On A Summers Night

SummerNightCoverLargeWelcome, Diane. Please tell us about On A summer Night.

In my contemporary romance/suspense, ON A SUMMER NIGHT, it starts out in 1966 with two eighteen year old girls on a senior trip to Florida, to stay at one of the girl’s uncle’s winter home. They come in contact with something that at that time period, and probably still is, more popular in the south. They went through an experience they had to turn over to the Lord, and pray hard about forgetting. My main character, Kate, could never really give the experience from the summer night completely to the Lord. Like many of us, she kept taking it back. The story jumps to present day after a few chapters. Her hubby and she leave for Florida when he takes an early retirement; Kate’s uncle leaves her the Florida home, where memories haunt Kate and through a hard lesson she has to learn to let go. There are a number of twists and turns and we go to Montana and back to Michigan before the story comes full circle.

Letting go is a tough thing to do. This sounds like an interesting story. What is next for you?

I’ve just completed a present day suspense/romance that takes place in rural Georgia. It follows one of my characters from my new release, but stands alone. THIS SIDE OF HEAVEN shows events in the lives of people who petition God; wonder when He will answer, but realize nothing will be perfect on earth. It’s a story of love, murder, suspense and redemption. I had a lot of fun writing this and enjoyed my characters a lot.

Please describe your writing space. Do you prefer to write in quiet, or do you like noise like music in the background?

We live in a high-rise and over look the Gulf of Mexico. I have a corner in our room where although the television resides, it doesn’t come on until evening, and after checking early morning events. I write to easy listening, instrumental music in the background and rise early, by six each morning. I write for a few hours, and spend afternoons on FB or answering emails, proofing, and then critique chapters with my partners in the evening. I’d love to go to fun places and with a lap top write my book, but I can’t even imagine doing that; I need more quiet and I get ideas from my imagination, not watching others. I’ve had a lifetime to do that. 🙂

What is your favorite genera to read and what is the most recent book your read that you’d recommend in this genera?

I enjoy historical fiction as well as contemporary. I usually don’t have time to read a book while I’m doing a promotional and fine tuning another one. Deborah Raney is a favorite author and I look forward to reading her new release, SILVER BELLS. I also have a zillion books on ebook and often pick out one for an hour or so, and try to zip through it, when time permits.

lol I hear you about the zillion books on ebook. I’m am way behind on my to-be-read list! Thanks so much for sharing with us, Diane.

If you would like a change to win a copy of On A Summer Night you must answer the following question. What is your favorite Christmas carol or song, and what special memory does it hold for you?

Rules: There must be at least 10 qualifying comments for the drawing to take place. The drawing will close Sunday November 17th. I will notify the winner 11/18/2013. Drawing is open to US addresses only. Void where prohibited by law.

GreenHatDianeJP

Diane started her writing career at an early age when she asked for a typewriter for Christmas. She pounded the keys writing poetry and short stories in grade school on an old black Royal manual. Grateful when she took a summer typing class a few years later, she could type on an electric typewriter. It wasn’t until her husband’s work took them to a southern town she wrote her first column, “Yankee Viewpoint’s” for a local newspaper, covering hard news and feature stories in the area. Returning to their home-state of Michigan, she did stringer work, ancestral history, and donor appeal letters for non-profit organizations; while doing her favorite job ever, as a stay-at-home Mom. She is the author of Beach Walks and Carolina in the Morning. Diane was a columnist for a weekly magazine, for four years, and her stories have appeared in a number of magazines and books. She is the author of over three-hundred short stories. Her book, newly released, On a Summer Night, is a story of suspense and romance. She and hubby, Stephen, have been married for forty-one years, and they are the parents of three grown children and three grand-gals. Diane thanks the Lord daily for her loving husband, three great kids and for giving her the desires of her heart.

Visit Diane on her website at www.DianeDeanWhite.com

Her blog page at http://simplepleasureswithdiane.weebly.com/

Her ministry, Seeds of Encouragement, for hurting people. http://www.dianedeanwhite.com/seedsofencouragement.html

https://www.facebook.com/diane.d.white.75?ref=tn_tnmn

 Diane’s book is available at all online booksellers, as well as Amazon, below:

 On a Summer Night: Diane Dean White: 9781936746682: Amazon.com: Books

 

 

36 thoughts on “On A Summers Night

  1. Melanie Backus

    I love White Christmas. What kid or adult doesn’t want it to snow on Christmas? Since I am from Texas, we rarely get a white Christmas.

    Reply
    1. Diane Dean White

      Oh, Melanie. You’ve never had snow at Christmas? I haven’t had many until
      recent years without it. And it is beautiful….parts of Texas get snow don’t they?
      Maybe you can take a trip and check out the colder areas. “White Christmas” is
      a special song to me, too. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Jink Willis

    My favorite memory is listening to my grandmother, Miss Cora, playing COME ALL YE FAITHFUL, O HOLY NIGHT on piano at church service with choppy arthritic fingers. Kids, we laughed then; now, the memory makes me smile…

    Reply
  3. Susieq

    I love the song, “Do you hear what I hear/”. It reminds me of the different people that God touched that night and how everyone is connected. Also that I need to be still and hear His voice.

    Reply
    1. Diane Dean White

      Susieq, we all need to learn to be still and listen, and yes, that song is wonderful.
      So many of those hymns were sung years ago when I was growing up, not just in our church, but on television programs back then. Andy Williams always had a Christmas special and so many others did, too….it was a different time. Thank you for your comment! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson

    This is a hard one to just pick when I love so many for so long. One of my favorites added to my list is Mary Did You Know. It is beautiful, but would have to say Away in a Manger for it’s the first one I remember learning. And, still just as special. The true meaning of Christmas.
    I would love to win this book. It sounds really good. Thanks! MAXIE

    Reply
    1. Diane Dean White

      Maxie, I love “Mary, Did You Know,” too. It’s become more popular since the first time I heard it. I think “Away in a Manger” will always be special, and I can understand it being one of the first songs we learn, it’s often used by very young children in Christmas concerts. Thank you for sharing your favorites with us. 🙂

      Reply
  5. Kathy Baker

    The Littlest Angel! I heard it first about 10 years ago and was stunned. It brings tears each time I play it…why did it never become popular? After all it’s by Bing Crosby! I burned it to a CD and play it constantly during the holidays…and have introduced it to many friends. Each of them has been amazed as well. Look it up, listen and have tissues at the ready. It will become a favorite by you as well.

    Reply
    1. Diane Dean White

      Kathy, yes, I googled “The Littlest Angel.” The song is beautiful….and old!
      I listened to The McGuire Sisters sing it, and that’s going back a while. What a
      nice recording….and it does make you reach for a tissue! Thanks for
      sharing, it’s a new one to me, and lovely. 🙂

      Reply
  6. writingthrugrace

    One of the most favorite songs of the season for me is “Christmas Shoes.” The holidays are always a bit sad for me and I remember one day I was doing some holiday shopping, not really enjoying it. “Christmas Shoes” played on over the intercom. Listening to that song made me realize there’s always a silver lining in our situations, if we look close enough for it. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Diane Dean White

      I hope your Christmas is special this year, and cling to realization that many people are much worse off…I know it can be a hard time for a lot of folks, too. I thought I remembered “The Christmas Shoes” and listened to that one, too. It’s a sweet movie and beautiful song. I recall it because Kimberly Williams-Paisley played the Mother…and that little guy is so cute. Seems like they do a fast forward near the end and he’s visiting the grave and meets the guy who gave him the $$ for the shoes years before? Between all these songs I’m using my tissues!! Thanks for sharing about this one, too. 🙂

      Reply
  7. Lane Hill House

    Silent Night.
    When I was 12 years old, I was to carry the baby Jesus to the altar but… my father didn’t drive there to take me.
    As an adult, my husband and I visited the church one afternoon while we were visiting friends nearby. Such a short church that looked longer when I was younger. In the quiet of the afternoon with the sunlight streaming through the windows His glory was all around. A Silent Afternoon with His presence.
    Kathleen ~ Lane Hill House

    Reply
    1. Diane Dean White

      Kathleen, that’s such a sweet memory. Those little parts mean so much to a youngster, and the song associated with it. I’m glad you were able to return to the church. Things seem so much larger when we are young. Thank you for sharing your heart~ 🙂

      Reply
  8. Kathlene

    I’m going to have to say, I’ll have a Blue Christmas (without you…) by Elvis is the one I identify with this year more than others. As the Seasons of my life change so does the favorite song.

    Reply
    1. Diane Dean White

      Awe, Kathlene. I know some years can be very difficult. True about the Seasons of life and they are replaced with different songs and feelings. Hold tight to Christ, His Season and love will never change. God bless and watch over you and yours~ 🙂

      Reply
  9. Kimberly Rose Johnson

    HI everyone, Kimberly here. There is no need to post your email. I get it when you post. In an attempt to protect those of you who posted your emails in a separate comment, I deleted it, but don’t worry. I have it and if you win, I will contact you. 🙂

    Reply
  10. Martha J. Sturm

    The Christmas song with the best memory for me is O Holy Night. I remember distinctly the Christmas Eve when my sister played piano, my mother sang second soprano, one sister-in-law alto, and one soprano. It was beautiful. Those kind of memories are special since my mom died 8 years ago Christmas Eve.

    Reply
    1. Diane Dean White

      Sounds like a musical family, Martha! I think the gathering of loved ones with a special song that you all enjoyed is a very special memory. I’m so sorry about your loss and at Christmas. But I know your dad would be proud of the memories you hold dear. Have a blessed Christmas celebration with your loved ones, and thank you for sharing this. 🙂

      Reply
  11. Diane Dean White

    Thank you all for taking the time to share your favorite Christmas song on
    Kimberly’s blog. I’d like to invite you to my Christmas book launch coming
    soon on Facebook. The Twelve Days of Christmas will give you a chance to
    win a gift by answering questions about my book. You’ll have twelve days
    to enter. Read up! Merry Christmas! 🙂

    Kimberly tells me Norma Downing is our winner today. Congratulations, Norma!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

