Dark Tide by Susan Sleeman

Dark Tide by Susan Sleeman I’m tickled to have, Susan Sleeman, one of my favorite romantic suspense writers with us this week as she shares with us about the final installment of her Justice Agency series Dark Tide. I’ve read every one in the series and enjoyed them all equally. 🙂 If you haven’t read one yet, don’t worry as each book stands alone.

Please tell us about Dark Tide.

Dark Tide is the final book in the Justice Agency series and features the youngest brother Derrick. His former girlfriend’s brother is murdered but the police won’t believe Gina. Catching a quick glimpse of the evidence her brother had gathered that ultimately got him killed, brings the same killers after her and her baby niece. And Gina’s only hope to stay alive is Derrick. Despite the painful memories with Gina, Derrick won’t fail her and her baby. Yet now, the woman he never stopped loving and the baby he’s come to adore are in a killer’s crosshairs. But can Derrick trap the cold-blooded murderer before he strikes again?

What inspired you to right this particular story?

I’ve always wanted to do a story that included the Coast Guard so I researched the organization and learned of the amazing elite Pacific Area Tactical Law Enforcement Team. They deploy round the world on Navy vessels to curtail drug smuggling and pirating. Of course, Derrick works with his family as a private investigator so he couldn’t be in the Coast Guard so I decided to have the heroine’s brother serve in that capacity. And as they say, the rest was history and the story was born.

Please describe the setting where you write? Also, do you need silence or noise in the background?

I write sitting in a recliner. I have issues with my neck and lower back and the recliner seems to be the best fit for me, because as you know writers sit a lot. I need silence. Utter and complete silence and very little movement around me. We recently had a snowstorm and I can’t tell you how many times I lost my train of thought from seeing the snow falling outside my window. I could’ve closed the curtains but we get snow so rarely and it was too beautiful to hide. Now I’m writing fast and furious to make up for it.

I remember that snow storm well. I actually did close the blinds because the snow made it too bright inside and it was driving my eyes nuts–go figure. lol That being said, I accomplished very little writing those four days since the kids were home and it was too much fun to go outside and play in the snow. 😀

How many books have you written?

I’ve written eighteen books. Wow, I didn’t realize how many until you asked. No wonder I’m always writing. LOL I have three books that will remain in my slush pile, twelve books in print and three completed and turned in to my publishers. I have another seven books under contract in the next two years so I will be a writing fiend.

Congratulations on having a contract in the wings! I hope your contract is for more romantic suspense.
When did you start writing and when was your first book published?

I started writing in 2004 and my first book was published in September 2010.

Do you write in more than one genre?

I write both romantic suspense books and cozy mysteries. I have five mysteries published. Two in the Garden Gate Mystery series and three in a multi-author series called Creative Woman Mysteries.

What is next for you?

My next book to release is in October of this year and it’s a Christmas novella called Special Ops Christmas. It will be published in an anthology with two other authors and the anthology is titled, Holiday Heroes. As I mentioned above I have several more books under contract. These books are in two series. The first is the Agents Under Fire series that features three female FBI agents who work on an elite cyber task force. Web of Deceit, the first book, will release in November of this year. This is a general market series so the books don’t have a spiritual message but are considered clean reads. The other series, a new six book series for Love Inspired Suspense tentatively called Strike Force is about a strategic response team. The team is made up of two hostage negotiators, a bomb expert, a sniper, an EMT, and a team leader. They all live together in an old firehouse that has been remodeled into condos, but they also have a large common area where they gather together. The first book in this series is tentatively titled Christmas Showdown and will release in November of 2014, too.

Wonderful! I can’t wait. 🙂 What do you do for fun?

I love to read, of course, LOL. I also love spending time with my family and my other passion is gardening. We have a lovely three tiered backyard filled with perennials and huge retaining walls made of natural stone. We also grow veggies and we are expanding the veggie garden this year.

If you could have one wish granted what would it be and why?

Oh wow, just one. Ha-ha. I’m ignoring world peace for a selfish wish. I have a chronic illness that has seriously effected by ability to do the things I love and it would be truly amazing to me if I could have my health back. Even for a day. Not that I’m complaining. God has allowed this in my life and as long as he wants me to deal with it, I will. In fact, if I had never gotten sick I would never have started writing so it’s a real blessing in disguise. Still, I would love to live pain free again for at least a day.

What is your favorite snack?

I am a sweet freak. I love, love, love sugar in almost any form. The sweeter the item, the better. However, I like homemade desserts far better than anything you can buy. Ironically, or not, I love to bake, too. Plus, as I tell my children and grandson, home baked goods have love in them so they have to be good!

Thanks for joining us this week and being such a great sport about answering all those questions. I didn’t mean for you to answer all of them, but what a treat that you did! Just so all of you readers know, I give the authors a list of questions to choose from, and Susan graciously answered all of them! Bonus. 🙂

If you would like to be entered into a drawing for a chance to win Dark Tide please leave a comment. There’s no need to post your email since wordpress keeps track of that. Remember you can’t be entered if you don’t comment. 🙂 As of the day I’m putting this interview together we’ve been short a few comments each week for the drawing to take place.

Drawing Rules: You must have a USA mailing address to be entered. There must be at least ten qualifying comments for the drawing to take place. The drawing ends 3/16/2014. The winner will be contacted by email on 3/17/14 and have until 3/23/2014 to respond or forfeit–no new winner will be chosen. Void where prohibited by law.

Susan Sleeman

SUSAN SLEEMAN is a best-selling author of inspirational and clean read romantic suspense books. Her first book, High-Stakes Inheritance was an ECPA bestseller. Award nominations include The Christmas Witness for the Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence and Thread of Suspicion for the 2013 Romantic Times Reviewers Choice Best Book Award. In addition to writing, Susan also hosts the popular website TheSuspenseZone.com. She currently lives in Oregon, but has lived in nine states. Her husband is a realtor and they have two daughters, a son-in-law, and an adorable grandson.

To learn more about Susan stop by any of these locations on the web.

Website           www.SusanSleeman.com

Facebook        www.Facebook.com/SusanSleeemanBooks

Twitter            www.Twitter.com/SusanSleeman

Book Review Site     www.TheSuspenseZone.com

20 thoughts on “Dark Tide by Susan Sleeman

  1. jackielayton

    I always enjoy reading Susan’s books and enjoyed the interview. Thanks for sharing.

    I’d love to be entered in the drawing. Thanks!

    Reply
    1. Kimberly Rose Johnson

      Hi, Susan. I thought I’d replied to this yesterday, but apparently only imagined doing so. 🙂 It’s a treat to have you here. I noticed as of this morning we have enough comments for the drawing! Yay!

      Reply
  2. Vickie McDonough

    Susan, I could copy your description of needing quiet to write and writing in a recliner and paste it in my bio. That’s exactly how I write–in a recliner because of my back and knee issues. I loved the snow we got this winter, but it was a huge distraction. Your new book sounds great!

    Reply
  3. Valri Western

    I’m excited to finish this series, Susan, but sad too! I don’t want to say goodbye to the Justice Family! But, I’m excited that you have more books in the “pipe”! I’m glad that you are a fellow Oregonian so we can chat about the weather and other “pertinent news info” now and then !!

    Reply
  4. Pam K.

    I read one of the other Justice Agency books (I think it was the first one) and enjoyed it very much. Thanks for giving me a chance to win a copy of Dark Tide.

    Reply
  5. Lis K

    I’ve never read a book by Ms. Sleeman but I like romantic suspense so her books sound interesting. Thanks for the giveaway.

    Reply
  6. jennydtipton

    Hi Susan, Sorry that you don’t feel good and have to deal with pain everyday. I’ll keep you in my prayers. I’m grateful you write because I do love to read and suspense and cozies are my favorite. Jenny

    Reply
  7. Kai W.

    I love series. I’m sadden that this is the last book of the Justice Agency series. I hope that there might be a spinoff of this series.

    Reply
  8. Norma Stanforth

    Hi Susan,
    You book “Dark Tide” sounds like a great book. I hope that i win this book. Blessings to you and Kimberly.
    Norma

    Reply
  9. Debra

    Would love to read Dark Tide after reading a glowing review! I love clean suspense. I pray that Susan will get a return to good health.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

