With Autumn’s Return

Sample

Welcome back Amanda. Please tell us about your book.

As someone who needs more than 100,000 words to tell a story, I’m challenged when asked to summarize one, so instead of struggling, I thought I’d share the back cover copy with you.

She’s planning on instant success. What she didn’t plan on was love.

When Elizabeth Harding arrives in Cheyenne to open a medical practice, she is confident that the future is as bright as the warm Wyoming sun. Certain she’ll have a line of patients eager for her services, she soon discovers the town may not welcome a new physician—especially a female one. Even Jason Nordling, the handsome young attorney next door, seems to disapprove of her chosen profession.

When a web of deceit among Cheyenne’s wealthiest residents threatens to catch Elizabeth and Jason in its snare, they must risk working together to save one of Elizabeth’s patients, even if it means falling in love.
What inspired you to write this particular story?

I’ve always been intrigued by women who were pioneers in some way, and being a woman doctor in the nineteenth century certainly qualifies as pioneering.  I also thought it would be fun to send Elizabeth, my heroine, to Wyoming in the 1880s.  Since Wyoming was the first territory to grant women suffrage, she’s certain she’ll be accepted as a physician.  Well … maybe.

What is next for you?

I’m thrilled to tell you that I’m one of four authors whose novellas will be part of Sincerely Yours, Revell’s first novella collection, which is being released in April.  One of the reasons that I’m so excited is that the concept of the book – that four women’s lives were changed by letters they received – was mine.  My story, “One Little Word,” features an heiress who’s on the verge of losing her inheritance and a carousel carver.  The other three authors in the collection are bestselling author Jane Kirkpatrick, Ann Shorey and Laurie Alice Eakes.  I’ve read all four stories and, although I’m undoubtedly prejudiced, I think it’s a great collection.

Congratulations on Sincerely Yours! How exciting. 🙂 Do you write in more than one genre?

Although readers know me as the author of nineteenth century historical romances, a change is coming.  My next trilogy, the Texas Crossroads series, will be set in modern times.  Yes, I’m expanding to contemporary romances.  The first book in the series, At Bluebonnet Lake, will be released in October.  I’m having so much fun writing about a run-down resort inspired by a memorable vacation my husband and I took.  Think about a roof that leaks – where else? – right over the bed and power that goes out just when it’s time to use the hairdryer.  And then there’s cell service, or the absence thereof.  My big city heroine is not happy, but then she meets …  I don’t want to spoil the story, so let’s just say that there’s more to the resort’s handyman than she realizes.

What do you do for fun?

My husband and I are avid travelers, and for us, most of that traveling is by car.  We’ve visited all 50 states, although I have to admit that we didn’t drive to Hawaii.  (I wonder why!)  Recently, we’ve stayed closer to home and have been exploring little known parts of Wyoming for my Wednesday in Wyoming blog post.

Kimberly, thanks so much for inviting me to be your guest today.  I’ve enjoyed our time together!

I was great to have you, Amanda! Thanks for sharing with us. 🙂

Amanda Cabot

From the age of seven, Amanda Cabot dreamed of becoming a published author, but it was only when she set herself the goal of selling a book by her thirtieth birthday that the dream came true.  A former director of Information Technology, Amanda has written everything from technical books and articles for IT professionals to mysteries for teenagers and romances for all ages.  She’s delighted to now be a fulltime writer of Christian historical romances.  Her Texas Dreams trilogy received critical acclaim; Christmas Roses was a CBA bestseller; and a number of her books have been finalists for national awards, including ACFW’s Carol award.

 

www.amandacabot.com

http://amandajoycabot.blogspot.com

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Amanda-Cabot/110238182354449?v=wall

 

5 thoughts on “With Autumn’s Return

  1. Georgianne Barnett

    Amanda, I just loved this series and have all three books! I was sad to finish this last one. Even though you are branching out into contemporary, I hope you will continue to write historicals in the future also. 🙂
    Georgianne Barnett

    Reply
  2. Faithful Acres Books

    I have not had the privilege to read your books yet. I am a lover of Historical Fiction and also hope you will still do historical fiction. Kimberly thank you for sharing Amanda with us.
    Blessings
    Linda Finn

    Reply
  3. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson

    Thanks Kimberly and Amanda, for having this interview. I love Wyoming, having lived at Jackson Hole for six years. One of the best things was being able to see the wonderful Tetons every day. And, seeing their reflection in Jackson lake was just beautiful. I got a large picture of that and mod-podged it on a board. It still hangs on my wall. This was back in the 70s. I loved that we didn’t need an AC in the house or car. That was great. I would love to have your book and the others if and when I can ever afford to buy them. I never even gave a thought to the author when I was seven. Just whether or not I liked a book. Glad your dream came true. God bless both of you. Maxie Anderson

    Reply

Leave a Reply

