Climbing Heartbreak Hill

ClimbingHeartbreakHill-JoselynVaughn-453x680

Welcome, Joselyn. Please tell us about Climbing Heartbreak Hill.

Professional runner, Ryan Grant, blows out his knee training for another attempt at the Boston marathon and the dreaded Heartbreak Hill. Ryan retreats home, not looking for anything more than a fast recovery, but he finds solace in the arms of his tax preparer, Tara Mansfield.

Tara’s cheerleading career ended abruptly and she faces an upward climb beating the stereotype as dumb blonde in her new calling as an accountant. Framed with defrauding the IRS during the last weeks of the tax season, Tara’s tentative confidence is shaken, but Ryan coaches her in ensnaring the true perpetrator. She cheers him on in discovering his identity as a coach rather than an athlete.

With the help of the junkyard king and a mechanical bull, can Tara and Ryan find the courage to climb Heartbreak Hill together?

A portion of my proceeds from Climbing Heartbreak Hill will be donated to the One Fund Boston to help those injured at the finish line of the 2013 Boston Marathon. https://secure.onefundboston.org/page/contribute/default

This sounds like a great book and something I would enjoy reading. 🙂 Is this a stand alone or part of a series?

It is a part of several related books involving Minnie and the Ladies Night Out in the little town of Carterville. Other related books are CEOs Don’t Cry, Hauntings of the Heart, and Sucker for a Hot Rod.

Great titles! What is next for you?

I have a short story coming out at the beginning of September called Sparking a Change. It’s set during a small town Independence Day celebration. I also have a full length novel in the works involving a canoe race and a multi-level marketing scheme.

Thanks for sharing with us, Joselyn and for offering to give away a copy of your book. If you would like to be entered for a chance to win a copy of Climing Heartbreak Hill you must answer the following question, which I must say is very fun and original. 😀

What is your favorite type of shoes?

Rules: You must have a U.S. address to be included in the drawing. You must answer the question. Ten qualifying comments are required for the drawing to take place. The winner will be notified September 2, 2013. You will have until September 8th to reply or forfeit the copy of the book. No other winner will be drawn. Void where prohibited by law.

vaughn publicity

I live in the Great Lakes state with my husband, three rambunctious children and two barking Beagles (I suppose that is redundant.) When not suffering the woes of potty training three toddler/preschoolers, I enjoy reading, running (sometimes it’s fleeing the craziness at home), reconstructing clothing, thrift store shopping and surfing Pinterest.com. (I spend way too much time there and am getting all kinds of exciting ideas for projects for my husband to do. He is less than thrilled by this.)

I love writing romance because I enjoy stories where everything works out all right in the end and the main characters have a happily ever after. My stories are set in small towns with quirky characters that take on a life of their own.

14 thoughts on “Climbing Heartbreak Hill

  1. JoAnn Durgin

    Hi Joselyn and Kimberly! You had me at Heartbreak Hill, so to speak, since we used to live in Burlington, MA (where my husband was a pastor), just outside of Boston. Your books sound wonderful, Joselyn, and–like Kimberly–I love the titles. I’m thankful Kimberly introduces new-to-me writers. I also love writing (and also reading) romance for the HEA, and particularly enjoy stories with quirky small town (or city) characters. They’re so much fun! In answer to your question, my favorite type of shoes are sandals with a heel (I’m short and like a little lift, but not too much) where my feet can breathe. Of course, I’m getting older as we speak, so I like Naturalizers or Life Stride now (cringing how I used to call them “old lady shoes”). But they make them a lot cuter these days (really!) and comfort IS the name of the game these days after wearing five inch heels and walking all over downtown Dallas to Neiman Marcus on my lunch hour back in the 19___s — garbled answer there). Blessings, ladies!!

    Reply
    1. Kimberly Rose Johnson Post author

      Hi JoAnn, Great to see you here. 🙂 I’m with you, comfortable shoes are a must! I would love to wear “cute” shoes, but they are so uncomfortable I can’t. Clogs, and tennis shoes are my go to footwear.

      Reply
  2. Barbara Thompson

    My favorite shoes are tennis shoes. I’ve always loved tennis shoes, but after my surgery where there was a major medical error my nerves are affected even in my feet. So, tennis shoes are the best for me. Every now and then I get brave and wear a pair of sandals, but not often.

    Reply
    1. Joselyn Vaughn

      I love my running shoes too. I’ve ordered four pair this summer. My son looked at the last box and said, “More shoes?” But you have to find just the right ones. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Shelley

    My ASICS running shoes, of course! Although I don’t run, must to the annoyance of my husband, I love the comfort of my Asics, but also the selection of color and style! I also have my heels for church 🙂

    Reply
  4. lib1lady

    My favorite type of shoes are any that will fit my feet. One size is 9 and the other is 10 1/12.
    The most comfortable shoes I have found are New Balance.

    Reply
    1. Joselyn Vaughn

      That must make it really hard to find shoes. My husband and his family really like New Balance. I just tried a pair for running, but sent them back because I like the other Asics I purchased better.

      Reply
  5. Bonnie

    I have feet that are wide & flat, accompanied by arthritis – I actually go barefoot as much as possible, but when I have to put shoes on – my favorites are slides. Thanks for the opportunity to win a copy of your book!

    Reply
    1. Joselyn Vaughn

      I don’t wear shoes much in the house, but slides are great to have by the door. You can get them on quick when you need to run outside for something. Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

