An Event to Remember

I spent this past week at the Oregon Christian Writers conference in Portland Oregon. It was an amazing time of learning and reconnecting with old and new friends. This is the view from the conference hotel.

photo(9)

My coaching class taught by Karen Ball was amazing. I’ve been working at learning the craft of writing since 2006, and it was cool to have an editor that I pitched to through the years teach my class. To those who don’t know, Karen is now an agent with the Steve Laube Agency.

Karen Ball and me Pic

The highlight of my week had to be when Karen asked us to do a writing exercise. At first my mind blanked, and I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to do what she asked, then I calmed and focused. She then asked for volunteers to read what they wrote, and I bravely rose my hand–I rarely participate in group things like this, so trust me when I say this was a leap for me. I read my scene out loud, and when I was finished Karen had a huge smile on her face, and said something like good job, or well done. Let me tell you, coming from an editor that has turned down my work in the past this felt amazing! Absolutely the highlight of my week.

No matter how wonderful it felt to hear to words coming from Karen’s mouth, what ultimately matters is pleasing the Lord in all I say, do, and think. Someday I want to hear good job or well done from my savior. Now that would be a moment to celebrate! I don’t know about anyone else, but I think I would want to go dancing through the streets of heaven praising Him from the joy of hearing those simple words.

Psalm 150:6

Leave a Reply

