Song of the Meadowlark

??????????????????????????

Please tell us about Song of the Meadowlark, Sherri.

Song of the Meadowlark’s synopsis: When trusting others only leads to pain and rejection, and loving ends only in loss, what will it take to restore hope again? Shunned by the uncovered truth about her missing husband’s secret life, Cora Buchanan sets out on a road trip for home to mend her broken relationship with her parents. When her car breaks down, she’s stranded in a small Georgia town. While staying at the struggling Southern Hope Ranch, she meets little Susie O’Reilly, who unexpectedly fills a void in Cora’s heart. But Rex, Susie’s rugged cowboy father who lost his wife a year earlier, seems to go out of his way to either confront or avoid Cora. It doesn’t help her comfort level that the news continues to report missing and murdered women in the area. Cora has no idea just how close to home the crimes will hit…or how much the sweet sound of the meadowlark’s song at the ranch will impact her future.

Sounds interesting. Did anything in particular inspire this story? If not, how did you come up with the idea?

I had always wanted to write a story with a cowboy so that’s how this one began. My first novel was a historical romance and I wanted to do a contemporary romance with a little bit of suspense. The story of forgiveness and starting over just developed as I wrote.

I always enjoy books with cowboys. 🙂 What made you want to be a writer and why?

I have written stories since I was a little girl. It was what made me tick. As I have aged (I won’t tell how old I am, haha!) writing is what I desire to do 24/7. I write novels, blogs, and I write scripts for my speaking engagements. I enjoy writing. It’s not work to me.

I hear you. I’ve always loved creative writing as well. I noticed on Amazon that you have two books available one historical and one contemporary. Do you have a favorite genre?

I love both historical and contemporary but I believe my favorite has to be historical. When writing contemporary, you have to be so careful not to date your story. If it takes years to publish, which mine did, it can quickly become outdated before it ever gets printed. Historical stories are timeless. And I love the room you have for creating towns and settings that may not really exist.

So true about things changing in contemporary towns! If you could spend a day doing absolutely anything, what would you do?

A day doing anything? It would be sitting in a comfy chair on the beach somewhere with a tropical breeze blowing, my family there with me, a good book in my hand, and the option to jump up and plunge into the crashing waves whenever the mood hit me.

What a great way to spend a day. 🙂 Thanks for telling sharing with us a little about yourself and about your book, Song of the Meadowlark.

If you would like to be entered to win a e-copy of either Song of the Meadowlark or To Dance Once More, winner’s choice please answer the same question Sherri answered.

If you could spend a day doing absolutely anything, what would you do?

Rules: You must answer the question to be entered into the drawing. Drawing ends Sunday June 30, 2013. The winner must reply to my email within one week of notification or the book is forfeited. Void where prohibited by law.

Sherri Wilson Johnson promo picSherri Wilson Johnson is an Inspirational Romance novelist, a speaker, women’s ministry leader, social media junkie, and a former homeschooling mom who loves to share God with others, while sharing her life experiences with them. She lives in Georgia with her husband and two children. She loves to dream of romantic places and romance in general–good, clean romance, that is. She is passionate about purity and sexual integrity. Sherri is a bird-watcher, loves the ocean, ice cream, her family and her Chihuahua, who faithfully sits by her side every day when she writes. She is the author of To Dance Once More (OakTara) and Song of the Meadowlark (OakTara) plus a few unpublished novels. She is a columnist with Habits for a Happy Home and Choose NOW Ministries.

http://sherriwilsonjohnson.com
https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Author-Sherri-Wilson-Johnson/138396456193536
https://twitter.com/#!/swj_thewriter

11 thoughts on “Song of the Meadowlark

  1. Pingback: Song of the Meadowlark | Author/Speaker Sherri Wilson Johnson

  2. Brittany

    I think I would like to head to a higher elevation, a cooler climate than down here in humid Texas! So, a mountain cabin getaway where I could go with my family and sit on a deck with a good book!
    Brittany McEuen
    kbmceuen@yahoo.com

    Reply
  3. JaniceG

    I enjoy learning about current day issues, being informed and knowing what I might do in some small way to make things better in the world, so I would probably choose to spend the day at a conference of some sort soaking up information. I have thoroughly enjoyed WMU and CWA events so something like that would be my choice.

    Thank you for the chance to win the book. I have not read either one and they both sound good.

    Blessings,
    Janice jsmithg(at)hotmail(dot)com

    Reply
  4. Jackie Smith

    Have read To Dance Once More and loved it…..am very anxious to read Song of the Meadowlark…thanks for the chance!
    Yes, hot and humid in GA!
    If I could do one thing……oh, that would be to spend ALL day at a mall (shopping, eating) with daughter! Have had leg/hip/back issues and unable to go to a mall for months~

    Blessings~~
    Jackie Smith
    jackie.smith[at]dishmail[dot]net

    Reply
    1. Sherri Wilson Johnson

      Jackie, I’m so glad you liked To Dance Once More! It’s a thrill to hear good things about my books. Spending a day with my daughter is always at the top of my charts too! Sorry about your health issues. 😦

      Reply

Leave a Reply

