The Quaker and the Rebel

Quaker and the Rebel, The Welcome, Mary! Thanks for coming back and sharing with us again. Please tell us about The Quaker and the Rebel.

What happens when an Underground Railroad conductor falls in love with a man loyal to the Confederacy? Emily Harrison’s life has turned upside down. At the beginning of the Civil War, she bravely attempts to continue her parents’ work in the Underground Railroad until their Ohio farm is sold in foreclosure. Now alone and without a home, she accepts a position as a governess with a doctor’s family in slave-holding Virginia. Though it’s dangerous, she decides to continue her rescue efforts from there. Alexander Hunt, the doctor’s handsome nephew, does not deny a growing attraction to his uncle’s newest employee. But he cannot take tiThis is book one of a new series of historical romances, the Civil War Heroines series. In each story my Northern heroine must come to terms with her faith during the trials of war. She discovers there are no simple answers to complex problems created by men.me to pursue Emily, for Alexander isn’t what he seems—rich, spoiled, and indolent. He has a secret identity. He is the elusive Gray Wraith, a fearless man who fights the war from the shadows, stealing Union supplies and diverting them to the Southern cause. The path before Alexander and Emily is complicated. The war brings betrayal, entrapment, and danger. Amid their growing feelings for each other, can they trust God with the challenges they face to provide them with a bright future?
This sounds good! Is this book part of a new series, or a stand alone?
This is book one of a new series of historical romances, the Civil War Heroines series. In each story my Northern heroine must come to terms with her faith during the trials of war. She discovers there are no simple answers to complex problems created by men.
Has there been any particular book that was easier to write than the rest? If so, do you know why?
I guess my two novellas, and not just because they’re shorter. Sarah’s Christmas Miracle was easy to write since it’s based on real-life people at the bed-and-breakfast where I stay while in Amish Country. And Always in my Heart from An Amish Miracle was easy to write because my husband and I were spending a month on an island off the coast of Georgia at the time. Although it was chilly November, walking the beach every morning was inspirational! I returned to our condo eager to write!
How will you be spending Christmas this year?
It’s still up in the air. But since we traveled to see family for Thanksgiving, we’ll probably be home alone. We’ll attend church on the eve, wake up and open gifts Christmas morning, and then eat an entire stuffed turkey just the two of us!! Ya gotta do, what ya gotta do….
Sounds good to me. 🙂 Thanks for spending the week of Christmas with us Mary. I hope you have a wonderful holiday!
Mary is giving away one print copy of The Quaker and the Rebel. If you would like to be entered to win please answer the following question. Do you remember your grandparents talking about the Civil War when you were a child? If so, did they slant the story in one direction or the other?
Rules: There must be at least ten qualifying comments for the drawing to take place. Drawing ends December 29, 2013. The winner will be notified on December 30th. Open to U.S. address only. Void where prohibited by law.
Mary Ellis low res full

Mary Ellis has written ten bestselling novels set in the Amish community. Before “retiring” to write full-time, Mary taught school and worked as a sales rep for Hershey Chocolate. Living in Harmony, book one of her current series won the 2012 Lime Award for Excellence in Amish Fiction. An Amish Miracle, a collection of novellas will release in December from Harper Collins. She is currently working on a three-book historical romance series set during the Civil War. The Quaker and the Rebel releases January 1st from Harvest House. She can be found on the web at:

 www.maryellis.netor https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Mary-Ellis/126995058236

14 thoughts on “The Quaker and the Rebel

  1. karenk

    No, I don’t remember my grandparents mentioning the Civil War. Thanks for the chance to read this wonderful novel. Merry Christmas.

    Reply
  2. Cheri Swalwell

    I had the privilege to be an advanced reader for Mary. If you choose to read this book, you will definitely be blessed. She takes the wonderful gifts she has of weaving a great storyline interspersed with whispers of spiritual truth all while changing the setting to the Civil War era…nailing it spot on. A story that lingers long after the final page is turned.

    Reply
  3. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson

    Hello Kimberly and Mary, first I’d like to ask a question. How can the winner be announced on
    Dec. 23rd, if it doesn’t end until Dec. 29th? Just wondering. I never heard my grandparents but know that my Dad’s grandfather was in the Civil War and is buried in the small Texas town where I grew up. I have seen his grave. I would be happy to win Mary’s book. I know it will be interesting. Sure hope we get 10 comments. Have tried before. Hoping I will get lucky this time. Thanks! Maxie mac262(at)me(dot)com “Merry Christmas” to you both. GOD bless!

    Reply
    1. Kimberly Rose Johnson Post author

      Good catch on the date, Maxie! I fixed it. 🙂 You can share the post on Twitter or Facebook and encourage your friends to enter, then hopefully we’ll get the required 10 comments.
      Merry Christmas and thanks for the catch.
      Kimberly

      Reply
  4. Kelly Blackwell

    My grand parents didn’t talk about the Civil War other than when I was reading “Gone With The Wind” as a preteen. I think if they were quite a bit older or if we lived in the South or the North it may have come up. Thank you for the interview and giveaway. Looks like an interesting read.
    Merry Christmas!

    KellysShining(at)gmail(dot)com

    Reply
  5. Pam K.

    I don’t recall my grandparents ever mentioning The Civil War. If any of my ancestors fought in the war, they are quite distant ones. This sounds like a great book. Thanks for the chance to win The Quaker and the Rebel.

    Reply
  6. Katie Johnson

    No, I don’t think I ever heard of my grandparents talking about the Civil War.

    I’d love to read The Quaker And The Rebel. Thank you.

    johnsonk133[at]yahoo[dot]com

    Reply
  7. Ladette Kerr

    No, my grandparents never talked about the civil war. If they had, I’m sure they would have slanted it in favor of the South. 😉 Looks like a great book!

    ladettek{at]gmail[dot]com

    Reply
  8. michelle

    I really don’t remember my grandparents talking about their opion on the civil war. My parents always had me read books but it was never really discussed. Now I love any and all Civil War history.

    Reply
  9. Merry

    No my grandparents didnt talk about the civil war. But when I was cleaning out my grandmas house I found a photo album and it had a picture of a relative who apparently was in the war. Just as I was about to ask her about it, she gave the album away to one of my cousins. Sadly I dont see that cousin anymore and my grandma has passed away so I will never know the true story. I am sure it would have been a good one to hear!

    Reply
  10. Beth C

    I have not heard my grandparents ever talk about the Civil War. However, this time period interests me and I love to read books about it.
    pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

    Reply

Leave a Reply

