Song of the Prairie

Song of the Prairie

I’m thrilled to once again welcome Vickie McDonough. Thanks for being with us, Vickie. Please tell us about your book, Song of the Prairie. Song of the Prairie is the third and final book in my Pioneer Promise series, which is set in 1870s Kansas and features the three Harper brothers. This last book tells Aaron’s story. He’s the oldest brother. Here’s a blurb, which focuses on the heroine’s storyline: Janie Dunn’s dream of being an opera singer suddenly fades when, at her dying cousin’s request, she flees Boston with her cousin’s newborn son to protect him from his abusive father. She moves to Kansas to live with her brother, but life takes another dire change when he is suddenly killed. Is a marriage of convenience the answer to her problems? Is Kansas far enough away from Boston that they are safe from the baby’s vengeful father?

How long did it take you to write this story? Three months.

What is next for you? I’m almost finished with the first book is a new series called Land Rush Dreams, which features two of the Oklahoma land runs and a land lottery. Gabriel’s Atonement, book one in the series, is the story of a gambler who kills a man in self-defense and then tries to make amends for the deed by helping the man’s widow and young son, even though she wants nothing to do with him. It releases next January.

If you could travel anyplace this summer, where would you go and what would you do? There are so many places I’d love to go. Ireland and Scotland, Australia, Fiji, the western U.S. states, but if I had to pick one place, it would be New Zealand. As for what I’d do, I’d tour the beautiful country and see all the sites and hopefully relax for a time.

What was the last fiction book you read that you would recommend? I’d recommend any of Marylu Tyndall’s book. I LOVE her fast-paced historical romances, which are usually set aboard a ship in the beautiful Caribbean. Oft times there’s a pirate on board ship. Her hero and heroines always have such wonderful conflict and delicious chemistry. Every one of her books are keepers.

How old were you when you first knew you wanted to be a professional writer? I was 47 when I first started writing. I’d always been an avid reader, but I never once considered writing a book until a story idea started running through my mind and wouldn’t leave me alone. It was affecting my sleep and driving me bananas, so I decided to write it down in hopes it would go away and leave me alone. As soon as I finished it, another story came. I wrote it too. After finishing the second book, I got to thinking that maybe God was trying to get my attention. I jumped in with both feet and never looked back. I’ve been writing for thirteen years now and have over 30 books and novellas in print and ebook format, with around 1,000,000 copies sold. I like to encourage people to say yes when God puts a calling on your life, even if it seems like an odd one. He dreams bigger dreams for us than we can dream for ourselves.

Do you have a favorite spot to read or write? Yes. I have a soft, comfy recliner that I sit in with my feet up. I have a heating pad on my back to use when my back hurts or if I get cold. And I have a fan remote on the table next to my chair in case I get hot and a glass of water or Coke nearby. I both read and write in it.

Please leave a comment for a chance to win a copy of Song of the Prairie.

Rules: Open to U.S. mailing addresses only. Void where prohibited by law. Drawing closes 7/20/2014. The Winner will be contacted by email on 7/21/2014 and have until 7/27/2014 to reply or forfeit the book. No new winner will be drawn.

Vickie has several books releasing in the near future.
Song of the Prairie, book 3 in my Pioneer Christmas series
Rancher Under Fire, a Love Inspired Suspense, September
Forging a Family, a novella in the Westward Christmas Collection, September
Unexpected Blessing, a novella in The Brides of Christmas Collection, September
The Fruitcake Bride, a novella in The 12 Brides of Christmas Collection, December

If you would like to sign up for Vickie’s newsletter follow this link. http://www.vickiemcdonough.com/www.vickiemcdonough.com/Newsletter_Sign-up.html

18 thoughts on “Song of the Prairie

  1. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson

    Hello Kimberly. thanks for interviewing Vickie. Vickie, love stories about the Land Rush and Lotteries. Interesting. You are pretty being written in only 3 months. Then voices must have been talking fast. I too would love to visit Ireland. Searched my maiden name and that of my mom’s name and her grandmother’s. All showed Ancestors came from Wells and Ireland.And I agree about MaryLu’s books. I would l would love to win your book. thanks to you both for giving me that chance. God bless you. Maxie > mac262(at)me(dot)com <

    Reply
    1. fictionfan1

      Maxie, My great-great-grandmother is from Scotland, and I’ve always wanted to research my ancestors. Good luck in the drawing.

      Reply
  2. fictionfan1

    Hi Susan, I hope you get a chance to read one of my books sometime. Thanks for visiting Kimberly’s blog!

    Reply
  3. Anne Payne

    Enjoyed the interview, Ladies. It’s fun to get to know a favorite author just a bit better. I always enjoy Vickie’s prairie romances. I’ve read and reviewed both the others in this series and look forward to doing the same with this one. The cover designs are fabulous, too.

    Reply
  4. fictionfan1

    Hi Anne, Thanks for being a fan and a reviewer! I love hearing from my readers and really appreciate the ones who take time to post a review. I thought the Song cover turned out really nice too.

    Reply
  5. Linda Goodnight

    Vickie, I went to Ireland last summer and really enjoyed it but now I want to see Northern Ireland and Scotland. I’m told both are even prettier. Hope you get to go some day!

    Reply
  6. June

    I love the story about writing your first stories down and then realizing God might have plans for you! He has given you an awesome talent and I love your books!!!

    Reply
    1. fictionfan1

      Thanks so much, June. It’s been a real blessing to be able to write stories that touch people’s hearts and lives.

      Reply
  7. Jane Squires

    I really really would love to win this. I would review it and pass it on to someone else to be blessed

    Reply

Leave a Reply

