Call of the Prairie

I’m thrilled to welcome back, Vickie McDonough. Please tell us about Call of the Prairie.

Call Of The Prairie cover

Call of the Prairie is the second book in my Pioneer Promises series. It’s set mostly in a small Kansas town in 1873. The book’s hero is Josh Harper, who the second of the three Harper brothers, which the series focuses on. Call of the Prairie is a little different in that the heroine suffers from asthma. Here is a description of the book:

Sophie Davenport fears life is passing her by. Her strict, overprotective parents have kept her close to home because of the severe asthma attacks she sometimes endures. She longs to live a normal life and hopes to marry, but that dream seems impossible. When her aunt has a tragic accident and requests someone come to Kansas to help her, no one is available except Sophie. Her father, tied up with business, reluctantly agrees to let her go. Sophie is ecstatic and sees this trip as her one chance to prove to her parents—and herself—that she’s capable of standing on her own. But things in the small town of Windmill are not as her aunt portrayed. And her aunt’s handsome neighbor, guardian of two of the children her aunt cares for while he works, obviously doubts her abilities. Will the Kansas dust, drama, and difficulties prove too much for Sophie? Or will she lose her heart to her neighbor and succumb to the call of the prairie?

Is this the final book in the series?

No, Call of the Prairie is the second book in my Pioneer Promises series. The last book in the series is called Song of the Prairie.

What is next for you?

I turned in Song of the Prairie on Dec. 15th. This week, I’ve been working on the Art Fact Sheets (AFS) for two publishers. AFS’s are used by a publisher’s art department to design the book’s cover. Next, I have to do edits on my Love Inspired Suspense, Rancher Under Fire, which is due out this fall. Next, I need to write a novella for Barbour’s Westward Pioneers collection, which releases in September. After that, I’ll be starting a new series set during the Oklahoma land rush days called Land Rush Dreams.

It sounds like you are very busy! I’d love to have you come back and share with us about the Rancher Under Fire. Since Vickie is my critique partner, I’ve read that book and I must tell you it’s a great read. In fact I haven’t read anything by Vickie that I haven’t enjoyed.

I know that you enjoy antiques. What is it about antiques that attract you?

My interest started, I believe, with several antique pieces I have that were handed down from family members. My favorites are a sixty-year-old quilt that my great-grandmother made and a pair of end tables that are flat on one side and rounded on the other three. The fronts have curly wood decorations and hand-painted flowers. Another reason I like antiques is because I write historical fiction, and I like studying old furniture, dishes, and accessories so that I can make them realistic in my books. The third reason I’m into antiques is that my sister and I have two booths at an antique mall where we sell antique furniture, Pyrex, old pictures and other collectibles.

Is there a certain time period that you like collecting better than others.

No, not really. I don’t collect furniture for my home, mainly because I don’t have room for it. I buy small pieces to put in my booths, but what I really like are quilted wall hangings, especially hand-made one. I have a bunch of them that I decorate my home with, some seasonal ones, and I rotate them each month.

Thanks for sharing with us, Vickie!

Vickie McDonough 3 small  Vickie McDonough grew up wanting to marry a rancher, but instead, she married a computer geek who is scared of horses. She now lives out her dreams in her fictional stories about ranchers, cowboys, lawmen and others living in the western 1800s. Vickie is the award-winning author of 29 published books and novellas. Her books include the fun and feisty Texas Boardinghouse Brides series, and End of the Trail, which was the OWFI 2013 Best Fiction Novel winner. Whispers on the Prairie, which released last July, was chosen by Romantic Times as one of their Recommended Inspirational Books for July.

Vickie is a wife of thirty-eight years, mother of four grown sons, one daughter-in-law, and grandma to a feisty seven-year-old girl. When she’s not writing, Vickie enjoys reading, antiquing, watching movies, and traveling. To learn more about Vickie’s books or to sign up for her newsletter, visit her website: www.vickiemcdonough.com

19 thoughts on “Call of the Prairie

  1. JaniceG

    Thank you for letting readers learn about some more good books

    Wonder why hubby’s afraid of horses? Might make for a good story about a wanna be cowboy who has anxiety about horses. Thinking of Doc Martin and his fear of blood.

    Reply
    1. Vickie McDonough

      Great idea, Janice. I think my husband’s fear of horses is simply because he’s never been around them much. I bought my first one when I was ten and had several others before I got a car and moved on to more girly things.

      Reply
    2. Vickie McDonough

      Janice,

      My guess is that my husband hasn’t been around many horses–and they’re so big. He doesn’t like mice either. When we lived in an old house when our kids were small, I had to kill the mice if we saw one. One of my boys hates bugs. In the summer, he comes bursting in the front door at night because there are bugs hovering around the porch light, which is very close to our door. It’s funny.

      Reply
  2. Emma

    Call of the Prairie sounds wonderful. Please enter me in contest. Thank you for the opportunity to win.I enjoy reading your books.I can’t wait to read it!

    Reply
  3. Karen G

    Sounds like another great book. I read Whispers on the Prairie and really enjoyed it. Can’t wait to get my hands on Call of the Prairie. I have it on my wish list.

    Reply
  4. Bonnie

    SO enjoyed your interview, Vickie, and would love to read “Call of the Prairie” – thanks for the opportunity to win a copy!

    Reply
  5. Josanne

    Enjoyed the review on Vickie McDonough, especially about the love of antiques. I’m planning on checking out her store this week. As to the next book in the Pioneer Series, since I’ve read the first book, I am very much looking forward to reacquainting myself with the Harper boys and family, and getting to know Sophie. Always a good read with McDonough!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

