Pioneer Christmas

Pioneer Christmas coverI’m excited to welcome Vickie McDonough. I discovered Vickie when I read her Texas Boarding House Bride series and have been a fan ever since. Please tell us about Pioneer Christmas.

Pioneer Christmas is a novella collection from 9 best-selling, award-winning authors, including Lauraine Snelling and Margaret Brownley. It’s the story of pioneers who live in unusual homes, such as a dugout, cave, and a tipi, who strive to survive in harsh weather or circumstances during the Christmas season.

Oh my goodness! I didn’t realize this is where your novella was published. FYI, Vickie is one of my critique partners, and I think this was the first project I of hers that I critiqued. It’s a great story! Who came up with the concept for this collection?

The series originated with Becky Germany, fiction editor at Barbour.

What Inspired your contribution?

My novella is titled Buckskin Bride. I searched for a unique type of home my heroine could live in, to fit the requirements of the collection, and decided on a tipi. With a home that was portable, it made sense that my heroine’s family was nomadic. I envisioned my heroine as more of a tomboy type who preferred buckskin to calico, and Maddie was birthed. I also wanted to set the story in Oklahoma, shortly after the first land rush.

What is the take-away from Buckskin Bride?

Maddie and her sisters endure tough times when their father doesn’t return from a hunting trip. They have to use their wits and skills to survive, but they also learn to trust others. The main take away is that no matter how tough things seem, God is always there to help you walk through them—if you’ll only call on him.

I really like that you added that we need to ask Him for help. 🙂 What are you currently working on?

I’m working on Song of the Prairie, which is the third and final book in my Pioneer Promises series from Whitaker House. The series is about the three Harper brothers who run a stage stop in rural Kansas in the 1870s. The first book is the series, Whispers on the Prairie, released in July and was a Romantic Times Recommended Read. Book 2, Call of the Prairie, releases in January.

Ah yes, another great series! Don’t miss out on this one–I believe I critiqued Call of the Prairie in this series and it’s another must read. Sorry for gushing, but when I really like someones writing I can’t help myself. J Now for a fun question. What is your idea of the perfect day?

That’s a tough question. Hmm…I think a perfect day would be hopping in the car with my husband and garage sailing for antiques and collectibles for my booth at an antique mall. Between stops, I’m sipping a Coke and reading a book. No cooking or laundry. Just having a nice time.

Thanks for sharing with us Vickie and for offering to give away a copy signed by all the authors to one lucky commenter. Please leave a comment for Vickie if you’d like to be entered into the giveaway.

Rules: There must be at least 10 qualifying comments for the drawing to take place. The drawing is open to U.S. addresses only. I will contact the winner Monday Oct. 21st and the winner will than have until Oct. 27th to reply or forfeit the book. No other winner will be drawn. Void where prohibited by law.

Vickie McDonough 3 small To learn more about Vickie and her books you can visit her website at www.vickiemcdonough.com

63 thoughts on “Pioneer Christmas

    1. Paula Osborne

      I love to read stories like this and to have 9 authors, fantastic, thanks for the interview and sharing the book. I want to be in this drawing..I am over from FB today
      Paula O

      Reply
  1. Karen G.

    Would love to win and read this book. I love Christmas books and 9 stories in one book!! Thank you for the chance to win a copy.
    kmgervais(at)nycap(dot)rr(dot)com

    Reply
  2. Barbara Thompson

    Vickie, your books are great. Would love to win. Enjoyed the interview. Thank you for the chance of this giveaway.
    barbmaci61(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Reply
  3. Martha J. Sturm

    I have read Whispers On the Prairie. Will keep up with all of your new books.
    I am partial to pioneer stories, maybe because of my mother’s interest in them. She talked about living off the land, and the things her family did to make it through the tough times.

    Reply
    1. Vickie McDonough

      Oh wow, it must have been interesting hearing her stories. My grandma on Dad’s side of the family was born in 1876. Hard to believe but true. I would have love to pick her brain about her life but she died way before I ever thought about writing.

      Reply
  4. Katie Edgar

    This sounds like a great novella along with several others with it too! I love historical fiction and the pace life went at compared to our constantly “connected” life now. I certainly enjoy a lot of our modern conveniences, but love reading these types of stories. A tipi would be hot in the summer and cold in the winter, I would imagine! 😉 Thanks for the uplifting messages and fun stories you deliver!

    Reply
  5. KayM

    Vickie, I love your idea of a perfect day. My husband and I spent many wonderful times looking for antiques and collectibles to put in our booth. Happy days! I would love to win a copy of Pioneer Christmas. It’s almost time for me to begin reading Christmas books. I’ll wait until after Halloween, though.
    may_dayzee(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Reply
  6. June Horne

    Now I am ready for the perfect day to be spent reading your new book! Thank you for the awesome giveaway. I really enjoy reading historical fiction with a Christmas message.

    Reply
  7. Sara Johns

    I just love novellas! They’re perfect for a on the go grab for spending a week in the mountains! Vicki I love your idea of a perfect day, especially the Coke, I’m addicted to those things! Thanks for letting us get to know you some!

    Reply
  8. Jess

    Toss my name in your hat, Vickie. Your story sounds great! I’m cold just thinking about winter in a tipi. How much research did you do? I can’t imagine what it would take to survive such as this.

    Reply
  9. Sandy Kelley

    I read the first couple of Vickie’s books and loved them. Have been looking for a good book to read and would love to win this one.

    Reply
  10. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson

    Hi Vickie. Glad you were asked to visit on Weekly Musings. Now my friend, how nice would that be to have your sweet husband go to Antique sales, then read while you were in the car? Poor man, no one to even chat with. LOL I would like to be able to visit your booth in your Antique Mall. I love visiting these malls. My dear friend from 1961 had a booth in two different Malls for years. We used to go to yard sales. She was always looking for antiques for her Booth. Her health got too bad to tend them and had to quit. I tried renting just one shelf and it was fun, but didn’t sell enough to pay my rent, so really no money for my work. 😮 ( Was a good experience tho. Would love to win this book. Thanks Kimberly and Vickie and GOD bless both of you. Maxie mac262(at)me(dot)com

    Reply
    1. Vickie McDonough

      My husband is pretty good about antique shopping, so long as I don’t ask him to do it too often. Going to garage sales is another thing. He doesn’t like them for some reason, and I don’t take him because I stop, shop, and move on to the next one. He likes to move at puttering speed.

      Reply
  11. Merry

    Maddie sounds like a spunky heroine. Please add me to the drawing for Buckskin Bride, thanks!
    worthy2bpraised at gmail dot com

    Reply
  12. Janet Estridge

    Thanks for giving me the opportunity to win this book. If I don’t win I’m going to buy this book for my church library.

    Reply
  13. Kay from NY

    I read your book Whispers on the Prairie and really enjoyed it. Looking forward to reading Call of the Prairie when it comes out. I also have Pioneer Christmas on my wish list but it would be nice if I could win a copy. Thank you for the chance.
    msbookwormlady(at)aol(dot)com

    Reply
    1. fictionfan1

      Thanks for reading Whispers, Kay. I’m doing the final edits on Call of the Prairie and also writing Song of the Prairie. Book 2 comes out in January. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

