The Rancher’s Second Chance

Cover again_2

Davalynn Spencer’s new release The Rancher’s Second Chance released August 1st. I’m always tickled to have the opportunity to interview another Heartsong Presents author. Welcome, Davalynn. Please tell us about your book.

Laura Bell returns to her childhood home in the California foothills bearing emotional wounds from a failed engagement. Thanks to the old dog belonging to rancher Eli Hawthorne III, Laura and Eli are soon reacquainted.  A veteran of battles in Afghanistan, Eli bears his own more visible scars and bristles at Laura’s insistence that our wounds do not define us. God can make all things new, she says, pointing out the fire-gutted oak that still grows and thrives in the lower pasture. But she is as reluctant as Eli when it comes to trusting the Lord for a second chance.

Is this book part of a series or a stand alone?

The Rancher’s Second Chance is a stand-alone title, my first with Heartsong. I’ve contracted with Heartsong for a three-book historical series set to release in 2014.

Congratulations on your historical series!

How long have you been writing?

In the sixth grade I realized that words were important little things, and I liked the challenge of arranging them and making them reveal what I saw or felt or heard. My sixth-grade teacher had me read an original story for an activity at science-camp that spring, but I didn’t write seriously until many years later as the wife of a rodeo bull fighter. I sold many pieces to Prorodeo Sports News, Western Horseman and other national publications, and eventually took a job as a crime-beat reporter and religion editor for our local Colorado daily.

What an interesting way to get into the business ( I mean that in a good way). Do you still write for Colorado daily?

I string (freelance) for the Canon City Daily Record and write a regular column for them.

If you could have a conversation with your heroine what would be the topic?

I’d like to ask Laura how she can be angry at Eli for allowing his scars to define and limit him when she does the very same thing.

What are you currently reading or can you recommend a couple books that you’ve read recently?

I just finished Chocolate Beach by Julie Carobini and Shadows in the Sand by Gayle Roper. They are not my genre of western romance, but they are so well written and full of such witty moments that they are at the top of my favorites list.

Thanks, Davalynn. I think I have Chocolate Beach on my kindle. Maybe I’ll have to move it up on my to be read list. 🙂

Davalynn is giving away a copy of The Rancher’s Second Chance to one lucky commenter. You must answer the following question to be entered.

What leads you to read other titles by the same author after reading that author’s first book?

Rules: You must have a U.S. mailing address. You must answer the question to be included in the drawing. There must be at least 10 qualifying comments for the drawing to take place. Void where prohibited by law. The winner will be notified August 19, 2013. You will have until 8/25/2013 to respond or forfeit the book. No other winner will be drawn.

DC_Spencer

Novelist and speaker Davalynn Spencer is an award-winning journalist whose background spans the city crime beat and the national rodeo circuit. These authentic experiences help her craft fictional characters who face struggle and heartache but find faith and fresh hope along the way. When she’s not writing inspirational romance or teaching as an adjunct English professor, she enjoys speaking and leading worship at women’s retreats. She lives in Colorado with her husband, Mike, and their Queensland heeler, Blue, and has absolutely no trouble at all being amazed by God’s creative splendor.

www.davalynnspencer.com

www.facebook.com/AuthorDavalynnSpencer

 

21 thoughts on “The Rancher’s Second Chance

  1. JaniceG

    When I enjoy a book and have grown fond of their style and have feelings for and even against some of their characters then I want to read more. Once I have invested time to get to know the characters then I want to know the “rest of the story” of their lives.

    I would love to know the characters in this book! Thank you for the chance to win it.

    Blessings, Janice jsmithg(at)hotmail(dot)com

    Reply
  2. Brittany McEuen

    My answer is much the same as the earlier commenter. In a series, I would say that once I am invested in those characters, I really like tor read how their life continues on. For books that are not part of a series but from the same author, I will pick up another book by that author if the first one was a writing style I really enjoyed and deep characters with interesting stories.

    Reply
  3. Barbara Thompson

    When I enjoy the characters, the era of time and the author’s style of writing, I will always want to read what this author writes. Enjoyed your interview. Western era is one of my favorite times. Thank you for sharing and please enter me in the giveaway.
    barbmaci61(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Reply
  4. Bonnie

    When I read a book that I like – I tend to think the author probably has written other books I will enjoy. The author’s style of writing also entices me to buy other books they have written – I used to read only non-fiction, but after enjoying the detail in the non-fiction from Liz Curtis Higgs – I started reading her fiction, & now enjoy reading fiction.

    bonnieroof60(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Reply
  5. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson

    Hello Davalynn, I enjoyed this interview and meeting a new author, to me. If unless I have heard about their books, then the title and cover gets my attention, and of course kind of book. If I enjoy the book, then I usually like their other books. I love the cowboys, too. Had me one until 16 years ago. He was a real treasure. One of a kind. I would love to win your book. Thanks for the give-away.(tho I have won some with a second chance) 🙂 Please enter me in the drawing. MAXIE mac262(at)me(dot)com

    Reply
  6. Kimberly Rose Johnson

    Bonnie, it’s funny that you mentioned Liz Curtis Higgs because she is the keynote speaker at a writers conference I am at. She is so funny! I don’t recall reading one of her books. Are they funny too?
    Kimberly

    Reply
  7. Emily Reynolds

    Mostly I read follow-up books from an author because I love their voice. If it’s a series, I want to learn about the other characters. But really, it’s about voice! I expect a certain humor, a certain lyrical style, certain romantic elements, or adventures/escapades according to a given writer.

    Thanks for the giveaway! Please toss my name in the hat. I’ve seen Davalyn’s name around plenty, but haven’t yet had the chance to read any of her stories. This sounds like a good one!

    Reply
  8. Melody Durant

    I also read Chocolate Beach – not my typical direction of reading but ‘chocolate’ in the title did persuade me. If I enjoy an author’s writing I will seek out more of the same. Often it’s the humor, the romance, how they pull a character out and reveal them. I have enjoyed Heartsong books for years – when I started my daughters on them, then I read them…just to make sure they were ok. Hope to win this!

    Reply
  9. Merry

    If an author captures my heart with a story and characters that move me to laughter, tears and faith, I will look for more of their books. The Rancher’s Second Chance sounds awesome.
    worthy2bpraised at gmail dot com

    Reply
  10. Veronica S.

    If I loved their first book, I definitely want to read more. If I liked the first one well enough, I’m willing to try more. If I didn’t like the first one, I’d be willing to try a book in a different series or stand-alone depending on how much I disliked the one I read. I usually try not to base my opinion of an author on just one book.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

