Profitable Aerobics By Ada Brownell

ada brownell In this day of aerobics, weight lifting and jogging, I’ve pondered why the Apostle Paul wrote, “Bodily exercise profits little” (1 Timothy 4:8KJ).

Then I got to thinking about it. It makes no sense to wave my arms around and kick the air for 30 minutes when dust is hiding everywhere, dirt streaks the windows, and clutter threatens my every move.

Instead, I found it more profitable to reach and stretch, reach and stretch, reach and stretch moving the vacuum sweeper back and forth; bend and stand, bend and stand, bend and stand, picking up toys, unloading the dishwasher, loading the dishwasher, loading the washing machine, unloading the dryer, bend and fold, bend and fold.

I lived in homes with stairs most of my life and when I delivered laundry it was better than a stair stepper at the health club.

But let’s be honest here. I did like to jog, walk, swim and play tennis. After the five children grew up and I worked in a job where I sat much of the time, I started getting pudgy around the middle, so I increased activity. Paul’s admonition to Timothy, however, was still not far from my mind. Almost as soon as I started my early morning jog, my body would go on automatic and I could forget the motions my feet were making. I could whisper praises to the Lord with my running shoes hitting the pavement. I could petition God for needs, especially for the family. I made use of that time for spiritual benefit.

This extra prayer brought wonderful answers.

I learned I could pray, work on a Sunday school lesson, memorize scripture and outline books or articles while my hands and feet accomplished other things—whether fixing dinner, washing dishes, vacuuming, making beds, jogging or riding a bike.

Thinking time is profitable time. In Philippians 4:8-9, the Apostle Paul told the Philippians church about thinking profitable thoughts. We need to feed our mind good things, then ponder them, meditate on them, and allow them to bear fruit.

If we read Paul’s words about exercise in context in the New International Version we understand more about what the Apostle was talking about. Please read 1 Timothy 5:7-8 here is a link. https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=1+Timothy+5%3A7%2C+8&version=NIV

ADA BROWNELL BIO

Ada Brownell, a devoted Bible student, has written for Christian publications since age 15 and spent much of her life as a reporter for The Pueblo Chieftain in Colo. She also is a veteran youth Christian education teacher. After moving to Missouri in her retirement, she continues to write books, free lance for Sunday school papers, Christian magazines, write op-ed pieces for newspapers, and blogs with stick-to-your-soul encouragement. She is critique group leader of Ozarks Chapter of American Christian Writers and a member of American Christian Fiction Writers. She and her husband have five children, one in heaven, eight grandchildren and two great-grandchildren.

 THE LADY FUGITIVE COVER 2 AdaBlog: http://inkfromanearthenvessel.blogspot.com Stick-to-Your-Soul Encouragement

Ada Brownell Amazon Author page http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B001KJ2C06

ADA BROWNELL AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE:

http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B001KJ2C06

3 thoughts on “Profitable Aerobics By Ada Brownell

  1. P. T. Bradley

    Before my knees went bad I prayer walked around my neighborhood, praying for different neighbors as I passed their houses. Now I try to do that as I drive by. Great suggestions, Adele!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

