A Christmas Promise

AChristmasPromise_med Welcome, Tamera! I’m pleased to have you here this week to share with us about A Christmas Promise. Please tell us about your story.

Thanks for having me, Kimberly. A Christmas Promise is a Christmas story set in 1773. During colonial times, John and Anna settle in an Ohio village to become Moravian missionaries to the Lenape. When John is called away to help at another settlement two days before Christmas, he promises he’ll be back by Christmas Day. When he doesn’t show up, Anna works hard to not fear the worst while she provides her children with a traditional Moravian Christmas. Through it all, she discovers a Christmas promise that will give her the peace she craves.

Schoenbrunn School

A while back I gave my blog readers a chance to submit questions they would like authors to answer. Since I work a couple of months ahead, you are the first to get one of these questions.:) What captivates your imagination to enter into the world by which your creating?

I find most of my stories in American history. I’ve always loved history, and when I read about events that happened, I wonder what it was like for the people living in those times. That’s why I write historicals. There are so many great adventures in American history.

Do you find yourself passionately addicted to research to entertain a finely stitched back-story and setting, or would you rather write by instinct?

I think I do both. I’m a stickler for research. I want my stories to be as historically accurate as possible. After the research is done, the instinct takes over.

What is next for you?

I’m currently co-writing a novel about a young widow who starts a sewing shop in a small town right after World War II. What she doesn’t know is a group of Communist sleeper agents have infiltrated her home town to carry out their nefarious plans. I’m also writing a novel about a married couple in 1920 who battle to survive a tornado and save their marriage.

Please tell us one thing about you that may surprise us.

Most people are surprised to know that I took ballet and tap lessons for twenty years. I love dance.

That’s cool, Tamera! I took ballet for six years. You must really love to dance. 🙂 Thanks for being here this week, and for offering to do a giveaway. Is there a question you would like the readers to answer in order to be entered into the giveaway?

The Moravians in my novella had a number of Christmas traditions. What is a tradition your family observes every Christmas?

Rules: There must be at least ten qualifying comments for the drawing to take place. The drawing ends Sunday December 22nd, and the winner will be contacted on the 23rd. Void where prohibited by law. Open to U.S. addresses only.

Christmas Blog Hop Check out Tamera’s Christmas blog hop via her website. I’m visiting her site today. 🙂

Web1TAMERA LYNN KRAFT has always loved adventures and writes Christian historical fiction set in America because there are so many adventures in American history. She is married to the love of her life, has two grown children, and lives in Akron, Ohio.

6 thoughts on “A Christmas Promise

  1. Pingback: Christmas Blog Hop’s Final Week (12/16 – 12/21) | Word Sharpeners

  2. JaniceG

    I tried to leave a comment earlier. Forgive if I am posting twice. Would love to win this book. Please enter me.

    Blessings,
    Janice jsmithg(at)hotmail(dot)com

    Reply
  3. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson

    This is a very interesting topic. Our tradition is to gather at one or other kid’s home for Christmas Dinner, open gifts, and just enjoy the company of each other. I get so much enjoyment from just watching and listening to my children, grandchildren, and greats. I really forward to this day, when I finally get to see most of my family. And, we always remember that JJesus is the Reason for The Season that we celebrate. I would love to win this book. Thanks1
    Maxie mac262(at)me(dot)com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

