Promises

Promises_Cover-BandN

Welcome Dawn, please tell us about Promises.

Promises was one of the first books I ever wrote. (No, I won’t let anyone see the first book.) It went through many revisions over the years, but I was never totally happy with it. Then I met Joy Melville through ACFW. She helped me do serious, deep edits to make it what it is now, and I’m thrilled with the result.

My female main character, Terry, is a woman after my own heart in some ways. She’s been hurt by the trials of life. She’s convinced God abandoned her, and she’s on her own. Having been there myself, her pain and disillusionment resonates with me on a deep level.

Here’s the blurb from the book:

Police Officer Terry O’Reilly is burned out, trapped by a long-ago promise. Certain God has abandoned her, she walks an emotional tightrope. Now someone wants her dead. She doesn’t know who he is or why he’s threatening her. Unwanted attraction to a man she barely knows isn’t helping matters.

Wes Donovan came to Tucson to do a favor for a friend. Sworn to secrecy about his identity, his purpose and who sent him, he’s left with no choice but to lie to the woman he’s been sent to protect. Then he meets his assignment.

Can she keep him at a distance while still holding it together? Can he break past the walls she hides behind so he can see her smile? Can both of them survive this relationship? Will Terry find the faith she’s lost?

Great premise. 🙂 What did you enjoy most about writing this book?

The dynamic between the main characters, Wes and Terry. She’s not as hard as she likes to think she is, and he’s trying hard to be patient, which isn’t necessarily his strong suit.  But the fact I enjoyed that so much isn’t terribly surprising. Because my books are character-driven, that’s generally the aspect of writing I enjoy the most – the relationships.

What’s the spiritual takeaway?

That’s actually a funny question from my perspective. In talking to readers, I’ve found there’s no one takeaway from their perspective. It seems like each reader gets something different from the book, and I’m sure that’s a reflection of different backgrounds, varied life experiences, and where we each are in our spiritual walk.

For me, the message is that God never abandons us. No matter what life throws our way, or how alone we may feel at times, He’s always there. It’s so easy to lose sight of that in the midst of the trials and struggles of life. I spent a good chunk of my life convinced He’d abandoned me and didn’t care. Imagine my surprise when I finally realized He not only cared about me NOW, but I looked back and noticed all the ways His hands had been guiding and protecting me over those lost years and I hadn’t even noticed. “Remember the former things long past” from Isaiah strikes a chord with me for that reason.

I can see why different people will take away different things–there’s a lot to this book. 🙂

What is next for you?
I’m currently working on edits for the next book in the Donovan Legacy series. I recently released Truth, the story of Wes and Terry’s daughter Missy. Now I’m working on Defender, about their son Chase. As far as writing goes, I’m working on an entirely new series that takes place in a fictional town in Wyoming. That’s been a lot of fun to research, and the characters are proving quite an adventure to write. My mother and I are even talking about making a “research trip” to Wyoming for that one.

How will you be spending this Fourth of July?

Most likely, hubby and I will stick with tradition. Get together with his family for a cook-out, then watch the fireworks together. We’ve done that just about every year since we got married – 20 years ago this July 3rd. Something hubby got seriously teased about by friends when we got married – losing his independence the day before Independence Day. He didn’t mind though. He never forgets our anniversary.

Happy Anniversary! Thanks for spending the week with us Dawn.

In order to be entered for the drawing for Promises Dawn would like for you to answer the following question.

Have you ever felt abandoned by God?  If so, how did He reveal His presence and faithfulness to you?

Rule: Void where prohibited by law, There must be a minimum of ten qualifying entries, you must have a U.S. address. Drawing ends Sunday July 7, 2013. The winner will be contacted by email on July 8, 2013.

Also available for Kindle, Nook, and other e-book formats – from Amazon, B&N, and Smashwords.  I’ve tried to accommodate as many readers as I can, since I know so many who don’t use Kindles or even e-books at all.  I have links to all the specific sites and pages on the PROMISES page of my blog:
3 thoughts on “Promises

  1. KayM

    Kimberly and Dawn, I enjoyed the interview. Thank you for sharing.

    I’ve been a Christian, since I was a child. I can’t say I’ve ever felt abandoned by God. I can say, I don’t know how I would have made it through some not-so-good-times without Him. I am thankful and humbled that He is with me every minute and I have the privilege of speaking with Him and listening for His guidance and comfort.

    Dawn, your book sounds very interesting. I would enjoy reading it.
    may_dayzee (at) yahoo (dot) com

    Reply
    1. Dawn Turner

      Thanks, Kay. 🙂

      Sorry for the slow response. I’ve been sick the better part of this week. Hate that! Hubby also go sick, so we didn’t get to do anything for anniversary. 😦 But we’re planning something for next week when we’re both well – if we can figure out what we even want to do. *G*

      Reply

Leave a Reply

