What Fruit are You?

DSCF1902 No, I’m not talking apples and oranges but rather the fruit or the Spirit, as in love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, and self-control. These are all attributes that should be evident in our lives according to Galatians 5:22.

Too often I have to remind myself to have patience, or self-control when I’m anxious about something like a book contract, or why my teenage son hasn’t called when he said he would, or why someone hasn’t responded to an email I sent two days ago. Yes, I realize these are all minor in the grand scheme of life, but we are all imperfect as much as we’d like to think otherwise.J

What fruit are you working on? Is there one that is harder for you than the rest?

I hope as you go about your daily routine and something strikes you the wrong way, or whatever your weakness is, you’ll remember to think about love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, and self-control. I can’t tell you how many times, just focusing on these qualities has helped my response to be more appropriate to less than perfect situations.

Leave a Reply

