Serenity to Accept

StACover

Welcome back, Elizabeth. I love the color combo in your cover. Please tell us about your most recent release Serenity to Accept.

Serenity to Accept is book 3 in the Grant Us Grace series and it tells the story of Jason Garcia, an ER doctor and Karin Reid a NICU nurse. We see other characters from the previous two books as well, but I think the story stands alone well enough if you haven’t read the first two. The story centers around the attraction Jason and Karin have for one another and how acting on that attraction conflicts with their beliefs. Jason is a believer, Karin is not and is fairly negative about Christianity overall.

Here’s the blurb:

Is there an exception to every rule?

Karin Reid has never had much use for God. There’s been too much pain in her life for her to accept that God is anything other than, at best, disinterested or, at worst, sadistic. Until she meets Jason Garcia.

After his own mistakes of the past, Jason is committed to dating only Christians. He decides to bend his rule for Karin, as long as she comes to church with him.

As their friendship grows, both will have to decide if they’ll accept the path God has for them, even if it means losing each other.

What made you want to write Serenity to Accept?

When I was working on Courage to Change, I introduced Karin, Phil’s sister, with the intention of her being a very minor character. I had no idea that she’d turn into a relatively major part of that story, but she did. And as I was writing, I realized she needed her own chance in the limelight. I wasn’t completely sure who would end up being the right guy for her, but we meet Jason very briefly (like maybe for one page) in Courage to Change as well. As I thought about the third book, I realized he had some potential as a hero. I’m not a plotter, so I started with just the vague notion that these two were going to have some issues with their differences in beliefs – and that’s something that I think we all deal with at some point in our life (even if it’s just a friendship and not a romantic relationship) – how do you navigate a close relationship with someone who doesn’t share your beliefs? And how attached to that person can you let yourself get?

I believe you are correct. We all have to deal with this in one way or another. What are you currently working on?

I’m in the process of writing some novellas for minor characters that have cropped up in the Grant Us Grace books. I’m going to self-publish them (the plan is for one each month in October, November, and December) at the end of the year. After that I’ll be starting a new series about two sisters (more women’s fiction than romance.)

Excellent! When I was at the Oregon Christian Writers conference an editor with Harvest House suggested a similar idea to what you are doing. It makes me wonder if featuring minor characters in novellas will become the next big thing.:)

If you read this blog weekly you’ll discover my questions hit a rut. LOL However, I still think we all want to know these things. So, please tell us something about yourself that would surprise us.

I really enjoy playing Skylanders (an Xbox game) with my oldest son.

Thanks! Elizabeth has offered to give away a copy of Serenity to Accept. To be entered into the drawing you must answer the following question.

What are your thoughts on being involved in a relationship (romantic or platonic) with a non-believer?

Rules: There must be at least ten qualifying comments for the drawing to take place. The winner will be notified on Sept. 23, 2013 and will have until Sept 29th to respond or forfeit the book. No other winner will be drawn. This drawing is open to U.S. addresses only. Void where prohibited by law.

ElizabethMaddreyHeadshot

Elizabeth Maddrey began writing stories as soon as she could form the letters properly and has never looked back. Though her practical nature and love of math and organization steered her into computer science for college and graduate school, she has always had one or more stories in progress to occupy her free time. When she isn’t writing, Elizabeth is a voracious consumer of books and has mastered the art of reading while undertaking just about any other activity. Her debut novel, Wisdom to Know, Book 1 of the Grant Us Grace Series, was released in January, 2013. Courage to Change (April, 2013) is the second in that series and continues the story of characters from the first book. She is also the co-author of A is for Airstrip: A Missionary’s Jungle Adventure, a children’s book based on the work of a Wycliffe missionary.

Elizabeth lives in the suburbs of Washington D.C. with her husband and their two incredibly active little boys. She invites you to interact with her at her website www.ElizabethMaddrey.com or on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ElizabethMaddrey

5 thoughts on “Serenity to Accept

  1. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson

    Thanks ladies for this interview. The Bible does say we should marry another believer. I think it makes it more likely to have a successful marriage. Of course, there are times that the other spouse does become a believer in Christ later, but you have no way of telling this will happen. I do believe that most people don’t follow this and go with their emotions. Also, it is so common now for sex before marriage and living together without marriage, that I’ve heard it said by advisors, that then they are not always making a right decision because of their sexual, emotional feelings. This makes me think this is true. I would like to win your book. Please put me in for the give-away. MAXIE mac262(at)me(dot)com

    Reply
  2. Bonnie

    I have been married to an unbeliever – the marriage didn’t work out, although I wasn’t following the Lord’s plans for my life when I married – I am now, & would never, again, marry an unbeliever. I believe marriages are much happier, & more stable, when two believers marry, worship together, & set the example for their children to do the same.

    Thanks for the giveaway opportunity!

    bonnieroof60(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Reply
  3. Brittany McEuen

    I think it would be extremely hard to be a believer married to an unbeliever because your marriage couldn’t be based on God. Your spouse would also most likely think you were weak for your beliefs and that would bring their opinion of you down. Just all kinds of problems! Thanks for the chance to win.
    Brittany McEuen
    kbmceuen(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Reply
  4. Elizabeth Maddrey

    Bonnie – I’m sorry your marriage didn’t work out! I have seen Jesus heal marriages where one partner is saved and the other is not, but it’s so hard for everyone involved. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts!

    Brittany – Those are great points – and yeah, definitely lots of problems down the road most likely. Thanks for coming by!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

