The Christmas Promise

As the regular readers know Mondays are reserved for Author interviews. Today, I’m doing something I’ve never done before, interviewing myself, but the format will be slightly different. My debut novel The Christmas Promise officially releases on eBook Nov 1st and in print November 5th. This week is your chance to win a copy of my book. Keep reading to find out how. To start with here is a short blurb about my debut release.

Christmas Promise CoverDR. PETE HARDING DOESN’T DATE SINGLE MOMS

No matter how lovely Keira Noble’s smile, or how adorable her four-year-old son. He’s been down that road before and knows it can lead to a broken heart. But that doesn’t mean he can’t help the pretty widow find a puppy to put under the Christmas tree for her son….

Pete claims he only wants to help her find the perfect gift for Cody. Yet Keira can’t deny the tender feelings in his eyes whenever he looks at her. Could this handsome Scrooge have a change of heart, and create a new family for Christmas?

Over the past several months I’ve responded to many interview questions from other bloggers and one question I don’t recall answering is what it was like to get the phone call telling me about  my contract offer.

It was late June or early July of 2012 and I was in the middle of teaching a piano lesson. I didn’t make it a habit of answering the phone when I was teaching, but this call was from my agent. She only calls with good news, so I had to answer since I’d been waiting to hear back about my Heartsong Presents submission. 😀

I was thrilled of course, but I was subdued because my student was sitting beside me. I had to play it cool, but on the inside I was doing a happy dance. I had worked for six years to get to that point. LOL it was probably a good thing I had a student sitting there, or Tamela, my agent, may have heard a squeal of excitement.

Anther thing I haven’t shared with any other bloggers is how special the writing of this book was to me. The entire time I wrote I felt different about this one (Yes, I’ve written several manuscripts, but this is the first one contracted). It was like I was waiting to exhale the entire time I wrote. I had a sense of expectancy. I knew this book was special.

Back in September I gave you the opportunity to participate in this interview. Only one person took me up on the offer. Here is Judy B’s question.

Have you always wanted to be a writer? When did you know this was your calling?

Actually, no. However, I enjoyed creative writing in school and could never understand why everyone around me was struggling to come up with a story while I whipped one out–maybe that should have clued me in. 🙂 But I was much too lazy to have typed out a book on a typewriter or word processor. Just thinking about all the drafts I write makes me cringe at the thought of being a writer before computers became a part of our daily routine. So no, it never crossed my mind.

As far as it being a calling, I believe God gave me a story and a passion to write about ten years ago. It then took me another two years to write a short manuscript, and I haven’t stopped writing since. Thanks for the questions, Judy!

This question came from Blogger Delia Latham. I liked it so I included it here. What is your favorite scene from this book? Why that scene?
I think my favorite scene is the one where Pete and Keira first meet. I love reading that scene because I know what’s to come and it puts a smile on my face.

The Christmas Promise is the first book in a series of three. The second book is titled A Romance Rekindled. Here’s a short blurb.

CPA SUSAN HILL thought she’d never find true love, especially after her fiancé dumped her just weeks before their wedding. She’s content being auntie to her two nephews and also her best friends son. But now that BLAKE MITCHELL has come back to town her heart betrays her. She resists his charm and good looks, but there’s only so much a girl can handle.


Blake never told Susan the real reason he’d called off their wedding and left town in a rush, but now that he is back the truth must come out. What will she think of his expanded family? But most importantly will she be able to forgive him for leaving her six years ago?

If you would like a chance to win a copy of The Christmas Promise please answer the following question.

What is your favorite Christmas tradition or holiday memory? Or you may ask me a question and I’ll try to answer.:)

If you’d like to find out more about me or my writing please visit my website at http://kimberlyrjohnson.com/ or simply click the Home button at the top of this page. There is a sign up for my very infrequent news letter on my website if you’re interested.

Rules: There must be at least 10 qualifying comments for the drawing to take place. The drawing is only open to U.S. mailing addresses. I will contact the winner on Nov. 11th. You will have until Nov. 17th to respond or forfeit the book. No alternate winner will be drawn. Void where prohibited by law.

If you are interested in buying a copy of The Christmas Promise it is available at all the major online book sellers. Here are a couple links.

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=The+Christmas+Promise%2C+Johnson&rh=i%3Aaps%2Ck%3AThe+Christmas+Promisec+Johnson

http://www.christianbook.com/the-christmas-promise-kimberly-johnson/9780373486830/pd/486830?product_redirect=1&Ntt=486830&item_code=&Ntk=keywords&event=ESRCP

Text and cover art copyright below. Text Copyright © 2013 by Kimberly Rose Johnson Cover Art Copyright © 2013 by Harlequin Enterprises Limited Permission to reproduce text granted by Harlequin Books S.A. Cover art used by arrangement with Harlequin Enterprises Limited. All rights reserved. ® and ™ are trademarks owned by Harlequin Enterprises Limited or its affiliated companies, used under license.

22 thoughts on “The Christmas Promise

  1. Joyful Reader

    I am relatively new around these parts but I love reading your posts! Now I find that you are a bonafide writer! LOL! Whether I win this copy or not I will be adding it to my list! Let’s see, my favorites holiday tradition would have to be the holiday meal. I love preparing it for my extended family. Everything I make I make special for SOMEONE in the bunch with love! But I would also like to ask you a question…
    I love to write my thoughts but I don’t know that I have enough “knowledge” to write a book. How did you come up with your idea for your book and does it resemble anything that you have ever read before? I am afraid that anything I write would be too much like everything I have ever read!
    Thanks for the opportunity and I HOPE there are more than 10 entries! Have a blessed day!

    Reply
    1. Kimberly Rose Johnson Post author

      Hi, Joyful reader. I always appreciate your encouraging comments. 🙂
      I love that each food item you make is made with certain someone in mind. What a neat tradition.
      Regarding your question. I came up with the idea for The Christmas Promise by thinking about location first, then my main characters. Once those things were decided the rest of the story fell into place. I have a naturally creative mind and story lines just come to me. It helps to have people to bounce my ideas off of too. 😀
      They say there are only so many story lines, but each writers tells the story with their own twist and voice. For example, the story of a widow finding love has been done a million times, but each persons story of how they found love is unique.
      You mentioned not having enough knowledge to write a book. My answer to that is learn what you need to learn and go for it. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Barbara Thompson

    My favorite Christmas tradition is before we open presents, my brother reads the Christmas Story from the Bible. Then we pray and each one tells something they are thankful for or a blessing that was given to them this year. What’s amazing is the how the children become so involved in the tradition. I pray it always stays the same. Thank you for the chance of this giveaway.

    Reply
  3. Sonja

    My favorite Christmas tradition from my childhood days was one that happened on Christmas Eve. Being German immigrants to America, my family maintained all German traditions, of which there are many, including some we “made up” in our own family. My family would open presents on Christmas Eve. My mom would prepare the gifts, the Christmas dinner and make sure everything was just perfect, including “REAL” candles on the tree. Honestly, we had real candles for years as I grew up until a neighbor noticed and “chastised” my parents saying we would burn down the house! Well, while mom was doing all the preparations, my dad would always taking me sledding down the hill around the corner of my block. As a child I thought that was the steepest hill ever. I have to tell you that I walked those same streets in July at a town sesquicentennial and that was a very small hill. It’s amazing how we remember things! Anyway, my dad and I did that together for as many years as I can remember. I will never forget that time we spent together!

    Reply
  4. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson

    Hi Kimberly. My best Christmas had been the first year that I had my own family.I had a almost i year old baby girl and was such fun watching her have her first Christmas. I was 17 at that time. A very special Christmas was when my second daughter was born on Christmas day. My real live baby doll. We allllways celebrate her birthday on Christmas a little after doing the Christmas gifts. All of our family gathers at one home or the other on this special day. I would love to win a print copy of your book. Thanks for this give-away.
    Maxie mac262(at)me(dot0com

    Reply
  5. Melanie Backus

    Christmas is a wonderful time of the year. Families come together and it is a very joyous, happy time. We are all truly blessed!

    Reply
  6. Jackie Smith

    Christmas is a time for families to be together and share His love!
    Your book sounds fantastic, and I am looking forward to reading it…..thanks for the giveaway
    and blessings on your writing!
    jacsmi75 [at]gmail [dot] com

    Reply
  7. KayM

    Kimberly, I enjoyed your interview. I love the way you found yourself as a writer and author. Isn’t it wonderful how God gets our attention and then points us on His way? It was fun reading about how you got the call for your first contract. How exciting! Thank you for offering a copy of The Christmas Promise. It sounds like a great story.
    may_dayzee(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Reply
  8. Mary Ann Young Robinson

    You are a new writer to me. I saw you on the ACFW Page and am interested in your new Christmas book! If you enjoyed writing it that much, I am sure it will be great! I always looked forward to my mother putting our small manger scene out on the hearth. She always let us pick up each piece and talk about it. We were respectful and careful with it, but my mother never acted like we were too likely to break it. I appreciated that. We as children were always cherished and I remember Christmas focusing mostly on Christ, although we did give and receive gifts. I am an unpublished writer so far, but still working on finishing something good. Will you enter me in your contest, please?

    Reply
    1. Kimberly Rose Johnson Post author

      Hi, Mary Ann. Thanks for stopping by and commenting! I hope you get a chance to read The Christmas Promise. 🙂
      Setting up the manger is a big tradition in my house too. I think my youngest son enjoys it the most and no matter what insists it gets put out the day we put up our tree. 😀 We are all allergic to real trees, so we put the artificial one up just after Thanksgiving.

      Reply
  9. Janet Estridge

    My favorite Christmas memory is waking up and finding a brand new bicycle under the tree. Little did I know how much my parents had to sacrifice to buy the bicycle.
    Thanks for entering me in the giveaway.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

