In Perfect Time with Sarah Sundin

Sundin - In Perfect TimeThis week author Sarah Sundin shares with us about her book In Perfect Time. Welcome, Sarah. Please tell us about your latest release.

World War II flight nurse Lt. Kay Jobson collects hearts wherever she flies, but C-47 pilot Lt. Roger Cooper seems immune to her charms. Still, as they cross the skies between Italy and southern France, evacuating the wounded and delivering paratroopers and supplies, every beat of their hearts draws them closer. Can they confront the fears and misunderstandings of the past in order to take hold of the future?

How many books do you have published?

In Perfect Time is my sixth published novel. I can’t believe it! I still feel like a complete newbie.

I understand that feeling. I’ve contracted five books and I feel the same way. 🙂 Congratulations on having six books out there!

What is next for you?

In September, Where Treetops Glisten releases—a Christmas novella collection featuring stories from Tricia Goyer, Cara Putman, and me. I just turned in my next novel—Through Waters Deep is the first book in the Waves of Freedom series, which follows three US naval officers based in Boston in WWII. It releases in summer 2015. And I’m starting work on the second novel in the series.

It sounds like you are keeping busy. That’s fantastic! I’m looking forward to having you return in October to share with us about your Christmas novella.

Did you or do you have anything fun planned for this summer?

I just returned home from vacation in Pennsylvania (visiting my parents) and Boston. While in Boston, I was doing research for the Waves of Freedom series. I got to walk around in a 5-inch gun mount on the WWII battleship USS Massachusetts and explore the ammunition handling room on the WWII destroyer USS Cassin Young. Yes, this is interesting to me. I’m weird.

Then I’m weird too. It sounds fascinating to me. Do you have a favorite spot in which to write?

I write wherever I can. When I first started writing, my kids were in the blur of soccer/ballet/karate/choir, so I learned to write anywhere. Now my kids are older, so I get to do most of my writing from my desk in my office. Much more efficient!

If you weren’t a writer what do you think you would be doing?

I’m also a pharmacist, and I still work one day a week at the local hospital. I never had any plans to be a writer until God smacked me with a story idea. Then another. Then another. So if He hadn’t done that, I’d be working full-time as a pharmacist.

What was the last fiction book you read that you can recommend?

My favorite read this summer has been Melanie Dobson’s Chateau of Secrets. This is the first time in years I’ve read an entire book in one sitting. I was completely drawn in—a Frenchwoman in WWII hides Resistance members in the tunnels under her chateau—which is occupied by Nazi soldiers. This is based on a true story, and it’s mesmerizing.

Thanks for sharing with us, Sarah.

Sarah is giving away one copy of her book to a lucky commenter.

Rules: Open to USA mailing addresses only. Drawing closes August 31st.  The winner will be contacted by me via email September 1st, be watching and don’t forget to check your spam just in case it gets sent there. J Winner will have until September 7th to respond or forfeit the book. No new winner will be chosen. Void where prohibited by law.

Sundin #D70 ©2008 Linda Johnson Photography web  (2)Sarah Sundin is the author of six historical novels, including In Perfect Time (Revell, August 2014). Her novel On Distant Shores was a double finalist for the 2014 Golden Scroll Awards. In 2011, Sarah received the Writer of the Year Award at the Mount Hermon Christian Writers Conference. Sarah lives in northern California with her husband and three children. When she isn’t ferrying kids to tennis and karate, she works on-call as a hospital pharmacist and teaches Sunday school and women’s Bible studies. You can find her at http://www.sarahsundin.com

17 thoughts on “In Perfect Time with Sarah Sundin

  1. Sharon Timmer

    I would love to win Sarah’s book – it has been on my TBR list for quite a while now – thanks for the chance & a wonderful interview!

    Reply
  2. Hannah Petersen

    Would love a chance at winning this book!! thanks! 🙂
    my email is : crazy.dog.lady2009[at]gmail[dot]com

    Reply
  3. Diane B

    Thanks for the chance to win one of your books! It sounds like an exciting story and whether I win it or not, I hope to read it soon! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Elisabeth B.

    Thank you for the giveaway and the interview. I enjoy Sarah Sundin’s books and am looking forward to In Perfect Time. ekb1012(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Reply
  5. Pam K.

    I really enjoy reading Sarah’s books. I’d love to win In Perfect Time to complete the series.
    Thanks for this giveaway and the interview with Sarah.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: WIN a Copy of Sarah Sundin's New Book In Perfect Time! | Faith Book HubFaith Book Hub

  7. Amanda

    I didn’t know she is a pharmacist! Makes Hutch in On Distant Shores even more interesting! I can’t wait to read this one! Thanks for the giveaway!

    Amanda
    Libraryofmyown at gmail dot com

    Reply
    1. sarahsundin

      Yep, and so is my husband. In fact, when I was telling him about the situation with pharmacists in the military in WWII, and I saw my husband burn with manly righteous indignation – that’s when I knew I had a story 🙂

      Reply
  8. Michelle L.

    Thank you for the giveaway! Been looking forward to Kay’s story ever since I finished the other 2 in the series!

    Reply
  9. lextinacademy

    I love reading historical books! I’ve had this book pinned on my Book Wish List for a while now. It sounds like a wonderful read!

    Reply
  10. Lis K

    I’ve read 5 of her published novels and can’t wait for this one. Kay and Roger piqued my interest from book 1 of this series. Thanks for the giveaway!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

