t putting up a tree. Plus I had the flu and my christmas e-novella to write. Ended up we decorated Kristopherson (an indoor tree) with foam ornaments and covered his pot with a christmas plaid. He enjoyed being the center of attention.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

