At His Feet by guest blogger Eileen Rife

The older I get, the more I value time spent at Jesus’s feet. To willingly and gratefully call Him Savior and Lord on this side of heaven. To offer the sacrifice of praise, even in the midst of hardship and sorrow. Especially during hardship and sorrow. To pour out my heart and visualize His tender hand on my head. To mentally wash His feet with my tears.
As Mary did . . .
In John 11:2, the account of Lazarus’s illness opens with a description of the key characters in the story. Mary’s bio is simple: She anointed the Lord with ointment and wiped His feet with her hair. Though ridiculed for her humble act (Luke 7:38-39), she chose to worship her Lord. For as Christ said to the self-righteous Pharisee later in the passage, she loves much because she has been forgiven much. A clean slate provokes gratitude, and gratitude takes us to the feet of Jesus.
When Lazarus dies, and Jesus doesn’t show up for four days, Mary and her sister are confused. Perhaps even angry. Still, Mary’s knee-jerk (pun intended) reaction upon seeing Jesus is to fall at His feet. Even in her grief and struggle to understand Jesus’s late appearance, she takes her natural place at His feet (John11:32). This is home to her.
She knew how to worship Him before the crisis; so she knows how to worship Him in the crisis.
For Mary, worship is as natural and as vital as breathing.
As I look back over almost sixty years of life, I can identify significant times at Jesus’s feet . . .
Thanking Him for loving me.
Pleading with Him for financial provision.
Agonizing before Him over a wayward loved one.
Wrestling before Him in anger over a loss.
Basking in His peace and comfort.
While worship is a matter of the heart and not confined to any one physical position, I find talking with Him and listening to Him while on my knees causes me to feel closer to Him. My heart instantly bows to Him and His desires for me.
At His feet, He gives me my assignment for the day. At His feet, I share in total honesty all my wounds and struggles. At His feet, I find healing. At His feet, He burdens my heart to reach out to family, neighbors, and hurting members of His body.
Like Mary, I pray that my knee-jerk reaction in the good times and the bad will be to fall at His feet.
~~
Eileen Rife, author of Laughing with Lily, speaks to women’s groups, encouraging them to discover who they are in Christ and what part they play in His amazing story. http://www.eileenrife.com, http://www.eileen-rife.blogspot.com.
Laughing with Lily cover

4 thoughts on “At His Feet by guest blogger Eileen Rife

Leave a Reply

