The Last Toqeph and Giveaway

Lost and FoundYvonne Anderson visits with us about her new release, The Last Toqeph. Please tell us about your book.

The Last Toqeph is the final title in the four-book space fantasy series “Gateway to Gannah.”

The story unfolds on a distant planet in the far future, and it deals with such things as the struggle between truth and fallacy, racial differences, and family dynamics. Because it takes place in the future and contains space travel, it’s properly categorized as science fiction. But I prefer the term space fantasy because there’s very little science involved. The story is mostly about how human nature drives our actions but God controls the course of events.

Back cover blurb: While traveling through desolate terrain, Adam stumbles upon an impossibility: a village of Old Gannahans. Didn’t they all die decades ago? It’s hard to believe. Harder yet, it seems one of them is the true heir to the throne.

Will Adam right an ancient wrong and lose his inheritance? Or ignore the truth and lose his integrity?

 How long did it take you to write The Last Toqeph?

It seemed like forever, but it was really only a little over a year. I’ve always been a pantser, but the publisher of the first two books in the series asked for a synopsis for this one. No problem, right? Wrong. Writing when I already know the whole story is like working with one hand tied behind my back. Finally, I put the synopsis out of my mind and tackled it as if I didn’t have a roadmap. Toward the end I finally hit my stride, and things started happening I’d never envisioned. I absolutely LOVE the way it wraps everything all up—it’s much better than what I’d planned originally.

Was there a particular scene that you especially enjoyed, and why does this scene stick out to you?

My favorite scenes come at the end. I love the final scene because it’s roughly the conclusion I envisioned for the first book in the series, but too much had to happen first. Which is why I turned the book into a series. It took me four titles to finally reach the end I’d been shooting for, and it was satisfying to finally get there.

I love a scene shortly before that one for the opposite reason: because I never saw it coming. A couple of the characters told me, “Look, this is what has to happen to us. I know you don’t like it, but it simply has to be that way.” The more I thought about it, the more I realized how very right they were.
If you could be any character in your book, which one would you be and why?

I don’t know which character I’d like to be, but I’d definitely love to visit Gannah and see it in the flesh. Being there in my imagination is wonderful, but I long to breathe the air, drink the water, and eat the food grown on Gannahan soil, not to mention see the beauty of the place with my own eyes. I can almost taste it!

Do you write in any other genres?

My current WIP is a nonfiction book about the handling of venison from the field to the table. I also have a very different nonfiction project in mind offering guidelines for how to get the most from your Bible study. So yes, I guess I write in a variety of genres, but the only thing I’ve published to date is this Gannah series.

What is next for you?

See the above about genres to learn about my first foray into self-publishing nonfiction. I’m working with my cousin on the cover, and I hope he’ll be able to give me a little input in the content as well, as he’s quite the outdoorsman.

That other nonfiction book I mentioned is also a possibility, and I have another novel simmering in the back of my brain as well—or possibly another series. I never know about these things until I start writing.

Yvonne, has graciously offered to give away the winners choice of either an E-copy or print of The Last Toqeph. Please leave a comment to be entered for a chance to win. Drawing ends 11/30/2014. The winner will have until 12/1/2014 to reply or forfeit the book. No new winner will be chosen. Void where prohibited by law. Print copy available to USA mailing addresses only.

headshot oct 2012Yvonne Anderson writes fiction that takes you out of this world.

The Story in the Stars, the first in the Gateway to Gannah series as well as her debut novel, was a Carol Award finalist in 2012. The adventure continues with Words in the Wind and Ransom in the Rock and concludes with The Last Toqeph, scheduled for release in October of 2014.

She lives in Western Maryland with her husband of almost forty years and shares the occasional wise word on her personal site, YsWords. She’s been with The Borrowed Book blog for a year or two now and has coordinated Novel Rocket’s Launch Pad Contest for unpublished novelists since the beginning of time. (Or at least, since the contest’s inception.)

Oh, yeah: she also does freelance editing.

 

3 thoughts on “The Last Toqeph and Giveaway

  1. faithdp24

    Yvonne, I have not read anything you have written; nor do I normally read fantasy genre. So your book would be a first for me in many years. I have to say you gained my attention/interest in this interview. I also plan to reblog this. Thank you for this opportunity to win your book.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

