My $1.00 meal cost me $89.00

Have you ever had one of those moments in life when you wish for a rewind? If only I’d . . . That’s how one of my meals went this past weekend. If only I’d transferred that microwave meal onto a plate, if only I’d sat at the table, if only I’d had the tuna I’d planned I wouldn’t have marinara sauce splattered across my family room’s beige carpeted floor.

I pounded those spots for two hours trying to get them out. They faded, but they’re still there. Then I called in the pros. Now $89.00 later the stains are faded but not gone.

For my $89.00 lesson and stiff hand I got nothing, but a lesson learned, At that price I thought I must be able to come up with a devotional that relates. 🙂

To be honest I’ve struggled this week trying to find a truth to tie this into, that is until this morning. I’m reminded of Jesus’ death and resurrection. He died and rose again so that I could have life. He cleansed me from my sin. Unlike my carpet, my soul, along with everyone else who has received Christ as their savor and confessed their sins is clean–white as snow–completely forgiven. There is no left over residue, or sorry, that stain isn’t coming out. And guess what? It’s free! No cost–zero.

I know this is something we usually talk about during Easter time, but today I’m reminded of the Lord’s free gift. If you haven’t received that gift and would like to, check out the book of John in the bible. If you don’t have a bible there are many places online to view one for free. Just run a search.

John 3:16 & 17 is probably one of the most quoted passages in the bible, and there is a good reason for that. I encourage anyone not familiar with it to check it out.

Feel free to send me an email if you have questions via my website contact button, or leave a comment.

4 thoughts on “My $1.00 meal cost me $89.00

  1. Judy B

    I loved this post! It is a reminder that the Lord washes us white as snow. Not even a itty bitty stain left over if we truly ask forgiveness when we sin.

    Blessings!
    Judy B

    Reply

Leave a Reply

