Rules of Murder

RulesCoverCrop

This week we welcome Julianna Deering. Please tell us about Rules of Murder.

Rules of Murder is a mystery in the tradition of Agatha Christie’s classic works.  It’s got the prototypical English manor house complete with a vast amount of staff, the stylish young lord of the manor, Drew Farthering, and a house-full of socialites.  Of course someone gets killed.  And then someone else.  And, naturally, there is romance.  Madeline Parker is the beautiful American debutante who happens to catch Drew’s eye and who also insists on helping him investigate the crimes, much to the amusement of Drew’s best friend and co-sleuth, Nick Dennison, and to the chagrin of the longsuffering Chief Inspector Birdsong.

I love mysteries. It looks like this is book one in the series. Is that correct? What made you want to write mysteries?

Yes this is the first book in the series. I decided to write mysteries because I’ve been a longtime fan of Agatha Christie and her contemporaries, Dorothy L. Sayers and Margery Allingham. They were the greatest writers of the Golden Age of Crime Fiction of the 1920s and ’30s. And, being a writer, I couldn’t help trying my hand at their type of story.

What is the spiritual take away?
I think the main thing is that, even with his wealth and looks and social standing, even with his intelligence and charm, Drew realizes there is an emptiness inside him that can be filled only by God.  He realizes, too, that it is never too late to come to Him as long as he does finally come.  And he comes to see that he doesn’t need to know everything God has planned for him.  He merely needs to “glorify God and enjoy Him forever.”
I noticed on Amazon that the second book releases in 2014. Do you have any other books coming out in the near or not-so-near future? Do you write under any other names?
The second installment in my Drew Farthering Mysteries, Death by the Book, is due out in March, 2014.  Murder at the Mikado, the third book, is scheduled for that summer.   I do write under my real name, DeAnna Julie Dodson, and I have a fourth book in the Annie’s Attic Mysteries due out this summer:  The Legacy in the Attic.  The other Annie’s books I’ve written are Letters in the Attic, The Key in the Attic and The Diary in the Attic (my personal favorite).  I’ve also written a trilogy of medieval romances, In Honor Bound, By Love Redeemed and To Grace Surrendered.  The paperback versions are now out of print, but they are available from Amazon as e-books.
Finally, if you could sit down for a meal with anyone living or dead who would it be and why?
I know if I say Jesus, it would sound like a pat answer.  Maybe it is.  I don’t care.  He would be my choice.  I would, if I could get over the awe, get to just talk to Him face to face about everything–  everything that bothers me and everything I don’t understand and everything I can’t fix and everything I think He wants me to do but I’m not quite sure about.  And I think He would just hold me close and tell me to trust him until I need to know (which is what I’m supposed to do anyway), and that would be okay.
I’m with you! I recently had to answer this same question and after much thought and even asking my family for help, because I hesitated to say Jesus I said Jesus too. 🙂
If you would like an chance to win a copy of Rules of Murder  you must answer the following question:
What work of fiction have you read that has really touched you emotionally and/or spiritually?
Rules: You must answer the question to be entered. Drawing is open to U.S, addresses only. There must be at least 10 qualifying comments for the drawing to take place. Void where prohibited by law. I will contact the winner by email on August 12th. You must reply no later than August 18th with your address or you forfeit the book. No other winner will be drawn.
DodsonAJULIANNA DEERING has always been an avid reader and a lover of storytelling, whether on the page, the screen or the stage. This, along with her keen interest in history and her Christian faith, shows in her tales of love, forgiveness and triumph over adversity. A fifth-generation Texan, she makes her home north of Dallas with three spoiled cats and, when not writing, spends her free time quilting, cross stitching and watching NHL hockey. Her new series of Drew Farthering mysteries set in 1930s England debuts with Rules of Murder (Bethany House, Summer 2013) and will be followed by Death by the Book (Bethany House, Spring 2014) and Murder at the Mikado (Bethany House, Summer 2014). She is represented by Wendy Lawton of the Books & Such Literary Agency (www.booksandsuch.biz).
10 thoughts on “Rules of Murder

  1. JaniceG

    Homerun, by Travis Thrasher, is a book that was very touching in the way it portrays the realities of addictions and the hope for change available by turning one’s life over for repair by Jesus.

    Thank you for the opportunity to win this book.

    Blessings,
    Janice jsmithg(at)hotmail(dot)com

    Reply
  2. Barbara Thompson

    I’ve read two books that are fiction, but have a profound meaning to them. One was “Field of Daisies” by Barbara Hattemer and it talks about Alzheimer’s disease. The other book was “Stopped Cold” by Margaret McWhorter and this book talks about teens and steroids. Both are great books that I recommend for everyone to read.

    Thanks for sharing and please enter me in the giveaway.
    barbmaci61(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Reply
  3. KayM

    I have read several books that have touched me emotionally and spiritually. To name a few: Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers, Israel My Beloved by Kay Arthur, Deadline by Randy Alcorn, This Present Darkness by Frank Perritti, and Heartland by Davis Bunn.

    Someday, we will have that time to be with Jesus and talk with Him. Won’t that be amazing?
    may_dayzee (at) yahoo (dot) com

    Reply
  4. Sylvia M.

    One book that has touched me is Travelers Rest by Ann Tatlock. It’s a contemporary novel about a returned soldier who is paralyzed, his fiancee who sticks by him and a blind piano player. One of the most moving books I’ve read in a long time.

    Reply
  5. Merry

    Hurricanes in Paradise by Denise Hildreth was a touching story of women thrown together during a storm. I loved how God brought them together to support and help one another at just the right time.

    Reply
  6. Lady DragonKeeper

    “Submerged” by Dani Pettrey –the main character struggles to move beyond her past and it reminded me how we all are dead without Christ and the way other characters treated the heroine made me think about how I treat other people in similar situations.
    Thanks for the chance to win! I’ve loved reading mysteries since I was little!

    Reply
  7. Bonnie

    Each of Liz Curtis Higg’s books set in Scotland have reached me both emotionally & spiritually – because of the detailed descriptions of the characters & their feelings.

    Thanks for the opportunity to win a copy of your book!

    bonnieroof60(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Reply
    1. deannadodson

      Oh, thanks, all of you! These sound like some wonderful books. I especially love Liz Curtis HIggs.

      Can’t wait to send one of you a copy of Rules of Murder.

      Reply
  8. Veronica S.

    I’ve been wanting to read this ever since I saw the cover! There are so many books that have touched me emotionally/spiritually. The first one that comes to mind is Harvest of Rubies by Tessa Afshar. I just loved her journey. Also Redeeming Love, Soul’s Gate by Rubart, etc., etc., etc!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

