Hush Little Baby

Hush cover with text revi (FINAL - 4-17-2012)

Deborah please tell us about Hush Little Baby

Investigative Journalist, Amber Blake, is a little person bent on payback for the death of her average-sized twin sister. Enlisted by her former partner and estranged husband, Evan, she poses as a counselor in an abortion clinic to expose the doctor responsible for fetal harvesting. As a Christian, she struggles with concealing her beliefs to maintain her cover, while the doctor’s romantic overtures tumble her stomach. Amber agrees to date him for the sake of the story . . . but nothing prepares her for what’s behind a mysterious door in his office.

Hush Little Baby sounds intriguing. What inspired this story?

Two things. An idea for a story sparked when I saw a clip on Good Morning America for an upcoming 20/20 segment about an investigation into fetal harvesting, and how 20/20’s producers did their own investigating. This was back in 1999. I just knew then that I had to write about it, as I mostly write about controversial issues. The inspiration for my little people characters was that I noticed day time talk shows were frequently featuring dwarfs, but not in a good light in my opinion. I vowed that one day I would write a novel with little people as the main characters, showing them living normal lives just like anyone else. Except for the suspense part, of course!

Wow. What is next for you? Do you have anything else in the works?

Yes. It’s another “issue” romantic suspense novel, but I don’t want to reveal what the subject is, just yet. It’s all a part of the plot.

No problem. Have you read any books lately that you would recommend?

I am a reviewer for Wordsmith Magazine, which is an online magazine that introduces readers to Christian books each month, so I read a lot of books I would recommend. The last one I can remember is Celtic Knot, by Tammy Doherty. I also recommend all of Michelle Sutton’s novels, if you like edgy Christian fiction. There are tons of authors who are members of ACFW that are excellent writers whose books I would recommend, but there isn’t the time or the space. If a reader searching for books to read goes to the ACFW website, they’ll find a slew of authors and their books there. Also if you they go to my website, http://www.deborahmpiccurelli.com/ all of my past review are posted.

Excellent. I agree the ACFW fiction finder is a great resource. I did a blog post on it some time ago.

What made you want to be a writer, and when did you begin to write seriously?

I’ve always loved reading, and reading good stories made me want to write my own. I had started writing a couple of novels as a child of about 10 or 11, but I didn’t tell anyone, so I didn’t receive the encouragement I needed to stick to it. As I grew that went by the wayside until after I had been married for some years, and had children. Then the writing bug returned full force, and I’ve been writing ever since.

Thanks for sharing with us. If you are interested in purchasing a copy of Hush Little Baby click here to find out how to save 25% http://newbookjournal.com/2013/02/hush-little-baby-by-deborah-m-piccurelli/

Deborah has offered to give away a copy of her book Hush Little Baby to one lucky commenter. You must answer the following question to be entered. You may want to check out her website for ideas for answering this question. http://www.deborahmpiccurelli.com/books.php

What is one thing we can all do to help stop fetal harvesting?

Rules: You must have a U.S. mailing address. You must answer the question. There must be at least ten qualifying comments for the drawing to take place. Drawing ends Sunday July 14, 2013. Void where prohibited by law.

Resized Proof of meDeborah M. Piccurelli is an advocate for the sanctitiy of life, and tackles such issues in her novels, weaving them into compelling stories. She lives in New Jersey with her husband and their two sons.

7 thoughts on “Hush Little Baby

  1. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson

    Well, I would love to win this book as a gift. ‘ but looks like there may not be a drawing. That’s sad for all involved, Kimberly, Deborah, and anyone wanting to win. This is a horrible thing. Being a Donor by choice to help another person live is a whole different. These precious little ones never had a chance to live. We should all talk to our Senetors and Reps. to try to stop this. And, also get involved with those trying to stop this.
    Maxie

    Reply
    1. Kimberly

      Hi Maxie, thanks for commenting. There is a drawing this week. I’ve pasted that paragraph below.
      Deborah has offered to give away a copy of her book Hush Little Baby to one lucky commenter. You must answer the following question to be entered. You may want to check out her website for ideas for answering this question. http://www.deborahmpiccurelli.com/books.php

      What is one thing we can all do to help stop fetal harvesting?

      You’ve been entered as you actually answered the question in your comment. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Bonnie

    I think more education on the subject of fetal harvesting might be a good start towards ending it – this is a subject that not much is known about. Interesting storyline – thanks for the opportunity to win a copy of the book!

    Reply
  3. Veronica S.

    Making sure people know the truth and donating to places like Life Dynamics who try to stop abortion in the first place. Sounds like a fascinating book!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

