Antique Dreams

antiquedreams_lg

I’m so pleased to have Tiffany Stockton visit this week. Not only is she a great writer she is a the talented web designer who put my website and blog together for me. Welcome, Tiffany! Please tell us about Antique Dreams.

Thanks, Kimberly. Antique Dreams is book 3 in my newest series, Brandywine Brides. It wraps up the thread in the series of a family heirloom book that made its first appearance in my debut novel, Promises Promises (part of the Liberty’s Promise series). That book is available as an eBook in all formats for just $.99 for the entire month of June. You can check out my blog post on this here (http://amberstockton.blogspot.com/2013/06/promises-promises-ebook-sale-99-all-of.html). Here is the blurb for my book being featured today:

Lillian’s brother has one last request. On a cold April night as the Titanic sinks to the ocean floor, Conrad Bradenton asks his new business partner, Aaron Stone, to fulfill a final wish: that Aaron return a well-worn book to his family and take care of his sister. Aaron seeks out Conrad’s family, never imagining the depth of his commitment until he meets lovely Lillian Bradenton. Hit hard by the despair in her eyes, Aaron encourages Lillian to restore her hope by bringing a boarded-up bookstore back to life. Lillian is uncertain whether she can trust this stranger, the last link to her beloved brother. But she has faith in her brother’s ability to read people. If Conrad saw something in Aaron, maybe she will in time. Then Aaron is summoned to London, and Lillian wonders if it is too late to turn hesitant friendship into undying love.
Oh my, that sounds like a good read. 🙂 I was looking at the books you have published on Amazon and I was wondering if they are all historical romance. Have you ever written contemporary romance, or is historical your passion?
Historical certainly started out as my passion. I’ve already been a fan of the “simpler” and less complicated times. Give me Little House on the Prairie, Dr. Quinn Medicine Woman, or the era of Jane Austen any day. Growing up, any romantic tale caught my eye, whether it be contemporary or historical, but once I began pursuing publication professionally, historical is what sold. It took me to the sale of my 14th book before I was able to write a contemporary romance, though I have at least a dozen contemporary stories in various stages of completion, just waiting for a publisher to acquire them.
Ah the waiting game. I’m quite familiar with that aspect of writing. What else are you working on? When will your next book release?
Right now, I am plodding toward the finish line on one of those contemporary romances, due July 1st. It’s a romantic comedy with a smidgeon of mystery, set on Mackinac Island. A single gal wins a 2-week getaway for two, and she takes her best friend along for the fun. While there, they visit with the heroine’s grandmother and help her assemble a Friendship Quilt from members of a long-ago disbanded quilting circle. Their adventures gain them access into some of the most prestigious homes on the island and time spent at the world-famous Grand Hotel, where they’ve caught the eye of two employees. A little mystery about precious artifacts gone missing from the hotel throws all of them into a frenzy of suspicions and novice crime-solving. It releases in August 2014 as part of Abingdon Press’ Quilts of Love line (http://www.quiltsoflovebooks.com/).
This sounds like a must-read story. I can’t wait until it comes out. Too bad we have to wait another year. Besides writing, what do you like to do for fun?
Traveling is at the top of the list, though our family loves walking and going on hikes, taking drives through the mountains, and visiting parks (regional, state, and national). Another hobby is photography, though I wouldn’t even consider myself an amateur. I merely love taking pictures, and some of them turn out great. A bonus of the digital aspect where you can take a lot of pictures at once and hope one of them comes out nice enough to keep.
LOL I know what you mean about taking a lot of pictures. I’m with you, if I take enough a few are bound to turn out great. 🙂
If you could go anywhere this summer where would you go and why?
I have always dreamed of going to Mackinac Island in Michigan. The island has appealed to me ever since I first saw Somewhere in Time starring Jane Seymour and Christopher Reeve. The fact that they don’t allow cars on the island and so much of the ambiance is circa 19th century is a definite plus! Another island I’d love to see is Prince Edward Island in Canada. That island became famous to me thanks to the books by Lucy Maud Montgomery that I read as a child, and the depiction of the island through the TV show, Avonlea and the Anne of Green Gables movies. Just last week, my husband’s parents headed out for a cruise that would take them through those maritime provinces, and one of their stops would be PEI. Another friend just a few weeks ago confirmed her vacation plans to visit Mackinac and other areas of the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. And of course, as I stated above, the book I’m currently writing is set on Mackinac. Cruel teasing, or merely friends and family going before me and paving the way for when I’ll get to go? You decide. 🙂
I see you are as fascinated with islands as I am. I hope you get to go to Mackinac Island someday soon. Thanks so much for joining us and sharing about Antique Dreams.
Tiffany has offered to give away a copy of Antique Dreams. If you would like to be entered to win you must answer either of the following questions:
Do you feel you have good perception when it comes to judging character in people? Why or why not? Or….. How long does it take you to truly trust someone?
Rules: Drawing open to U.S. addresses only. There must be at least 10 qualifying comments for the drawing to take place. Drawing ends Sunday June 23, 2013. Void where prohibited by law.
Tiff_headshot_lowresTiffany Amber Stockton has been crafting and embellishing stories since childhood. Today, she is an award-winning best-selling author, speaker, and virtual assistant who lives with her husband and fellow author, Stuart Vaughn Stockton, in Colorado. They have a daughter and a son, and an Aussie/retriever mix named Roxie. She has sold 14 books so far and is represented by Sandra Bishop of MacGregor Literary Agency. Three of her novels have won annual reader’s choice awards, and in 2009, she was voted #1 favorite new author for Barbour’s Heartsong Presents book club. Read more about her at her web site: www.amberstockton.com.
9 thoughts on “Antique Dreams

  1. Lyndee Henderson

    I enjoyed this interview, Tiffany. I trust people until they prove they can’t be trusted. This opens me for getting hurt, but it’s the way I’m wired.
    Thanks for hosting this post, Kimberly. Great blog.

    Reply
  2. lib1lady

    I trust people and I expect them to do the same. There is always good in someone no matter how bad they are.
    I’ve always wanted to go to Mackinac Island, maybe one of these days.

    Reply
  3. Merry

    I tend to be open and trusting with someone new unless I find a reason to be more cautious. Thanks for a chance to win Antique Dreams.

    Reply
  4. jojo elliott

    I have always had a good sense of discernment when it comes to meeting new people. I try to make friends and be open to others, but probably save complete trust for my closest friends. Your book looks amazing, and once I saw you liked “Dr. Quinn” I knew we were kindred spirits!!! Love that series! Thank you for the opportunity to win your book.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

