Rodeo Queen

Rodeo Queen cover

CAITLYN WENTWORTH LOVES BEING A RODEO QUEEN

Until she starts receiving threatening letters from a stalker. The good news is, the Texas Ranger assigned to her case is none other than her former sweetheart Mitch Warren—the man who chose his career over love.

Mitch vows to focus on protecting the woman he’s never forgotten. But Caitlyn stirs up memories best left in the past. When Mitch insists on hiding Caitlyn away on his family’s San Antonio ranch, will he keep things professional or seek out a second chance?

Welcome, Shannon. I love the cover! Please tell us about your book.

From the time I was a teenager, I had this story in my head. I finally wrote it in 1999 – the first book I ever wrote. It was about an interior decorator with a stalker and a private detective who protects her set in rural Arkansas. I’d never been to a writer’s meeting or conference and never taken any writing classes. I didn’t have a clue what I was doing and got fifty-two rejection letters.

When I got the chance to continue my rodeo series, I thought of that first book. I changed the setting to the Fort Worth Stockyards – made my heroine a rodeo queen who owns a blingy western clothing store, and the hero became a Texas Ranger. I didn’t go back and try to fix that original manuscript – it was beyond fixing. I started over and completely rewrote the book using the knowledge gained from countless writer’s meetings, workshops, conferences, and editors.

Way to go on not giving up! What do you enjoy most about writing?

I get to use my overactive imagination in a constructive way and daydream. I’ve always had a problem with my mind wandering unless whatever’s going on really interests me. Since I’m a writer, it’s finally okay for me to daydream.

You and I are exactly alike in this aspect. I wonder if it’s a writer thing? 🙂 Do you have any big plans for the new year–maybe another upcoming release?

My 6th rodeo title releases in April – Rodeo Song. That’s another fun book based on a dream I had several years ago. After that, I have something in the works, but it’s not official yet.

Cool. What are you currently working on?

I’ve had this French guy wandering around in my head for about seven years. I haven’t had time to write his story because of deadlines—a good problem to have. Since I don’t have any deadlines at the moment, I’ve been trying to get his story in the computer. If everything goes according to plan, I’ll have more deadlines soon.

What inspires you to write?

First and foremost, I want to provide nice, clean, uplifting entertainment. I always hope the problems, decisions, and repercussions my characters deal with will help a reader in a similar situation. I always pray my books will draw readers closer to God or introduce them to Him.

My stalker idea came to life because I watched lots of detective shows as a teenager – Starsky & Hutch, Vegas, Baretta. Do you watch detective shows? If so, what’s your favorite classic or current show?

Shannon is giving away one copy of Rodeo Queen. To be entered you must answer the question that she asks above.

Rules: There must be at least ten qualifying comments. Ends January 5th, 2014. Open to U.S. address only. Void where prohibited by law.

Shannon Taylor Vannatter Headshot - red

Central Arkansas author, Shannon Taylor Vannatter is a stay-at-home mom/pastor’s wife. She lives in a town with a population of around 100, if you count a few cows. Vannatter won the Inspirational Readers Choice Award in the short contemporary category, The 18th Annual Heartsong Awards 3rd Favorite New Author and #1 Contemporary Award.

Her books are available at christianbook.com, barnesandnoble.com, amazon.com, harlequin.com, and barbourbooks.com. Learn more about Shannon and her books at http://shannonvannatter.com and check out her real life romance blog at http://shannonvannatter.com/blog/. Connect with her on Facebook: facebook.com/shannontaylorvannatter, Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/stvannatter/, and Twitter: @stvauthor

21 thoughts on “Rodeo Queen

    1. Shannon Taylor Vannatter

      So sorry, I’m late. I’ve had computer issues today.
      I never got to watch Sue Thomas, but from what I’ve heard it sounds like something I’d have liked. We live in a very rural area with no cable. It was on a channel we didn’t get. In recent years, we finally gave in and got a satellite.

      Reply
  1. Sharon Timmer

    I always liked Starsky & Hutch when it was on! Unfortunately most of the detective shows that are on niw are just too graphic for me 😦

    Reply
  2. Carol E Fuoss

    I LOVED the series Columbo starring Peter Falk. He used his ability to act dumb and disorganized to stump and fool those he ended up arresting. I also liked the Remington Steele thrillers that starred Pierce Brosnan and Stephanie Zembalist. They had a chemistry that was refreshing!

    Reply
    1. Kimberly Rose Johnson Post author

      Carol, just recently I watched the original episode of Remington Steele. Until then I had no idea how he came to be Remington. 🙂 I watched the series as a child, but I think the series had been on for a while before I was allowed to watch it.

      Reply
  3. sonja1971

    I really haven’t watched too many detective stories recently. As a child I was enthralled by them. I remember watching Perry Mason resolve all his cases and reading books like Nancy Drew. But wouldn’t mind starting up again!

    Reply
    1. Kimberly Rose Johnson Post author

      Sonja, I liked Perry Mason so much that when I was in the hospital in labor with my oldest, I had it on. It was actually comforting to hear the familiar voices since I watched it everyday on my lunch break. I loved the theme song. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

