Peace Abounds

DSCN1391

Two years ago my mom and I took the Amtrak Leavenworth WA and had to switch trains in Seattle. We had a couple hours between trains so we checked our luggage and headed out on foot to explore the city. I don’t live in a huge city, so Seattle is bit of a culture shock. But in the midst of that huge city we came upon this tiny park nestled into one corner of a block hidden from direct view with a wall on the bottom half and if memory serves privacy type strips on top. We went inside and there were small tables with chairs, a few benches and a walking path that meandered through foliage and under a waterfall–pictured above. It was an oasis in the middle of the hustle and bustle.

The serenity this little park provided was exactly what my over-taxed senses needed. Whoever thought of, and made that park has my gratitude. šŸ™‚ This park gave me a temporary peace, but the Lord has a lasting peace that I crave daily.

Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid. John 14:27 KJV

This is one of my favorite verses in the bible. I went searching for it the other day in the NIV and couldn’t find it. I realize now it’s because I had it memorized in the KJV. šŸ™‚

I’m going to claim the Lord’s peace on my life and enjoy those sweet moments when I come upon an oasis tucked into places where I least expect them.

Leave a Reply

