The Snow Globe Giveaway with Author Laura V Hilton

This week we welcome back Laura V Hilton to share with us about her book The Snow Globe. It’s great to have you here, Laura!

snow globe cover 2Victor Petersheim has left the Amish and works on a river boat on the Mississippi River, spending three months on the river then having three months off. During his off-work months he returns home to his Amish community and helps out on his grandparents’ farm. When he returns home after his most recent absence, he discovers his grossmammi has developed health problems and they’ve hired Esther Beachy to be a “mother’s helper.” Victor is unsettled by this woman living in their home, but has to accept it. Esther loves listening to Victor’s grandmother’s stories and while puttering around in a store while the grossmammi’s in the hospital, she discovers a snow globe that depicts an area where the Petersheims used to live. She buys it as a gift for the grossmammi to cheer her up during her hospitalization. Victor is touched by Esther’s gift and her care for his grossmammi, and strives to be friendlier. Will Esther’s gentle heart draw him back to the community? Or will he return to the river once again?  

How long did it take you to write? About three months. I had just finished a contemporary for the Quilts of Love series with Abingdon Press, and The Snow Globe was due to Whitaker House at the end of August.

Was there a particular scene that you especially enjoyed and why does this scene stick out to you? I love this whole book, but probably when Viktor talked Esther into the pond to go “swimming.”

If you could be any character in your book, which one would you be and why? Probably Esther, for the rush of falling in love—I’ve been there, happily married, but still there is nothing like that headiness.

In what time of year is your story set? Is there any particular reason you choose that season or holiday? (I’ll adjust the question to fit your answer.) The Snow Globe is set in the summer, for two reasons. 1. It was initially supposed to release in April and 2. We were in the midst of Independence Day celebrations when I wrote that scene . . .

Do you write in any other genre’s? I try. My favorite is Amish. I also play with contemporary romance, historical romance and romantic suspense. At this time, I’m only published with Amish and contemporary romance

What is your favorite genre to read? It’s not really so much a favorite genre, its authors in that genre. I have my favorite Amish authors, historical authors, suspense authors, women’s fiction, contemporary, etal.

How to you like to spend the holidays?   I’m a quiet individual. I like to spend them at home, surrounded by my loved ones, playing games, talking, snacking, enjoying each other as a family. Neither Steve or I have any extended family, really, so it is just us and our kids. No one expects us to go spend Christmas or Thanksgiving with them. Which is sad. I used to love it when my family or Steve’s family gathered for holidays. But now, almost everyone is gone.

Please tell us one thing about yourself that may surprise your readers. My favorite color is white. Like snow. And yes. I love snow.

What is next for you? I am currently writing the third book in the Amish of Jamesport series, THE BIRDHOUSE which releases in November of 2015. After that I have a whole manuscript requested and then I need to start proposals for new books. J

Thanks for sharing with us, Laura!

Readers, something went crazy with this blog post, and it disappeared from my que, so I had to quickly throw it together this morning at five something my time. I apologize for my lack of interaction with Laura, but I hope you enjoyed the interview anyway. I’m really stumped as to what happened with my original post, but moving on…

Laura is giving away one copy of her book. If you would like to be entered to win please leave a comment for her. Since Thanksgiving is so close I’d personally love to hear what some of your traditions are. If you live in another country feel free to share a tradition you have–any holiday.

Rules: Open to USA mailing addresses only. Void where prohibited by law. Drawing ends Nov. 16. The winner will be notified on Nov. 17, 2014 and have until Nov. 23, 2014 to reply or forfeit the book. 

35839_1469192045700_1110551537_1419357_4095333_nAward winning author, Laura Hilton, her husband, Steve, and three of their children make their home in Arkansas. She is a pastor’s wife, a stay-at-home mom and home-schools. Laura is also a breast cancer survivor. Laura also has two adult children.

 Her publishing credits include three books in the Amish of Seymour series from Whitaker House: Patchwork Dreams, A Harvest of Hearts (winner of the 2012 Clash of the Titles Award in two categories), and Promised to Another. The Amish of Webster County series, Healing Love (finalist for the 2013 Christian Retail Awards). Surrendered Love and Awakened Love followed by her first Christmas novel, A White Christmas in Webster County, as well as a three book Amish series with Whitaker House, The Amish of Jamesport series, The Snow Globe, The Postcard in April 2015, and The Bird House in September 2015. Other credits include Swept Away from Abingdon Press. Laura is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers and a professional book reviewer.

24 thoughts on “The Snow Globe Giveaway with Author Laura V Hilton

  1. Donna Shepherd

    Every Thanksgiving, I fix an appetizer my husband has dubbed ‘beanie-weinies’ even though there is not one bean to be found in it. lol! I cut up hot dogs in a sauce of jelly and mustard and let it simmer on low, the longer the better. But they don’t usually last too long. 🙂

    Thanks for the interview. I love knowing more about an author’s process of writing and favorite scenes. Thank you.

    Reply
  2. Judy B

    Comment for Laura. Your books are some of the best Amish fiction I have ever read. You need to type faster!!

    Comment for Kimberly. Since it is just hubby and I for Thanksgiving and Christmas, we have had this tradition since we married 10 1/2 years ago. I fix a turkey and ALL the trimmings for Thanksgiving even for just the two of us? Why, you might ask? I love the smell of the turkey roasting in the oven. I love how my hubby appreciates me making this huge spread just for us. Besides, left overs are great!

    As for Christmas, our tradition is to go for dinner at a Chinese restaurant and then take in a movie, (if something decent is playing!) So far, we have been lucky with seeing a decent movie. It has to be a good clean one. No smut for us!

    Blessings!
    Judy B

    Reply
  3. Karen

    My favorite Thanksgiving tradition actually starts the day after – putting the Christmas decorations up and addressing Christmas cards.

    Reply
    1. Kimberly Rose Johnson Post author

      Ah, Christmas card. I completely forgot about those! Thanks for the reminder, Karen!
      I send out a few, but they slipped my mind this year. LOL I have a Christmas book I am promoting and then I also have another book releasing in January, so it’s been a challenge to fit everything that needs to be done into my brain.

      Reply
  4. angadair

    Our Thanksgiving is all about family. And of course the food! A traditional turkey dinner with all the trimmings. And then of course there’s the traditional clean up for the women while the men watch football! Wouldn’t have it any other way!

    Reply
    1. Kimberly

      I see a common theme–Turkey! I think we have always done turkey too and lol football as well. I do remember one year though when I was looking forward to watching a game and there wasn’t one on. Yes, I love football. I usually only watch my team, but I find the sound of NFL games to be very relaxing. 🙂

      Reply
  5. Paula Osborne

    Happy Thanksgiving…This holiday is all about being Thankful and that is what we try to adhere to as we eat the large traditional meal. Family has dwindled for us as we are now seniors and family not close by. This year we plan to let Cracker Barrel do the honors -great food and no clean up…I am thankful we have the money to buy a meal out, we are able to go there and not have a mess afterwards,just pick up my purse and leave the mess.
    I am truly Thankful and Blessed.

    Reply
  6. Karen G

    Thanksgiving tradition is being changed this year. We always went to my mom’s place for the dinner and the house was packed with 24 people. With the kids being grown up and married, some were spending Thanksgiving with their spouses’ family. My mom is 96 years old and didn’t want to cook anymore. So, I started cooking the turkey along with the stuffing at my house in my Nesco cooker. Also, baked bread and pumpkin gooey butter cake. I would take all this to my mom’s house for whoever shows up.
    This Thanksgiving is the same – I still do the turkey, stuffing, bread and pumpkin gooey butter cake. But have to drive a little bit further to my sister’s house after picking up my mom.
    It’ll be a whole lot better. Mom has been cooking Thanksgiving all those years and I’m thankful she is still with us and as active as ever.

    Reply
    1. Karen G

      Yes, Kimberly, it is an electric roaster. Got mine from QVC. So much better than using the oven. It gets way too hot in the house with the oven and woodstove going, so I like the roaster to cut down on the heat. I think the turkey cooks better in the roaster than the oven.

      Reply
  7. rhondasdoings

    our tradition is just to get together at mom’s with all of the 6 siblings and our families. We have a blast!

    Reply
  8. Linda Zaragoza-Zrubek

    We have a huge family get together every Thanksgiving. My husband comes from a large family and we all decided since 1974 that each one of his brothers and sisters would take turns for the next several years hosting a Thanksgiving dinner…..now that most of us are in our middle 60’s we have turned it over to the next generation :-). We have had 5 generations at some Thanksgiving dinners, we say a blessing, give Thanks, play games and do a Christmas elephant exchange too. On one of my years hosting the Thanksgiving dinner, I started setting up a memorial table for those that are no longer with us, but can be in Spirit. We continue to this day….we just lost the first sibling in this wonderful Family that I am so proud to be a part of. Not only do we have family but we open our bounty of food to friends and extended families!

    Reply
  9. Faith Posten (@FaithGiggles624)

    Great story line; I enjoyed hearing about the snow globe. Back when our grandchildren were young, two of the girls, sisters, really liked a snow globe which I had at the house at that time. I mean they were really interested in it in an unusual way. So I knew that we really needed to buy them some snow globes for Christmas that year. We did and you would have thought we gave them the moon and possibly some stars, too! LOL So of course, the title of your new book really speaks to me!

    I apologize for not talking about Thanksgiving; but felt like the snow globe story was really more important in this particular case. Happy Thanksgiving to you both!

    Reply
  10. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson

    Hello Kimberly. Have enjoyed this post. Can hardly believe Thanksgiving is almost here. Seems not long ago. I love snow Globes but seems the enow falls too fast now days. Seems it use to drift down more slowly. My DIL got me one year before last that I really like for it is about 10 inches across and has a fan built in the bottom that blows the snow as long as you leave the snow button on. The great-grandbabies love it too. As for Traditions, back when the children were young my siblings and I took turns hosting the family on Thanksgiving and especially Christmas. Now that our children are grown with kids and grandkids they take turns with each other each year.Love having all of my big family around and am so thankful that I am still here to be with them. And, have too much to thank GOD for not enough space to say it all. I lived out of state for many years so had many years with just my husband, broth-in-law together. I live in a Mobile home in a fussy Mobile Park with not much parking space so am not able to have the kids at home, which hurts me, but just the way it is. Too big a crowd of us anyway for my space. But, I still have my tree up and house decorated. Lots of my friends my age haven’t put a tree up for years, but, I have to have mine. Always hate to take it down. Karen G. you are a very lucky lady to still have your mom at 96, and still active. How wonderful. I would love to win this book. Maxie > mac262(at)me(dot)com <

    Reply
    1. Kimberly Rose Johnson Post author

      Hi, Maxie. Your snow globe sounds very neat. As for traditions, it’s wonderful that your family was able to get together for so many years. I hope you get to go to their places for Thanksgiving. I’m glad you can have your tree and a decorated home.
      This will be my first year without my oldest son at home for Thanksgiving. He is away at college and has to work on Thanksgiving.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

