A Season of Change

A Season Of Change coverThis week I’m pleased to welcome Lynette Sowell. Hi, Lynette. Please tell us about A Season of Change.
A Season of Change is an “urban Amish” romance, set in the village of Pinecraft, in the city of Sarasota, Florida. Jacob Miller is an Amish widower visiting family during Christmas time, when his daughter is seriously injured in an accident. He must stay in Pinecraft for an extended time while she recovers, and he’s face-to-face with the world in ways he never imagined. Natalie Bennett, a former circus performer, works at a circus school and volunteers at the hospital where Jacob’s daughter is. She meets the Millers and embarks on a search to find her late mother’s family. Her mother was ex-Amish and had never told Natalie. Sparks fly between Jacob and Natalie, but there’s another woman who makes sure she remains in the picture—and she’s the logical, proper, Amish choice.

This sounds like a good read, and I really like the cover.
When did you first get the writing itch?

I first felt the writing itch in elementary school, when I began to use my (over)active imagination to write stories during class after I’d finished my work. Usually those stories included many illustrations of horses, because I was an extremely horse-crazy kid.

I loved horses as a girl. I even had a good-sized wood stable with plenty of model horses to play with. Sigh, I’m allergic to horses, so I had to settle for the fake one. LOL not that my parents would have been able to get me one anyway. 🙂

What do you hope readers will take away from this book?

I believe there aren’t any circumstances God can’t use and work something beautiful from. Whatever the pain, loss or unseen curveball that comes our way in life, it doesn’t limit God. I hope readers will see that God often works in unexpected ways, in spite of what we’re going through.

Do you have a favorite season?

I love springtime in Texas. The temperature is perfect (mostly) and everything gets lush and green, and flowers like bluebonnets, Indian paintbrush and other flowers are on the sides of the highways and back roads. It’s a beautiful time for a road trip. Otherwise, New England in the fall is my favorite because of the gorgeous colors outdoors and the crisp weather.

I see how location would influence that answer. Both Texas and New England sound beautiful.
What is next for you?

My next book in the series, A Path Made Plain, releases in November. Also, Elizabeth Goddard and I have a co-authored Christmas novella set releasing in September from Barbour, A Grand Teton Sleigh Ride(Barbour Publishing), which is a generational collection of novellas about the Covington family in Jackson, Wyoming.

I love Christmas stories!

Lynette is giving away one copy of her book to a lucky commenter.
Drawing Rules: You must have a USA mailing address to be entered for a print copy. There must be at least ten qualifying comments for the drawing to take place. The drawing ends 5/18/2014. The winner will be contacted by email on 5/19/14 and have until 5/25/2014 to respond or forfeit–no new winner will be chosen. Void where prohibited by law.

HeadshotLynette Sowell is the award-winning author of more than 15 titles for Barbour, Heartsong Presents, and Abingdon Press. When she’s not crafting stories, she works as a freelance reporter and columnist for her local newspaper. She was born in Massachusetts, raised on the Eastern Shore of Maryland, and makes her home on the doorstep of the Texas hill country with her husband, a duo of cats, and a Texas heeler named Mocha. In no particular order, Lynette loves coffee, chocolate, reading, cooking, watching movies, and is always up for a Texas road trip. You can find her on Facebook at facebook.com/lynettesowellauthor and on Twitter @LynetteSowell. She also blogs at NotQuiteAmishLiving.com and InspyRomance.com.

20 thoughts on “A Season of Change

  1. katie07edgar

    Thank you for the interview and chance to win this book! This would be a new author for me, so that is always fun too! Thanks! Katie Edgar, katie07edgar(at)gmail(dot)com

    Reply
  2. Lisa Stifler

    Thank you for a chance to win A Season of Change. I have not read any books by Lynette. I am always excited to add a new author to my list. Thanks for the great interview. ~ Blessings ~

    Reply
  3. Rose Derry

    I would love to read about the Florida Amish community. I was born in Florida and know Sarasota. Thank you for the chance to win this book. I have Cystic Fibrosis and have recently had to stop working due to my health. Treats are few and far between with no income. Thanks again!

    Reply
  4. susanmsj

    This was a great interview. Thank you for a chance to win a copy of this book. It sounds like a great read.

    Reply
  5. Loretta

    though I’ve seen the name I have yet to read anything by this author.
    Maybe now is the time 🙂

    Reply
  6. Elaine Shorb

    I would love to read this!! I live about an hour from Lancaster, Pennsylvania. So, I am always interested in reading about other Amish communities. Pinecraft sounds like a place that I would love to visit. Thank you for the chance to be included in your drawing.

    Reply
    1. lynettesowell

      Elaine, thanks for posting! In my visits to Pinecraft, I’ve met several Amish who live in your area and vacation in Florida. It’s a unique place to visit.

      Reply
  7. jackielayton

    Great interview. I’d love to win this book. Thanks for the opportunity.
    Jackie
    joyfuljelatgmaildotcom

    Reply
  8. Carrie

    This book sounds like one I would enjoy. It is fun to find new to me authors. I enjoyed reading the interview. Thanks for the chance to win.

    Reply
  9. Lucy

    Always excited to read a new author and this book sounds so interesting. TY for the chance to win. God bless you.

    Reply
  10. Judy B

    This book sounds so good. It is on my wish list! We don’t live too far from Amish communities and I love reading about them. I was even surprised one day last fall to see an Amish buggy in our Kroger parking lot! I love good Christian fiction!

    I enjoyed the interview. Spring time is my favorite time of the year too. I love to see the earth come alive after a long winter. New beginnings.

    Blessings!
    Judy B
    judyjohn2004(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

