Ryan’s Father and Giveaway

Ryan's FatherJune Foster is here to share with us about her book Ryan’s Father. Thanks for taking the time to visit with us this week, June. Please tell us about Ryan’s Father.

The rippling influence of Ryan Reid’s less than moral mother and absent father made a mark on his soul. Yet everything changed when the young school teacher accepted Christ—almost everything.

An earthquake hurls the beautiful Sandy Arrington into his life, tossing his world upside down. When God calls him to build an annex for needy teens at his church, Ryan must face the carefully guarded secret he’s held deep in his heart. Though Sandy falls in love with him, Ryan’s forbidden affections lie elsewhere, and he must depend on the Lord to see him through a struggle he always hoped he’d never have to face. Sandy’s wealthy cardiologist father and the battle Ryan is powerless to win are hurtles to their romance.  Can he dig his way out to find Sandy’s love?
Do you have a favorite scene and what about it makes it your favorite?

My favorite scene is when Sandy falls and injures her ankle on Mt. Rainier. She and Ryan have to spend the night on the trail halfway up the mountain. But I can’t tell you why or I’ll give away an important element of the book.

 No problem, we don’t want any spoilers. 🙂 How long did it take you to write Ryan’s Father?

Ryan’s Father was the second book I wrote. So you can imagine, I did many, many rewrites. All in all, it took me a year and a half which includes editing.

When did you first get the writing itch?

My story is really different than most. I never had the desire to write fiction as a teen or adult. After I retired from teaching I discovered a story brewing in my head. I could even see the setting and the characters which was unusual for me as I’m definitely not a creative person. One day I told my daughter about the story and her casual remark that I should write it was the spark I needed. I got a new Toshiba laptop, began reading the “how to” books, and plunked the keys of my computer. That’s how I began writing. Now I’ve got 5 books published and 3 more novels I’m seeking publication for.

That is fantastic, June! What do you hope readers will take away from this book? 

I’d like to offer hope and healing to anyone in the homosexual lifestyle. Though homosexuality is not in God’s perfect will, neither is any other sin we humans commit. If a person desires freedom, I believe it is possible. The Bible says we are new creatures in Him and are no longer slaves to sin. Yet we serve a merciful God who loves us despite our failings. Jesus died for all sins and that’s the bottom line.

What is your favorite season and why?

I love summer. When I was a teacher, summertime meant freedom to do all those things I didn’t have time to do during the school year. Hobbies, reading, shopping, yard work, basking in the sun, vacationing. Though I’m retired now, I’m still in that mode of getting excited when June rolls around.

What is your favorite movie?

This is not exactly a movie, but a TV series. I recently finished “Christy” by Catherine Marshall. I ordered the complete TV series and loved it. I’ll probably watch it many times over. The series as well as the book features one adventure after another in the Tennessee Appalachians.

Thanks for giving us a glimmer into your life. 🙂

June is giving away one copy of Ryan’s Father to a lucky commenter.

Drawing Rules: Open to US mailing addresses only. There must be at least ten qualifying comments for the drawing to take place. The drawing ends 5/4/2014. The winner will be contacted by email on 5/5/14 and have until 5/11/2014 to respond or forfeit–no new winner will be chosen. Void where prohibited by law.

IMG_8530-001-1June Foster is a retired teacher with a BA in Education and a MA in counseling. June has written four novels for Desert Breeze Publishing. The Bellewood Series, Give Us This Day – February 1, 2012, As We Forgive – September 1, 2012, and Deliver Us – April 1, 2013, and Hometown Fourth of July – July 1, 2012. June’s book, Ryan’s Father, is available from WhiteFire Publishing January 2014. Red and the Wolf will be available April 2014. For All Eternity and Misty Hollow, God willing, will be published in the near future. June loves to write stories about characters who overcome the issues in their lives by the power of God and His Word. June uses her training in counseling and her Christian beliefs in creating characters who find freedom to live godly lives. 

7 thoughts on “Ryan’s Father and Giveaway

  1. June Foster

    Kimberly, thanks so much for allowing me to share with your readers my novel Ryan’s Father. I pray that the winner will be blessed with Ryan’s story and any others who would like to read it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

