Singing Praises Even When it’s Tough

flower photo from Eddie MelsonDo you get excited about something you are looking forward to, only to have that something snatched away from you?

Unfortunately, that happens to me too often.

Before you judge me, let me preface what I’m about to say. I love my boys, but every mom looks forward to a break now and then. I had great plans for this Spring Break since both of my teens are off doing their own thing out of state–a first for me. But I ended up sick, and now I am struggling to simply stay awake much less enjoy my empty nest week. I had such great plans. I was going to write all day, cook fabulous dinners that my boys wouldn’t like, and go out to a movie with my hubby, But instead I spent two hours going to the doctor then waiting at the pharmacy for a prescription. I cough all night, so I’m not sleeping, and I don’t dare go to the movies since I’ll probably cough through the whole thing.

I am not sharing this to have a gripe fest, but rather to encourage you. If you are experiencing disappointment, know that you are not alone. On top of that, the Lord is with us, and if we ask Him, He will give us whatever it is we need to get through our current problem.

I love Psalm 9:1,2. I found myself singing (in my head, since singing out loud was impossible) praises to the Lord as I tried to sleep between fits of coughing.

I could have stewed over my misfortune, but instead I sang praises to the Lord and it really helped. I encourage you to look up Psalm 9:2,1 in your favorite version and when things don’t go as you hoped and you are disappointed or angry you too will choose to sing praises and the act of worship will help you as it did me.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Singing Praises Even When it’s Tough

Leave a Reply

