Death by the Book

BookCoverLg Welcome back Julianna! Please tell us about Death by the Book.

Death by the Book is the sequel to Rules of Murder, the first book in my Drew Farthering mystery series.  Drew is a young Englishman of wealth and privilege who loves mystery novels.  In this book, he and his sweetheart Madeline and his best friend Nick find themselves enmeshed in another string of baffling murders that seem to have no connection to each other except the cryptic notes left at the scene and the antique hatpins securing them to the victims’ bodies.  Plus, just as Drew is trying to convince Madeline to accept his proposal of marriage, her formidable maiden aunt arrives, determined to break them up and whisk Madeline back home to America.  As you can see, Drew has his hands full this time.

This sounds like a fun read. 🙂 What inspired you to right this particular story?

This series was inspired by my love of classic crime novels (Christie, Sayers, Allingham, etc.) and my delight in other books from the 1920s and ’30s, like the Jeeves and Wooster novels.  The Drew Farthering Mysteries each have an individual literary inspiration as well.  For example, Rules of Murder was inspired by Father Knox’s Ten Commandments for mystery writing.  In Death by the Book, though, the inspiration is really a big clue to solving the mystery, so I have to keep that a secret for now.

Interesting. Now everyone will need to read it to figure out the clue. 😉 How many books have you written?

Death by the Book and its sequel Murder at the Mikado (due this summer) are the ninth and tenth books I’ve had traditionally published.  I have a Civil War story I wrote some years ago that need some polish before I find it a home.  I’ve also written a couple of novel-length stories based on well-known literary characters, so needless to say, I can’t publish those.  They were a fun write though.

When did you start writing and when was your first book published?

I started writing episodes to my favorite TV shows when I was a teen, but I didn’t really write original stuff until I was in college and very bored.  I started writing random scenes with original characters and then decided to make them all into a real book.  That became the first book of my medieval trilogy, In Honor Bound, written as DeAnna Julie Dodson.  It was published in 1997.

I’m grinning over your comment about being bored in college. My experience was opposite. I was so busy I thought for sure I was going to lose my mind–I was a Behavioral Science major. 🙂 I don’t think I read a single book for pleasure the entire time I was in college. 

Do you write in more than one genre? 

As mentioned above, I write romantic historical fiction.  My first book, In Honor Bound, was followed by By Love Redeemed and To Grace Surrendered.  They are medieval, but I have ideas for everything up to World War II.  I also write contemporary mystery for the Annie’s Attic mystery series, my favorite was the third of the four I wrote for them, The Diary in the Attic.

Thanks for joining us Julianna, it’s been fun! Julianna has offered to give away a copy of her book. Please leave a comment to be entered.

Rules: You must have a USA mailing address to be entered. There must be at least ten qualifying comments for the drawing to take place. The drawing ends 3/30/2014. The winner will be contacted by email on 3/31/14 and have until 4/6/2014 to respond or forfeit–no new winner will be chosen. The author or their publisher is responsible for sending the book. Void where prohibited by law.

DodsonAJULIANNA DEERING has always been an avid reader and a lover of storytelling, whether on the page, the screen or the stage. This, along with her keen interest in history and her Christian faith, shows in her tales of love, forgiveness and triumph over adversity. A fifth-generation Texan, she makes her home north of Dallas with three spoiled cats and, when not writing, spends her free time quilting, cross stitching and watching NHL hockey. Her new series of Drew Farthering mysteries set in 1930s England debuts with Rules of Murder (Bethany House, Summer 2013) and will be followed by Death by the Book (Bethany House, Spring 2014) and Murder at the Mikado (Bethany House, Summer 2014). She is represented by Wendy Lawton of the Books & Such Literary Agency (www.booksandsuch.biz).

14 thoughts on “Death by the Book

  1. Dawn Janis

    I am so excited about this book. I loved the first one and can’t wait to read the second one. I’d love to be entered in the drawing.

    And Julianna, I’ve read (ages ago) your medieval trilogy. Enjoyed them. 🙂

    Reply
    1. deannadodson

      Hi, Dawn!

      So glad you enjoyed Rules of Murder. We’ll definitely put you in the drawing for Death by the Book.

      Aww, I’m so glad you liked my Chastelayne trilogy, too. Someday I will write more of those.

      Thank you! 😀

      Reply
  2. Pam K.

    I really enjoyed reading Rules of Murder. This is a great new series. I’m looking forward to reading Death by the Book, Murder at the Mikado, and hopefully more books in this series. It would be fun to win Death by the Book; thanks for giving me the opportunity.

    Reply
    1. deannadodson

      Hey, Pam! I’m so happy to hear you liked the first book in the series. I hope to write many more. Thank you!

      Reply
  3. Patty H

    I’m pretty sure I have the first book in this series in my TBR stack! I would love to have a copy of #2. Sounds like a good read.

    Reply
    1. deannadodson

      Hi, Patty!

      I hope you get a chance to read Rules of Murder first. You won’t be at all lost of your read Death by the Book first, but it will add a lot if you start with Book One. 😀

      Reply
  4. Lady DragonKeeper

    Thanks for the chance to win! I haven’t really followed a mystery series since reading Nancy Drew in high school (I jumped over into historicals), but this series sounds neat! Mystery with a bit of romance? =)

    Reply
  5. kellysshining

    This really does sound like a fun mystery read and the main character has THE best name for a period mystery! Julianna, thank you for kindly sharing an interview here. I love to read about how an author’s life has worked. I remember writing alternative endings to my favorite programs when I was a teen. Looks like boredom in college served you well, and us too for that matter. Please keep the books coming!

    Not sure if my email will show so here: KellysShining(at)gmail(dot)com

    Reply
    1. deannadodson

      Hi, Kelly!

      I’m so glad you like Drew’s name. He really just popped into my head, name and all, and told me he would be fun to write about. I took his word for it. 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

