Slow and Steady Wins the Race?

DSCF0597 The road to publication, at least for me, was not a sprint, but a marathon. In my opinion the business of writing and publishing should be treated like a marathon. I eventually learned that I need to pace myself, and to set realistic goals.

Two weeks ago I shared with you the beginning of my writing journey and this week you will learn about the middle. Have you ever been on a long trip and noticed that in the beginning you’re really excited, then toward the middle the road seems to stretch on forever. The scenery is very uninspiring and often downright boring? I wouldn’t call the middle of my journey boring, but it was definitely a reality check.

After my immediate success selling my short story, my expectations of publication rose. I knew I could write at that point, the problem was finding an agent and book publisher that agreed.J

The Lord was very good to me and sent one person in particular into my life that encouraged me when I wanted to quit and then she invited me to join her critique group. I can be dense at times, but I was smart enough to jump at this offer and this writer and I have been critiquing each others work ever since. She has become one of my closest friends, and I know that she is always there for me. Last summer when my son was fighting for his life and my husband and I were rushing to the Emergency Department while my son was being transported by ambulance, I couldn’t reach my parents, so guess who I called? My long time friend and critique partner. She prayed with me and spread the word for me to our other critique partners to pray. She was so supportive and calm which was exactly what I needed at that moment.

Yes, that was a bit off topic, but the point is during that long journey to publication the Lord provided me with key people who encouraged me along the way. I attended writers conferences and experienced divine appointments that encouraged me to keep writing. God hadn’t given up on me and He used others to show me that I was on the right path.

Next time I’ll share the rest of my story. Until then happy reading.

2 thoughts on “Slow and Steady Wins the Race?

  1. Beth Farley

    I can relate to this story. It is very hard putting it all into balance. My blog was also about writing today and keeping my FOCUS. Very hard at times. Happy writing and may you see clearly from God each step along the publication process.
    Beth

    Reply
    1. Kimberly Rose Johnson Post author

      Thanks for stopping by, Beth. Balance really is key in life, isn’t it? I hopped over to your blog and read your post. I wish I could write in cafe’s or coffee shops, but I’m way to distracted by what’s going on around me. 🙂
      Kimberly

      Reply

Leave a Reply

