A Romance Rekindled and Giveaway

9780373487158(1) Here it is book two in my Leavenworth, WA series.

SUSAN HILL ISN’T READY TO FORGIVE

The small-town CPA can’t forget how Blake Mitchell jilted her and left their hometown without an explanation. But when her first love returns to Leavenworth, the ruggedly handsome writer evokes conflicting emotions, especially when Susan meets the child she assumes is his daughter.

Since his parents’ deaths six years ago, Blake’s been raising his little sister on his own. But he’s never forgotten the woman he left behind. Now, he can’t undo the past, but maybe he can change the future…if he can convince Susan to give him one more chance.

I’ve gone around and around trying to come up with a cute way to interview myself and I’ve come up blank. This is good news for you because you get to ask me the questions. I’ll reply in the comments.

I’m giving away one copy of my book. You must ask me a question to be entered into the drawing.

Drawing Rules:The drawing ends 6/8/2014. The winner will be contacted by email on 6/9/14 and have until 6/14/2014 to respond or forfeit–no new winner will be chosen. Void where prohibited by law. Drawing is open to US addresses only.

4 thoughts on “A Romance Rekindled and Giveaway

    1. Kimberly Rose Johnson Post author

      That’s a great question. I had given Susan her job in book one without a whole lot of thought, so I used it in the second. It seemed to fit her personality to me, so I ran with it. Blake was another matter. I really struggled with him since his job wasn’t a big part of the story to start with.
      His occupation ended up growing out of the story.

      Reply
  1. Jen

    Do you write based on actual locations (buildings, towns etc.) or are they a town you build out of creativity? Also I often wonder how much authors use their own lives to create a scene or character’s conversations.

    Reply
    1. Kimberly Rose Johnson Post author

      My series which takes place in Leavenworth, WA is an actual town, but I’m currently working on a manuscript that will release in March 2015 that takes place in a fictional Oregon town. For me location is determined by my ease of ability to visit and get a feel for the place. If I use a real town I want the locals who read it to feel like this really is their town.
      The people in Leavenworth have been so kind to me when it comes to creative license. I have moved things around a little and have added things that don’t exist and everyone who has spoken to me or sent me emails, has not minded because I state up front that I did move things around for the sake of the story.
      That all being said, most of what I’ve written that is currently unpublished takes place in fictional towns.
      My character conversations are not taken from real life. My characters are unique unto themselves and have their own thoughts and actions.J
      As far as using my own life in my stories. I do draw from my experiences sometimes, but I never do exactly what I experienced. I think my characters need their own story, not mine or someone’s I know. 🙂 Most of what you will read in my books has absolutely nothing to do with real life or anything I’ve ever experienced.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

