Of the Persecuted

Before we begin the winner of last weeks drawing is Zoe M. McCarthy. Congrats, Zoe!

Of the Persecuted (ebook cover)Welcome, Angie Brashear. Please tell us about Of the Persecuted.
Of the Persecuted is a fantasy with a strong thread of romance geared toward young adult females. The story surrounds an insecure girl who believes she is no more than a burden to the people she loves. But in the midst of physical and spiritual war, and through the loss of loved ones, as well as the turmoil of unrequited love, she discovers her true worth lies in her faith.

Ultimately, my goal is to reach young adult females much like the lost, lonely girl I once was. As a nonbeliever for the majority of my life, I enjoyed reading speculative fiction and it was the The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis which ultimately opened my eyes to Christ. My prayer is that my stories will do the same for others. I also hope believers will enjoy the Christian undertones of my work.

How long did it take you to write?

As a mother of three active kids and a job outside of my home, I stay quite busy. I basically wrote into the wee hours of the night over the course of seven months. And I thought I’d finished a manuscript worth publishing in that time. Through many rejections, I learned I’d written my story in lackluster omniscient narrative, as well as filled the story with passive voice and stilted dialogue. The entire manuscript had to be reworked, which required studying the writing craft and an additional six months of late night writing.

Does this book stand alone? Is it part of a series?

Of the Persecuted is the first novel in the Legends of the Woodlands trilogy. While Book One focuses on persecution, Book Two will focus on forgiveness and Book Three will focus on sacrifice.

How did you come up with the idea for this book?

When I began to think about writing Of the Persecuted, I really only knew two things about the story. First, it had to be fantastical. Second, it had to be geared toward young adult females. As I thought about both, an image of a girl facing death by hanging flashed before me. Beyond that, I’m a panster and sometimes I wonder if that is good or bad for my writing endeavors. As I write I know exactly where I want to start and finish, but I fly by the seat of my pants when writing all of the details in between. In some ways, it’s a fun approach because my own characters surprise me with their decisions.

How long have you been writing?

I began writing Of the Persecuted in March 2012.

What is your favorite genre to read?

I love speculative fiction, especially fantasy. And especially if there’s a romance to accompany the magic of a new world.
If you have a bucket list what is one thing you still want to do?
My husband and I would LOVE to attend the Grand Slam tennis tournaments—the Australian Open, the French Open, Wimbledon, and the U.S. Open—all in one season. Hey, he won a Texas High School Football State Championship and I wrote a book, so we’re getting closer to sitting courtside with our awesome sun hats. LOL!

Back Cover Blurb:
Laila Pennedy awaits death by hanging. For the Rendow Clan rules the Woodlands Region, aiming to slaughter the Faithful. And she deserves to die. But Lars Landre, the man destined to lead the Faithful out of persecution, has other plans hidden behind his rare and mysterious blue eyes. Rescue.
Following the daring escape, Laila seeks the path of a warrior and vows revenge against the Rendow Clan. She embarks on a dangerous journey with Lars, one in which they endeavor to reach the promised safety of a magical village, to train for battle, and to ultimately assure freedom for those with faith in the Maker.
Clashes of weapons and souls. Brutal loss of lives. Unrequited love. How in all the Woodlands will Laila survive?

Thanks so much for sharing with us Angie and for offering to give away one copy of your book. Please leave a comment for Angie if you would like to be entered for a chance to win Of the Persecuted.

Drawing Rules: Drawing is open to USA mailing addresses only. The drawing ends 6/22/2014. The winner will be contacted by email on 6/23/14 and have until 6/29/2014 to respond or forfeit–no new winner will be chosen. Void where prohibited by law.

Angie Brashear - Headshot (2)When Angie Brashear isn’t working or taking care of her family, she writes. Usually at night after her kids fall asleep. She’s a fan of speculative fiction and an avid runner, both of which perplex her nonfiction-reading, football-loving husband. Saved in her early twenties, Angie is grateful for the Lord’s presence in all aspects of her life. She is originally from Rockland, Maine and currently resides in Cameron, Texas with her husband and three children. Follow her at http://angiebrashear.com, http://facebook.com/AngieBrashearAuthor, and https://twitter.com/AngieBrashear.

5 thoughts on “Of the Persecuted

    1. Angie Brashear

      Thanks! Paper & Sage Design created the cover. I remain amazed at the designer’s ability to create a scene from my mind after only a very quick description of what I imagined.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

