Made to Last

New_Made to Last2

I’ve read Made to Last and really enjoyed it, so I’m especially thrilled to welcome Melissa Tagg this week.Please tell everyone about Made to Last.

Made to Last is a romantic comedy about figuring out who we are underneath the trappings of success—or lack thereof—and in the process finding a faith and love that’s made to last. Here’s the back cover blurb:

Miranda Woodruff has it all. At least, that’s how it looks when she’s starring in her homebuilding television show, From the Ground Up. So when her network begins to talk about making cuts, she’ll do anything to boost ratings and save her show–even if it means pretending to be married to a man who’s definitely not the fiancé who ran out on her three years ago.
When a handsome reporter starts shadowing Miranda’s every move, all his digging into her personal life brings him a little too close to the truth–and to her. Can the girl whose entire identity is wrapped up in her on-screen persona finally find the nerve to set the record straight? And if she does, will the life she’s built come crashing down just as she’s found a love to last?

I see in your bio that you are a former reporter, did an event in your “former life” inspire this story?

Yep, I’m a former newspaper reporter—loved that job. I’m convinced there’s no better job for an aspiring writer. I had sooo many fun and random experiences. There’s actually a reporter in my story, so I’m sure that was influenced by my former job. However, unlike my character, I never did break into a zoo in pursuit of a story…

What do you hope readers will take away from this story?

Some good laughs and maybe a happy sigh or two at the romance. 🙂 But on a deeper level, my characters struggle with basing their identity and worth in the wrong things. One finds her worth in her career. The other sees only his mistakes when he looks at himself. They both have to discover where their true identity is found.

I think all of us, at some point or another, have struggled with finding our worth in our achievements or careers or relationships. A lot of times, it’s when those things are stripped away that we discover who we really are—loved and cherished by an amazing God. I hope readers take that away, maybe even look at their own lives, think about what they’re basing their identities on.

Do you have another book in the works?

I’m currently finishing up the rewrites for my second book, Here to Stay, which comes out in May 2014. This story features one of my faaavorite (and many readers’ favorite) characters from Made to Last—Blake “Blaze” Hunziker. He’s a total goofball in Made to Last, but in Here to Stay we get to see a little more of his serious side. (Though, don’t worry…he’s still loads of fun in my humble and oh-so-unbiased opinion!)

What is one thing that would surprise people about you?

Hmm, I think some people might be surprised by the fact that originally, I never really wanted to write romance. I had a somewhat skewed version of romance books (assumed they were all half-dressed Rambos on the cover and damsels in distress inside)…but I attended a My Book Therapy retreat during which Susan May Warren asked us about our favorite movies. And I realized all my favorites were these classic and witty romantic comedies starring Katherine Hepburn and Cary Grant. And so I wrote my first rom-com scene at that retreat…and new I’d found my niche.

Also…I’ve never mowed a lawn.

Thanks, Melissa. If you would like to enter for a chance to win a copy of Made to Love please answer the same question I asked Melissa per her request. 😀

What is one thing that would surprise people about YOU?

Rules: There must be at least 10 qualifying entries for the drawing to take place. You must have a U.S. address to win. The winner will be contacted on Oct. 28th and will then have until Nov. 3rd, 2013 to respond or forfeit the book. No alternate winner will be chosen. Void where prohibited by law.

Tagg6

Melissa Tagg is a former newspaper reporter and total Iowa girl. Her first novel, Made to Last, releases from Bethany House in September 2013. In addition to her homeless ministry day job, Melissa is also the marketing/events coordinator for My BookTherapy. Melissa blogs regularly and loves connecting with readers at www.melissatagg.com.

12 thoughts on “Made to Last

  1. melissajagears

    I love mowing the lawn, some of the best thinking (and plotting) time came during that monotonous chore….but I’ve been banned since my hubby has had to unbend too many blades at our new house because of my “racecar tendencies.” Sigh. But you should try it, great thinking time!

    Reply
    1. Melissa Tagg

      Haha, I think my dad never trusted me to mow when I was a kid…haha. But I can definitely see how it’d be relaxing. I actually really love lawn work…probably because living where I do now, I don’t actually have to DO any lawn work…so anytime I go home to my mom and dad’s, I love helping out. Last year my dad let me use his leaf blower…I think I had a little too much fun with that. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Amanda Arrowood

    That I am a kid at heart I am so serious at work. I feel that sometimes I have to be to serious at work and can not have fun.

    Reply
    1. Melissa Tagg

      I like your answer, Amanda. One of my favorite things is when I get a chance to get to know someone beyond how they first appeared…I can think of a couple people off the top of my head who I assumed were pretty serious, like what you describe being at work. But then once I got to know them a little better, I got to see the fun-loving side… 🙂

      Reply
  3. Barbara Thompson

    I’m not as an outgoing person as people think I am. In public, I’m very outgoing, but at home I’m a quiet , don’t say much person. I have read the reviews on this book and I would love to read it. Book sounds wonderful. Enjoyed the interview. Thank you for the chance of this giveaway.

    Reply
  4. sonja1971

    I think it’s great that you think the reader should have some good laughs after reading your book. I can’t think of any better way to read a book! Need more “HAPPY”.

    Reply
  5. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson

    I use to go hunting every season while in Wyoming and hunted Elk, Deer, Antelope, and rabbits. Also Blue Grouse. Even Bears once. This meat from my husband and I kept our freezer full for the year. I even hunted once when it was 40degrees below Zero. Yes, I know it was crazy, but was dressed for it. Hunted a little in KS. but was older and too much work. Another is that as crazy as it sounds I could never ride a bike. I tried believe, but could never guide it in a straight line , when had no trouble driving a car. So, gave up. I would love to win this book. Thanks for the chance. MAXIE mac262(at)me(dot)com

    Reply
  6. Lane Hill House

    I cannot think of one thing that would surprise people about me! Maybe skate backwards? I know it surprised me and it was easy! Kathleen ~ Lane Hill House
    lanehillhouse[at]centurylink[dot]net

    Reply
  7. Gwen

    I would love to win a copy of “Made to Last”! Have heard lost of good things about this one. 🙂 Great interview, ladies! Okay, most surprising thing…I was refused entry into China on the possibility that I might be a spy. No joke.

    gwen[dot]gage[at]gmail[dot]com

    Reply
  8. Merry

    I love to go fishing. When we went on a family fishing trip I caught the most bass! My dad taught me to fish and he always called me his fishing buddy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

