Be Joyful

IMG_0464

1 Thessalonians 5:16

Being joyful always is easy, right? Wrong! I don’t know about anyone else, but this is a tough one. How is a person supposed to be joyful when bad things happen?

Although being joyful always is difficult, I do see the value in striving to be joyful. Verse 17 goes on to say “pray continually.” (Why didn’t my Sunday School teachers ever have me memorize these verses? They would have been so easy!) 🙂

I think about when my son was in ICU not all that long ago. I was absolutely praying continually and although I may not have been rejoicing at the circumstances, my heart was not heavy because I knew that God was in control. Yes, I was scared at first and concerned when the alarms on the machines he was hooked up to went off and freaked out when he was choking and couldn’t breath, but I had God’s peace in the midst of it all.

I won’t pretend that I am always joyful, but I will strive to look for the good and set my focus on the Lord. It’s actually kind of hard to be crabby or down when my focus is on Him.

This morning my son heads back in to finish the surgery that went wrong. I would appreciate your prayers.

One thought on “Be Joyful

Leave a Reply

