Dolled Up to Die

Print

Welcome, Lorena! This cover has me intrigued. Please tell us about Dolled Up to Die.

Dolled Up to Die is Book #2 in my lighthearted Cate Kinkaid Files mystery series. It is scheduled for release on July 15 in both print and e-book form. (Dying to Read, which hit the New York Times E-book Bestseller list, was Book #1 in the series)

#1 on the New York Times E-book list. That’s fantastic! Sorry for the interruption. Now back to the description. 🙂 I read Dying to read too, and I believe reviewed it on this blog way back when. Note: to those of you who haven’t read book one, Dolled Up to Die stands alone.

Cate stumbled into the job of assistant private investigator in her uncle’s Belmont Investigations when she hadn’t been able to find a steady job for almost a year. Her uncle insists they don’t do murders, but her first “easy” assignment turned into a murder in “Dying to Read.” Now, with her uncle still insisting murders aren’t what Belmont Investigations does, Cate receives a frantic call from a woman about a triple homicide. A head blown off, a face destroyed, a bullet in a chest! But when Cate arrives, she finds these victims are a little short on human DNA. They’re dolls. But who would shoot someone’s dolls – and why? And then there’s the matter of  the very human but also very dead ex-husband in the next room, with reason enough for several people to want to do him in.

And Cate is again up to her elbows in murder,  with a trophy wife, a woman who claims she can tell you all about your past lives, a wedding and a wig – and, of course, the hunky Mitch Berenski – all involved.

What inspired Dolled Up to Die?

One big inspiration was the boy doll my stepdaughter has. When I first saw him sitting on a beanbag chair in her home, I thought he was a real boy and wondered how come I’d never seen him around before. Then I met the woman who makes these very lifelike dolls, and I knew I had to put them into a story.  However, as a mystery writer, the dolls face a very rough existence with me!

LOL. Since I originally wrote up this interview I had the privilege of reading Dolled Up to Die and loved it. I think the lighthearted feel of this story hit the mark for me. Thanks for sharing, Lorena.

What’s next for you?

I’m just finishing up Book #3 of the Cate Kinkaid Files. It’s just been retitled to “Death Takes a Ride.” After this is done, I plan to take some time off and come back with another book in my popular Ivy Malone Mysteries series. I keep getting requests for “more Ivy.” I’ve been telling readers for quite a while that another book is coming, and it’s time to do it.

I can’t wait to read book #3!

Please describe your version of the perfect day.

The perfect day: This would be my husband and me going over to the Oregon coast. We’d take a long, barefoot walk on the beach, where we’d dip our toes in the surf, find some beautiful agates, mysterious shells, and some tiny, dime-sized sand dollars. We’d write our names in the damp sand and haul a stranded starfish back to safety in the water. We’d sit on an old driftwood log to watch the sun go down, and we’d see that legendary green flash that’s supposed to happen on rare occasions just at the moment the sun dips over the horizon. Then we’d go to a  beach side restaurant to eat fresh-caught crab for dinner, and wind up back on the beach again to watch the moon.

Do you have a secret talent? 🙂 I suppose if you tell is it won’t be secret anymore.

Oh, I wish I had a secret talent. I’ve been waiting all my life to discover a secret talent!  It doesn’t have to be a huge talent. A little one will do. Maybe I could make the best cheesecakes ever? Discover I’m a fantastic “horse whisperer”?  Talk to my petunias and they grow like a flower avalanche?   So far, not yet. But it could still happen!

Wouldn’t be fun to be able to choose our talents? Thanks so much for visiting with us, Lorena. If you would like to be entered for a chance to win a copy of Dolled Up to Die please answer the following question.

What’s the most intriguing book title you’ve ever seen?


Rules: Void where prohibited by law. There must be a least 10 qualifying comments for the drawing to take place. I will notify you by email Monday morning July 22 if your name was drawn. You have until July 28th to send me your snail mail address or you will forfeit the book. No other name will be drawn unless requested by the author.

Lorena reduced(1) You can learn more about Lorena by visiting her website at http://www.lorenamccourtney.com/index.asp

15 thoughts on “Dolled Up to Die

  1. Pam K.

    There are many intriguing book titles (including Dying to Read and Dolled Up to Die), but I have to go with Stealing the Preacher by Karen Witemeyer. Perhaps it’s more humorous than intriguing, but I still like it. Who would steal a preacher and why? It’s a great book.
    Thanks for the chance to win a copy of Dolled Up to Die. I’m looking forward to reading more about Cate’s adventures.

    Reply
  2. griperang

    I have read many books and love many of the titles I see. I kind of like the cozy mysteries use play on words. griperang at embarqmail dot com

    Reply
  3. KayM

    Olivia Newport wrote The Dilemma of Charlotte Farrow. I want to read it just to find out the dilemma.
    may_dayzee (at) yahoo (dot) com

    Reply
  4. Merry

    The Husband Tree by Mary Connealy is a wonderful title for a great book. Thanks for a chance to win Lorena’s newst book!
    Worthy2bpraised at gmail dot com

    Reply
  5. Miralee Ferrell

    I love the title! That alone would make me pick it up and check it out. And I love a good mystery. I’m curious to know if any of your books have been made into audio? The book that comes to mind when I think of an intriguing title is The Last Camel Died at Noon, by Elizabeth Peters, part of the Amelia Peabody mystery series set in Egypt. Love those! Thanks for the chance to win!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

