The Quaker and the Rebel

Mary Ellis low res full
This week Mary Ellis is here to share with us about The Quaker and the Rebel. Please tell us about your book.

Though Caleb Beachy tried the Englisch world for some years, he is a Plain man at heart. But when he decides to return to the Amish lifestyle, he discovers there’s more to embracing his faith and reconnecting with the community than merely driving a horse and buggy and giving up his Levis. Josie Yoder was just a girl when he left. All grown up now, she gives Caleb hope for the future and reminds him that while his faith may have wavered, God never left his side. But will past mistakes end up destroying their fledgling romance before it really has a chance to begin? Delight in the story of a wounded heart finding joy, health, and healing in God’s infinite grace.
Do you have a favorite scene?

I have an amusing scene when Caleb’s friends from the city come to the farm for a visit. They ask questions and make comments appropriate for those clueless about rural life. Cal’s father, the Amish bishop, just doesn’t know what to do with them as he struggles to be polite.

How long did it take you to write this book?

It took me around 6 months from story conceptualization to outlining, writing, editing, proof-reading and then turning it in to my publisher. That does not include minor changes suggested by my editor or marketing. I usually work a year total on each book, but of course books overlap.
Quaker and the Rebel, The(1)What do you hope readers will take away from The Quaker and the Rebel?

I hope you don’t consider this a spoiler, but I hope readers take away that self-forgiveness must also accompany asking God and those we’ve wronged for forgiveness. We must let go of personal shame once we’ve done everything we can to make things right.

What is your favorite movie?

My goodness, that is a hard question because I’m a movie-person. I try to see two or three movies per month. Offhand, I would have to say Fried Green Tomatoes, based on the novel Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café. I loved the dual story (present day/fifty years ago) taking place, with a very satisfying tie-up at the end. I have watched this old movie not less than a dozen times.

Please share a favorite childhood memory.

My favorite childhood involves playing in the waves the first time my parents took me to the beach. I thought the ocean was simply magnificent and honestly, I still do!!

What is next for you?

My next release is book 2 of the Civil War heroines series, The Lady and the Officer. It will release in August from Harvest House Publishers. It involves a romantic triangle, espionage and intrigue, and plenty of action. I love visiting the sites in Pennsylvania and Virginia to do my research.

Thanks for sharing, Mary!

If you would like a chance to win a copy of The Quaker and the Rebel please leave a comment.

Drawing Rules: You must have a USA mailing address to be entered. There must be at least ten qualifying comments for the drawing to take place. The drawing ends 4/13/2014. The winner will be contacted by email on 4/1414 and have until 4/20/2014 to respond or forfeit–no new winner will be chosen. Void where prohibited by law.

Mary Ellis has written twelve bestselling novels set in the Amish community. Before “retiring” to write full-time, Mary taught school and worked as a sales rep for Hershey Chocolate. Living in Harmony, book one of her last series won the 2012 Lime Award for Excellence in Amish Fiction. Love Comes to Paradise won the 2013 Lime Award. She is currently working on a three-book series of historical romances set during the Civil War for Harvest House Publishers. The Quaker and the Rebel released in January. Her current release is A Plain Man. She can be found on the web at:

www.maryellis.net or http://www.maryeellis.wordpress.com/

https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Mary-Ellis/126995058236

5 thoughts on “The Quaker and the Rebel

  1. Lane Hill House

    We need at least seven more comments after ours to be selected ~ patience, lol.
    I like your comment about self-forgiveness ~ some say, “I can’t forgive myself.” True, only God can, but when we ask forgiveness, He does. Giving ourselves grace He has given us brings us out the other side with such peace. My grandson and I needed to make amends two Christmases ago. As the Lord prodded my heart, I said, “I need to ask your forgiveness.”
    “For what?” God wants specifics! So healing.
    I would like to win this book ~ Kathleen ~ Lane Hill House
    lanehillhouse[at]centurylink[dot]net

    Reply
  2. Kelly Blackwell

    I loved this. Especially about the need for self forgiveness. I have truly no real problem with forgiving someone else even after being assaulted, but forgiving myself for my past mistakes not so simple. God has forgiving me, I need to do the same. Otherwise I allow the devil to hold me hostage and simply not grow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

