Marcus Varitor Centurion

Ann Baxter coverCampbellMarcusCover-Flat(2) This week I am pleased to welcome Anne Baxter Campbell. Please tell us about Marcus Varitor Centurion.

Marcus Varitor, Centurion is the story of a young decanus (one rung below a centurion) who has finally decided to grow up. He had become a Jewish proselyte (a convert to the Jewish faith); now he wanted more than anything to earn the love of an Egyptian slave girl and to be promoted to a centurion. His tribune offers him that chance if he can bring in Barabbas. Trouble is, Barabbas instead kills all of Marcus’s troops and captures Marcus and his worst soldier and hauls them to his camp. They manage to escape, thanks to someone who sneaks into the tent where they’re bound and gagged and sets them free.

The Egyptian slave girl, Meskhanet, unbeknownst to Marcus, has been captured by Barabbas’ troop of brigands. She too escapes, only to be kidnapped by slavers bound for Rome.

How can Marcus prove himself to his tribune now? And how can he save Meskhanet?

How long did it take you to write this story?

It took a little over a year to write this one

Did you personally learn anything while writing Marcus Varitor, Centurion

 

My characters were always pulling surprises on me. A guy I thought was terrible has a soft spot. Quiet little Meskhanet turned out to be such a strong person. One character died that I thought would carry through to something more. So I guess you could say I learned a lot about the characters and how they felt about the One God of the Jews.


Is this book part of a series?

Yes, it is. It’s Book 2 of The Truth Trilogy.

What is next for you?

The third book, What Is Truth, is the next in the series, and it will be out later this year. It’s about some of the same characters in the first two books, principally Decimus, a Roman senator, and Joanna, the widow of one of the minor characters in the first two books.
By the way, I have a contest going to guess the release date. If you will go to my Facebook page, https://www.facebook.com/AnneBaxterCampbellAuthor, you will see the contest. If you guess the correct release date, you will win the first signed copy of the book.

What was the last fiction book you read that you would recommend?

The one I read this year that I think was the absolute best is Invisible by Ginny Yttrup. That woman has a way of digging into your very soul and lifting it right up to God.

How old were you when you first knew you wanted to be a professional writer?

I’m not really sure. Technical writer, maybe about 25 years ago. Fiction writer, maybe 35 years ago. I did start a book then. Actually–the first book in this same series, The Roman’s Quest. That’s when I started it–over 35 years ago!

Wow!35 Years ago? That’s amazing to me that you stuck with it. The longest I’ve ever worked on a book is a few years and then it was only off and on while I wrote other books.
Thanks for sharing with us, Anne.
If you would like the chance to win a copy of Marcus Varitor Centurion please leave a comment to be entered.
Rules: Open to USA mailing addresses only. The drawing ends July 27th. The winner will be notified by email from me July 28th–please watch your box that day as I’ve recently had 2 winners never respond–so sad that they missed out. If I do not hear from the winner by August 3rd the winner forfeits the book. No new winner will be drawn. Void where prohibited by law.

AnnBaxter Author Photo Anne Baxter Campbell is a Christian, a wife, a mother, and a grandmother who loves to write. I yearn to inspire people to take one step closer to the God who loves them so much He gave His only begotten Son that we might live forever with Him.

5 thoughts on “Marcus Varitor Centurion

  1. Britney Adams

    I enjoyed learning about Anne and her writing journey. Marcus Varitor, Centurion sounds like a very compelling story! Thank you for the giveaway opportunity.

    texaggs2000 at gmail dot com

    Reply
    1. Anne Baxter Campbell

      Hi Britney–Thanks for entering the giveaway. I hope if you win you will like the book! By the way–there’s an opportunity to win the first signed copy of the third book (final name got changed to “The Truth Doesn’t Die”) on my Facebook Page (Anne Baxter Campbell, Author).
      Blessings!
      ~Anne

      Reply
  2. Amber Schamel

    I’ve been wanting to read this one for a WHILE now, but I’ve been so swamped with my own writing, graduations for friends/siblings that I haven’t gotten to it yet. I hope to do that soon.

    Great interview, Anne!

    visionwriter2 at gmail dot com

    Amber Schamel
    Bringing HIStory to Life
    http://www.AmberSchamel.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

