Legacy & Love

LegacyandLove_ebook2 copy This week author Paula Mowery is here to share with us about her book Legacy & Love. Welcome, Paula. Please tell us about your book.

Legacy and Love is my first solo romance. This book includes two contemporary romance stories linked by the godly influence of a grandmother. Inheritance’s heroine is Alex who is at a point in her life when we might characterize her as “down on her luck.” After meeting the alluring Chase Carson, the two have a little mystery to solve. The Prayer Shawl features Hope, a pediatric nurse. When she meets Sean Holland, there are sparks, but the thought of being in a relationship with an unbeliever doesn’t set well. The two give in to convenience when the loss of something dear is at stake.
 What inspired you to right this particular story?

Let me start my answer with a question: Do you have a grandmother who influenced you in a godly manner? Do you find her words return to your mind even though she may already be in heaven? If you understand what it is like to have a godly legacy handed down to you from a strong grandmother, then you can begin to understand the background for these two stories. The grandmothers in the stories are already in heaven, but they influence the lives of their granddaughters. Over the last several years this idea has weighed heavily on my mind: leaving a godly legacy for those who will come behind me. This must be an intentional choice to live and encourage following Christ. That is a lot of what influenced the underlying theme of Legacy and Love.
 Please describe the setting where you write? Also, do you need silence or noise in the background?

I am so fortunate to have my writing hole. That’s what my hubby and daughter call it. In a back room, away from the flow of the house, I have an L-shaped desk. Surrounding my work place I have pictures and quotes to inspire me. I prefer to have this quiet place to get totally lost in my writing and editing.
How many books have you written?

I have published four books, but I have written over 20 other manuscripts. There were 15 manuscripts in a file under my desk when I first submitted to a publisher.

Do you write in more than one genre?

My first two books were considered women’s fiction. The first one released in 2012 and is called The Blessing Seer. Through the encouragement of my editor, a sequel came out in 2013 called Be The Blessing.
What is next for you?

I am working on a romance tentatively entitled A Lamp unto Her Feet. The main character, Kenzie, experiences an adventure proving that God’s Word will guide. I hope to complete and submit this manuscript for consideration with one of my publishers this year.
 Do you have a favorite character in your book and why?

My favorite character in Legacy and Love has to come from the story, Inheritance. Even though Granny Olivia has already gone on to Glory, she is seen throughout. She was an independent eccentric who loved and served the Lord. She wore wild and colorful Hawaiian shirts and created adventure for her granddaughter without ever leaving her living room. I hope I’m like that!

What is your favorite snack?

My favorite power snack when I’m writing is a small bowl of Cheese-its, Peanut Butter M&M’s and a Diet Dr. Pepper. How’s that for interesting combo? Not very healthy but I love the combination of salt and sweet.

Thank you for this opportunity to share about me and my writing, specifically about my new release, Legacy and Love.

To be entered for a chance to win an E-copy of Legacy & Love please leave a comment.

Drawing Rules: There must be at least ten qualifying comments for the drawing to take place. The drawing ends 4/6/2014. The winner will be contacted by email on 4/7/14 and have until 4/13/2014 to respond or forfeit–no new winner will be chosen. Void where prohibited by law.
Blurbs for Legacy and Love

The Prayer Shawl

Sean Holland is a magazine reporter always looking for the next story. Hope Weaver is a pediatric nurse who shares Christ through making prayer shawls. The shawls are just the touchy-feely story Sean needs, even though he’ll have to endure Hope’s strong Christian beliefs to get it. An unexpected connection brings them together as a couple. But, can they find love if they don’t share their faith?

Inheritance

Alex Lyndon’s life has been a series of fits and starts with no finishes. She finds herself jobless and divorced. Now her only family, Granny Olivia, is critically ill.

Chase Carson had to step into running the family business when his father died. The time is past due to visit Miss Olivia.

Alex and Chase must go on a treasure hunt. Will each find purpose and love for their lives in the process?

GradBeach2013 181

5 thoughts on “Legacy & Love

  1. Melanie Backus

    Thank you for a great interview and sharing about this beautiful book.

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

