Awakened Love

AwakenedLove cover

Welcome back, Laura. Please tell us about Awakened Love.

Katie Detweiler grew up Amish, never knowing she was adopted as an infant. Now an adult, her new job as cook at an Amish bed and breakfast doesn’t bring about the euphoria she hoped for. Just as she’s getting her menu perfected, the Englisch family and severely ill sister she never knew existed enter her life and strain her Amish relationships. Plus, Katie suddenly has two different men vying for her attention–one Amish, one Englisch–and she wonders if one of them could be the man of her dreams. But when her Englisch sister’s health worsens, Katie must find a way to balance her heart, her job, and her faith while risking her own life for the sister she never knew.

Do you have a favorite scene? Feel free to five us a teaser.

He pulled in a long breath. “I uh, saw him kiss you. On the cheek.”

She twisted a little to look up at him. “Tyler called it a ‘good night’ kiss. It’s an Englisch thing, kissing strangers, ain’t so? Nein Amish bu would do it, unless they were courting.”

I’m thinking a courting couple’s kiss would look a bit different.” He sounded amused. Or maybe strangled.

Thanks for that little teaser. What are you currently working on?

The first book in the Amish of Jamesport series, releasing in April 2014.

Wonderful. I’m sure your fans are looking forward to this new series. πŸ™‚ Please tell us one thing about yourself that may surprise us.

I tend to humanize object/non-talking things.

πŸ™‚ I wonder how many others do that as well. I realize my dog isn’t an object, but I’m constantly talking to her as if she’ll talk back. LOL Thanks for sharing with us again and for doing a giveaway. If you would like to be entered into the drawing please answer the following question.

What is your favorite season and why?

35839_1469192045700_1110551537_1419357_4095333_n

Award winning author, Laura Hilton, her husband, Steve, and their five children make their home in Horseshoe Bend, Arkansas. She is a pastor’s wife, a stay-at-home mom and home-schools three of her children. Her two oldest children are homeschool graduates and are in college. Laura is also a breast cancer survivor.

Her publishing credits include three books in the Amish of Seymour series from Whitaker House: Patchwork Dreams, A Harvest of Hearts, and Promised to Another. And the Amish of Webster County series, Healing Love. Surrendered Love releases April 2013, and the third book will release September 2013. A non-Amish book The Appalachian Ballad Quilt will release November 2014 from Abingdon Press. Laura is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers. Laura is a professional book reviewer for the Christian market, with over a thousand book reviews published at various online review sites.

Drawing rules: There must be at least ten qualifying responses. You must have a U.S. mailing address. I will notify the winner on Sept. 16, 2013. You will have until Sept. 22, 2013 to respond or forfeit the book. No new winner will be drawn. Void where prohibited by law.

43 thoughts on “Awakened Love

  1. mary ellen ashenfelder

    My favorite season is the Fall. Love the cooler temps, the beautiful foliage, festivals, pumpkin pie, apple cider — love it all.

    Reply
  2. Lisa Stifler

    My favorite time of the year is Fall. I love the months of September through November. I love to decorate during this season with the bounty of nature. I also love to bake during this time of the year, apple pie, many pumpkin recipes and with the cooler temperatures apple cider is always a favorite in our house. November is the month to be thankful and an time to share with those less fortunate. God has truly blessed us with a most wonderful time of the year during these months. I love to ride around and look at all color of the leaves changing on the trees and the clean crisp smell of the air is breath taking. I hope that others enjoy this time of year as much as I do. Blessings to all.

    Reply
  3. Brittany McEuen

    My favorite season is definitely fall. It gets so hot here in TX. Unfortunately, we don’t usually get beautiful colors on our trees. Some years we do. It is nice when the weather finally turns crisp. Thanks for the chance to win this book.

    Reply
  4. Jan Hall

    Spring because I don’t handle cold very well at all. It is also the time of new beginnings and time to start thinking about the garden and everything turning green again.

    Reply
  5. Barbara Thompson

    I love fall because of the cooler temperatures and the changing colors of the leaves in the trees. Of course, living in Louisiana we don’t have a very long time period of the fall season. Love Laura’s books. Great Author. Please enter my name in the giveaway. Thank you!
    barbmaci61(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Reply
  6. Cheryl Baranski

    I love the cooler temperatures, the changing leaves and curling up with a good book and my sweet tea! Also love getting together with family and friends.

    Reply
  7. Lorraine Alexander

    I think I’d have to say it’s a toss up between Spring & Fall……Spring is a season of rebirth…..beautiful flowers start showing their colors again, trees come back to life……Fall also has beautiful colors & I love the cooler temps.

    Reply
  8. Karen Gervais

    I like cooler weather so it’s a tie between Spring and Fall. Hate winter when it is freezing cold, windy and snowy. Our log home is getting old and it is drafty especially when it’s very windy. I don’t like driving in snow even though I have 4 wheel drive. Summer I can handle when it is hot but I still complain about it!

    Reply
  9. Katie J.

    My favorite is fall, I love the fall festivals. I would say I love the cooler temperatures but really in Florida the temperatures are still warm during the fall season. I also enjoy all the fall decorations.

    Reply
  10. Trisha M

    Fall is my favorite season. I start thinking of soups and stews I can make with warm crusty breads, going to the pumpkin patch, picking apples, going for walks in the woods as the trees drop their multi-colored leaves. Gorgeous!

    Reply
  11. sonja1971

    Summer! Love to take some vacation with the grandkids, discovering historical sites and having new adventures, such as visiting Amish country. I love showing them different cultures, countries, and states. But the best part is becoming a part of their lives!

    Reply
  12. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson

    Laura, I would have to say fall. It is so extremely hot here in the Houston area of Texas in the summers, and our Spring doesn’t last very long before having hot days. Fall is better for it still takes awhile to cool down but our winters aren’t as cold as other places I’ve lived, so we have some hot but more cool with Fall and then Winter. Even in winter, you might have AC on all day and heater at night. Crazy! I usually get colder than most anyone else does, but in the last several years I can stand this part of year than the Hot days. In my older age, it almost makes me sick to go out in the hot sun, so decided easier to add several layers in cold weather. I also love the change of leaves in Fall, tho not much here, like was in WY,. OK.,and KS. I would love to win this book of yours. Please add my name and will hope I’m lucky.
    MAXIE mac262(at)me(dot)com

    Reply
  13. Bonnie

    It’s a tie between spring & fall – spring for the wonderful temps, spring flowers, & Easter; fall for the changing leaf colors, ANYTHING pumpkin , hot cocoa, brisk temps, hayrides & bonfires, & Thanksgiving.

    bonnieroof60(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Reply
  14. lib1lady

    Here in the Sunshine State we really have no seasons. We might have a month or two of cold weather but that is it. I love the summertime because I love to go to the beach. Unfortunately I don’t get to go as often as I would like.
    Thanks for entering me in your giveaway.

    Reply
  15. Kay from NY

    Fall because it’s cooler and I love when the trees start changing colors. Time for apples especially Honeycrisp, apple pies, apple cider, apple cider donuts, apple cider donut cupcakes – need I say more?

    Reply
      1. Kay from NY

        Apple cider donuts I just tried them last year from the farm store I go to. As for the apple cider donut cupcakes they are made from a cupcake store (CoccaDots) in my area. The woman who owns and runs the store has been on Cupcake Wars 3 times on the Food Network channel. Her 3rd time is this Saturday night.

  16. Merry

    Summer is my favorite season. I love the hot weather. I love all the summer fruits like fresh peaches, watermelon and cherries. I love iced tea and lemonade. I love watching the lightening bugs at night. We love going to the beach. I love the smell of fresh cut grass and food cooking on the bbq. Although it drives me crazy, I like listening to the ice cream man and his catchy tune.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

