When Knowing God is Better than Knowing Why, by Alexis A Goring

Author Alexis A. Goring, favoriteSometimes I wonder, is knowing God really better than knowing “why”?

People who say that “Knowing God is better than knowing why” have never been through anything really tough, I often conclude. Surely if they had been stretched to their emotional, psychological and physical limits with a situation or pain they’ve endured then they deserve to know why, right? I used to think that if you’ve been through a tragedy, injustice or endure pain that shakes you to your core then certainly God owes you an explanation! Who hasn’t at one point in their life, shaken their fist toward the heavens and demanded answers from God? If you have not done that yet, maybe you haven’t been through enough in life to be pushed to that reaction. If you reach the end of your life and never have wondered or asked God “why” then God bless you, you are a saint!

When I shared stories with my grandma of a few situations I’ve faced in life that pushed me to ask God, “Why?” My grandma simply said, “Knowing God is better than knowing the why.” My grandma’s words made me more upset and frustrated with what I was going through because I felt like with the serious, deep and dark depths of the situation I’d experienced, it would help me understand and feel better if I only know why. Why would God allow this to happen to me? Why isn’t God doing anything about this situation? Why, why, why! Cleary such a simple answer could not be the answer to my problems!

But lately I wonder, maybe my grandma’s advice is right? Enter a song by a group of four male Christian contemporary music artists called 4HIM. The song is called “Why” and there within it, is my answer. Here’s my summary of the song lyrics:

Rain (trials, tribulations, tragedies and issues) fall into everyone’s life because pain does not discriminate (it happens to everybody). Life can be unfair and when bad things happen to good people, it leaves you wondering why. But despite all this, you should not second-guess God’s plan because He has a purpose for your pain that’s beyond what you can understand. God is not afraid of honest prayers so don’t be afraid to ask him “Why?” But in the pondering process do not let go of God’s Unseen Hand (keep your faith) because the beautiful thing is no matter what you’re going through in this life, God has a good plan for you (Jeremiah 29:11) and you are safe in His care. Read the full lyrics to the song “Why” here, http://www.lyricsmode.com/lyrics/0-9/4him/why.html) and listen to the song here, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=baRHkrw10uY

I love that song! Why? Because it reminds me that though I may not understand horrible things that happen in this world, I can rest assured that the Creator of the Universe, the Keeper of this Planet, the God of Grace knows why. And that’s all that matters.

So if you’ve been like me, questioning God to tell you why bad things happen to you or your loved ones in this world, I encourage you to keep holding onto your faith in God and stay connected to Him (as the song advises you to not to let go of God’s Unseen Hand). You may not always be able to figure out what God is doing or why He is doing it. But you can rest assured that anything God permits to happen in your life is not without purpose. Do you hear that? Your pain is not without purpose. God can take any broken situation and create something beautiful!

I know because He did that for me and He can do that for you too! So keep holding onto God’s hand, keep trusting Him with your life and watch God work, taking your broken and transforming it into beauty, taking your questions and giving you His Peace (Isaiah 26:3) to the point where you may stop wondering “why.”

God bless you!

Love, Alexis

Media imageAlexis A. Goring is a college graduate with a degree in print journalism from Washington Adventist University in Takoma Park, Maryland. Writing is her passion. She hopes that her stories will touch hearts, bring smiles to faces, and inspire minds to seek God whose love for humanity is unfailing!

Author’s official website, www.alexisagoring.com

#       #       #

2 thoughts on “When Knowing God is Better than Knowing Why, by Alexis A Goring

Leave a Reply

